Deleting Camera Roll photos after uploading to Photo Stream | iLounge Article

Article

Deleting Camera Roll photos after uploading to Photo Stream

Author's pic

By Jesse Hollington

Social Media & Software Editor, iLounge
Published: Friday, June 1, 2012
Articles Categories: Ask iLounge, iCloud, iOS, iPhone

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: I recently upgraded to iOS 5 and am loving the Photo Stream capability with one exception: I can’t figure out how to batch delete photos from the Camera Roll—whether it be on the iPhone itself or in iPhoto—after choosing the ones I like in iPhoto. I enjoy taking as many pictures as possible and then weeding out the ones I don’t like later. Will I be forced to either individually delete every photo or will I have to carry around everything I ever shoot?

- Jordon

A: Unfortunately, there is no way to automatically batch delete photos that have been uploaded to Photo Stream directly on your iOS device—for that you’re basically stuck deleting photos manually, although you can select multiple photos and delete them in a single step simply by going into the Photos app on your iPhone and tapping the edit button in the top-right corner of the thumbnail view. You’ll still have to tap each one manually to select it and then tap the “Delete” button at the bottom of the screen, but this is still a bit faster than going through and deleting them one-by-one.

iPhoto and Aperture actually can be used to automatically remove photos from your Camera Roll that have been imported via the Photo Stream feature, however this requires that you connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and select it in the appropriate application as if you were importing photos manually. Note that if you’re recording video on your iPhone, you’ll need to plug it in to transfer your videos anyway as these aren’t supported by Photo Stream.

When you connect your iPhone or other iOS device to your computer and select it in iPhoto, you will be shown a list of items that have already been imported into your library, including those pictures that have already been transferred in via Photo Stream. Items that are on your device but not in your iPhoto library will be shown below and the main “Import” button will only import those items.

However, if all of the items on your device are already in your iPhoto library, you will instead see a note to this effect with a button that can be used to remove all of those items from your device’s Camera Roll.

Note that for this to work you must actually be importing your photos into iPhoto, either automatically or manually, and these photos must still exist in your iPhoto library when you connect your iPhone. Photos that are simply displayed in the Photo Stream section in iPhoto are not considered part of your actual iPhoto library and will not be detected when comparing your iPhoto library to your iPhone Camera Roll. This also means that if you’re using the main “Photo Stream” section to select photos for importing manually, any photos that you choose not to import will still be detected as new items from your iPhone, as these are not actually in your library.

A better way to handle this is to simply set iPhoto to import everything from your Photo Stream into your library. This option can be enabled in your iPhoto Photo Stream settings.

This will automatically create an iPhoto Event for each month of content in your Photo Stream, placing the appropriate content into each event by month. You can re-organize these manually by moving photos from here into your own events in the same way as you would for any other iPhoto Event.

The process is somewhat similar for Aperture users, although Projects are created by default instead of Events, and when importing from an iOS device the previously imported items are not shown; instead a dialog box is displaying following an import session indicating the number of items that have already been imported via Photo Stream with an option to remove the imported items from the Camera Roll.

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« Sharing Photo Stream content on the web

Removing greyed out music tracks from iPod touch »

Related Stories

Comments

1

I set up photo stream and i love it. but i was wondering if i delete a photo from my iphone, will it delete a photo on my ipad. or vice versa?

Posted by Ali on September 19, 2012 at 6:48 PM (PDT)

2

I to move photos from my camera to individual albums. Is there a way to delete the photo from camera roll without deleting from the album?  When I select delete in camera roll it deletes it everywhere. So I’m stuck with the same pics in two places. Help

Posted by Carmen on September 30, 2012 at 6:42 AM (PDT)

3

i no longer have a computer… how,do,I remove thousands of pictures from the camera roll on my ipad 2 but not manually ? i choose a bunch then one opens with 100s selected with no,way to,delete. if i go,back the selections have cleared !!!! AAAAARRRRGGGGHHHH

how do i suggest to apple to create a batch method or group select/choose (like triple tap first in group,then goto last in group and triple tap it - group to delete selected !!!). i

Posted by doug on November 1, 2012 at 3:18 PM (PDT)

4

I have it all set to import photos from my photostream, like you suggest. Now, when I go to import, it sees the camera roll as full of duplicates: if if import them, I end up with two of each; if I don’t import them I never see the button to erase my camera roll. So, what’s going on there? How do I get around that?

Posted by Taj on February 18, 2013 at 11:56 AM (PDT)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.