Deleted photos in Camera Roll also removed from albums | iLounge Article

Article

Deleted photos in Camera Roll also removed from albums

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: I just upgraded to iOS 7 and was looking forward to being able to delete duplicate photos to free up space, but this does not work. When I go into Camera Roll, select on a photo, then hit Delete, it tells me it will also be deleted from an album. Do you have any idea why this doesn’t work on my iPhone?

- Suzanne

A: This message appears because one or more of the selected photos have been added to an album on your device.

Although iOS uses the term “Album” to refer to collections of photos you’ve created on your device, in reality these work more like tags; a photo added to an iOS album is not actually duplicated, but rather the Photos app adds a reference to the new album name and simply displays the same photo in both places.

So regardless of which albums you’ve placed pictures in, the Camera Roll remains the master repository, and therefore deleting a photo from the Camera Roll will also remove it from any albums, as there was actually only one photo to begin with. Conversely, deleting a photo when viewing it from within an album will only remove the reference to it in that album, leaving the entry in the main Camera Roll untouched.

 

The good news, however, is that if you’re deleting “duplicate” photos primarily to free up space there’s no need to worry about this, as iOS doesn’t actually duplicate the photos, so no additional space is taken up by adding a photo to an album.

Note that third-party apps can also add photos to albums on your behalf, although this is usually only done with photos that are created or imported by those apps. For example, a photo editing app may save any results of your edits in a specific album to allow you to easily locate them later. As with any other photos, however, these will still appear in the Camera Roll in addition to whatever album has been assigned by the app.

The only way to have photos stored in albums without also appearing in your Camera Roll is to transfer those photos to your computer and have them re-synced back onto your device from a folder or photo management app via iTunes. These photos will appear in read-only albums on your device named after the folder or collection from whence they came, but will not appear in the Camera Roll.

 

 

 

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« Internet access from Wi-Fi iPad via iPhone

Using an iPhone with an external Bluetooth adapter »

Related Stories

Comments

1

I find this to be the most infuriating system of photo management that I can imagine (a problem Gmail shares with its similar email tagging system).  My fondest hope for iOS 7 was that it would allow one to actually “move” photos out of the camera roll into their own folders.  But, alas, it was not to be.

Posted by jarofchris on November 18, 2013 at 9:17 PM (CST)

2

I only seem to be able to add photos to my photo stream singly, i.e. one at a time. Is there a way to select an entire folder and add it as one ?

Posted by Peter Godfrey on November 19, 2013 at 6:44 PM (CST)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy