Securely Erasing an iPhone | iLounge Article

Article

Securely Erasing an iPhone

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: In your article last week on resetting and erasing an old iPhone before selling it, I was concerned when you mentioned that the erasing process “should only take a few seconds.” Does this actually securely erase my data? It seems too quick, and I thought that a secure erase required the iPhone to write over every bit of the memory—in fact I thought Apple changed this years ago in response to somebody discovering that they could get information even off a “wiped” iPhone. I know when I used a tool to “securely wipe” my computer hard drive before I sold it, it took a lot longer than “a few seconds” to do so. I’m very concerned about the confidentiality of my data—is there another method I should be using to wipe my iPhone before I sell it?

- John

A: The Erase All Content and Settings option built into the iPhone is definitely a secure erase method, so there’s nothing you need to worry about.

You are correct that the original iPhone did not securely erase user data at all, prompting Apple to change this behaviour in iOS 2.0 to actually do a bit-by-bit wipe of the flash memory—a process that took anywhere from 1-3 hours, depending on the capacity of your device.

However, with the iPhone 3GS and iOS 3.0, Apple introduced hardware-level encryption expressly for the purpose of facilitating a fast, secure wipe process. This was likely inspired by the advent of the “Remote Wipe” feature introduced with Find My iPhone at the same time; it only made sense that if you lost your device, you wanted to be able to ensure that it was securely wiped quickly to prevent the process from being interrupted once it began.

The standard hardware encryption doesn’t specifically protect your data during normal use, since it uses a generated device-specific encryption key rather than anything tied to your device passcode (see iOS Encryption and Data Protection). However, since everything stored in your device’s flash memory is encrypted with this key, all that the Erase All Content and Settings option needs to do is securely wipe the encryption key—a process which takes mere seconds—and everything else in your device’s memory is left as an unintelligible glob of encrypted data, even to somebody who decides to take the memory chips out of the device and forensically examine them.

This hardware encryption has been included in every iOS device released since 2009; even with the latest version of iOS, however, pre-2009 devices such as the original iPhone, iPhone 3G, and first- and second-generation iPod touch still use the old, slower bit-by-bit secure erase method.

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« Apple Case Design in 2013, Part 2: On Apple Design Specifics

Apple Case Design in 2013, Part 1: On Protection + Priorities »

Related Stories

Comments

1

Even though you erase everything from your iphone using the reset all content and settings process. Hyster gravity mobile says they can jailbreak your phone and use their software to get old information like text and call logs is this true.

Posted by shane on June 20, 2013 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

2

@Shane (#1): While this was much easier to do with pre-2009 iPhone models, it is virtually impossible with any relatively modern iOS device.

As explained in the article above, Apple introduced hardware encryption into the iPhone with the 3GS and iOS 3.0. This means that the data that is stored on your iPhone is encrypted in the flash memory. A device key is stored on the iPhone that is used to access this encrypted data. The “Reset All Content and Settings” simply wipes that encryption key, leaving the data unreadable through normal means. Anybody trying to recover data through normal data recovery tools would get chunks of gibberish.

Note that there are tools available for law enforcement agencies and forensic examiners that could be used to get around the iOS Data Protection encryption on an iPhone that has not been erased, but these work by accessing the existing encryption keys, not breaking the encryption itself. This is in fact how almost all cryptographic data recovery services work, since encryption keys are usually password-derived, and those passwords can be brute-forced. Keep in mind, however, that there have been recent reports that even law enforcement and other three-letter-agencies are bumping up against the cryptography employed in the iPhone even for those devices that haven’t been erased, and therefore still has the encryption keys stored and secured on the device.

However, once an iPhone is erased by the “Erase all Content and Settings” process, the encryption key permanently and securely gone – removed using a hardware-level feature called effacable storage designed expressly for the purpose of facilitating secure, low-level erasure of flash memory.

Posted by Jesse Hollington in Toronto on June 20, 2013 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy