Preventing auto-deletion of podcasts | iLounge Article A: Although you cannot define different rules for different podcasts, you can exempt some podcasts from the default auto-delete settings.

To do this, simply highlight the podcast subscription within iTunes, and then right-click on the podcast title and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” from the contextual menu:

This will exempt all episodes of that particular podcast, both current and future, from the default auto-deletion settings. Note that you can also do this for a single podcast episode, if you prefer—simply highlight the specific episode instead of the podcast heading, and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” for that particular episode.

There is no visual indication of whether this option is set or not, but if you right-click on the podcast or episode title again, you will note that the “Do Not Auto Delete” option changes to “Allow Auto Delete” which both indicates the current setting and gives you the option to change it back.

 

Note that if both “Do Not Auto Delete” and “Allow Auto Delete” appear when selecting a podcast heading and right-clicking, this means that some episodes within the podcast are set to not allow auto deletion while others are.

 

Selecting one of the two options will set all of the episodes within that podcast to the chosen setting.

 …"> A: Although you cannot define different rules for different podcasts, you can exempt some podcasts from the default auto-delete settings.

To do this, simply highlight the podcast subscription within iTunes, and then right-click on the podcast title and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” from the contextual menu:

This will exempt all episodes of that particular podcast, both current and future, from the default auto-deletion settings. Note that you can also do this for a single podcast episode, if you prefer—simply highlight the specific episode instead of the podcast heading, and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” for that particular episode.

There is no visual indication of whether this option is set or not, but if you right-click on the podcast or episode title again, you will note that the “Do Not Auto Delete” option changes to “Allow Auto Delete” which both indicates the current setting and gives you the option to change it back.

 

Note that if both “Do Not Auto Delete” and “Allow Auto Delete” appear when selecting a podcast heading and right-clicking, this means that some episodes within the podcast are set to not allow auto deletion while others are.

 

Selecting one of the two options will set all of the episodes within that podcast to the chosen setting.

 …">

Article

Preventing auto-deletion of podcasts

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: Is it possible to define different rules for different podcasts? I’d like to keep only the previous 5 or only those unplayed - but a couple I want to keep all the podcasts. Can I do this somehow?

- Anonymous

A: Although you cannot define different rules for different podcasts, you can exempt some podcasts from the default auto-delete settings.

To do this, simply highlight the podcast subscription within iTunes, and then right-click on the podcast title and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” from the contextual menu:

This will exempt all episodes of that particular podcast, both current and future, from the default auto-deletion settings. Note that you can also do this for a single podcast episode, if you prefer—simply highlight the specific episode instead of the podcast heading, and choose “Do Not Auto Delete” for that particular episode.

There is no visual indication of whether this option is set or not, but if you right-click on the podcast or episode title again, you will note that the “Do Not Auto Delete” option changes to “Allow Auto Delete” which both indicates the current setting and gives you the option to change it back.

 

Note that if both “Do Not Auto Delete” and “Allow Auto Delete” appear when selecting a podcast heading and right-clicking, this means that some episodes within the podcast are set to not allow auto deletion while others are.

 

Selecting one of the two options will set all of the episodes within that podcast to the chosen setting.

 

« Transferring videos to iPod

2007 iPod models and speakers »

Related Stories

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2015 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy