Disabling iPhone Backups | iLounge Article

Article

Disabling iPhone Backups

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: I have a couple of questions. First off, I am really annoyed by how iTunes is syncing my iPhone, it is taking forever to backup, sync contacts, calendars, and notes, and copy purchases and update applications, and then finally sync my music. Is there a way I could speed up this process to just sync my music? There are times when I need to leave in a hurry and it would take forever to just add one track on to the iPhone. My other question is, now with Windows 7 around the corner, its going to be time to format my laptop and install windows 7 over it. What is the best way to handle a laptop format with the least headache and save all the data from my apps on my iPhone. They way I have it now is auto sync so everything is automatic, but when I format my laptop its going to think of the laptop as a new computer and ask to wipe itself and sync all over. How can I either prevent this, or prepare for this?

- Faisal

A: It may be possible to reduce the amount of time it takes to backup your iPhone during an iTunes sync by looking at the applications you’re using on a regular basis to see if the iPhone is backing up an excessive amount of data. There are still some applications out there that store large caches of information, which would increase the time required to backup this data. Also be sure you’re running the latest version of iTunes and the iPhone OS, as recent versions have made improvements in backup speed.

You can also cancel the backup process during a sync simply by clicking the “X” in the iTunes status panel. The backup will be cancelled but the rest of the iPhone sync process will continue.

 

Further, it is possible to disable automatic backups entirely by enabling a hidden preference in iTunes. You can do this by modifying your

iTunesPreferences.xml file, which is located in a hidden folder named Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes under your user profile folder in Windows XP or AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\iTunes

on Windows Vista. Simply open this file in a text editor and search for “User Preferences” and add the following text as shown:


    <key>AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled</key>

       <data>

           dHJ1ZQ==

       </data>

 

Note that even with automatic device backups disabled it is still possible to backup your iPhone on-demand by right-clicking on your iPhone in the iTunes Devices list and choosing the “Back up” option from the context menu.

 

This will trigger an individual backup of your iPhone content on-demand. Note that only a backup will be performed in this case, and not a sync operation.

While there are some third-party tools available that can set this preference for you automatically, these tools use the older “DeviceBackupsDisabled” setting which will disable your iPhone backups completely and you will not even be able to initiate a manual backup of your device. Since it is highly recommended that you at least make occasional manual backups of your iPhone, using the method above to disable automatic backups is preferable to disabling them entirely.

With regards to your second question, the simplest way to preserve your iTunes and iPhone configuration while reformatting your laptop and upgrading to Windows 7 is to simply ensure that you have a complete backup of your iTunes library before reformatting your computer. You can restore this iTunes library to your laptop once you’ve installed Windows 7 and the iTunes application, and iTunes should just pick up right where it left off with your existing library. The association between your iPhone and your computer is based on the information in the iTunes library database, so as long as you restore this to your computer after you’ve reformatted it, everything should continue working the way it was before. You can find more information on this in our articles on Transferring your iTunes Library and Backing up your iTunes Library.

Note that there is one exception to the above pertaining to computer authorization. iTunes Store authorization information is not stored in the iTunes library and if you have any content purchased from the iTunes Store you will need to re-authorize your computer after you reinstall iTunes on it. You should be sure to deauthorize your computer in iTUnes before reformatting it so that you don’t use up an unnecessary authorization slot.

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« Problems syncing photos to iPod touch

Moving iTunes to a new computer »

Related Stories

Comments

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy