Checkmarks in iTunes | iLounge Article

Article

Checkmarks in iTunes

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: In iTunes what does the check box next to the name of the song represent?

- Steve

A: The checkboxes in iTunes are used to indicate whether an individual track is included in playback and synchronization. When a track is UN-checked in iTunes, it will be skipped over during normal playback and can only be listened to if you specifically select it.

Unchecked tracks will also never be displayed on or synchronized to an Apple TV device. You can also optionally exclude unchecked tracks from being synchronized to your iPhone or iPod by enabling the Sync only checked songs and videos option found on the Summary screen for your device in iTunes.

« Storing files on iPhone

Black Dock adapters »

Related Stories

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2015 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy