Sudoku reviews | iLounge Article

Article

Sudoku reviews

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: Great Solitaire roundup! Now can you do the same for Sudoku? There must be 50 versions! My wife won’t upgrade her iPod touch to 2.0 until she is sure there is a Sudoku game she likes as much as the jailbreak version she’s using now. I have no idea how to judge them and the rating/review system on the App Store is now virtually uninterpretable.

- Keith

A: Actually, Sudoku was the very first iPhone Gems feature that we did back on August 1st. You can find it here: iPhone Gems: Every Sudoku Game, Reviewed. In this article, we briefly cover each of the 23 different Sudoku games available on the iTunes Store, and provide a rating for each.

If you’re simply looking for our top choices, be sure to check out Gameloft’s Platinum Sudoku (iLounge rating: A), Hudson Soft’s Sudoku Vol. 1 (iLounge rating: B+) and Electronic Arts’ Sudoku (iLounge rating: B)—the only three titles to earn a better than C rating.

 

 

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« iPhone Gems: Tetris Clones and Other Grid-Based Games

Syncing movies to iPod nano »

Related Stories

Comments

1

hay its me again i still have a prob i dont know how to transfer itunes from my ipod nano (not the video) to my ipod touch if its even possible

Posted by shana on August 18, 2008 at 11:29 PM (CDT)

2

Please start a separate iphone section.I don’t have an iphone and never will.I come here for itunes help not iphone help.

Posted by dwr50 on August 19, 2008 at 1:22 PM (CDT)

3

Hello, I would like to know if I can download images in my iphone (.jpg or .tif) and be able to see them and organize them in the photo gallery.

Posted by Javier Cachu on August 20, 2008 at 9:44 PM (CDT)

4

I have a mini IPOD (about 4 years old) and ever since I restore it on the apple website, I’m getting a lot of static noise. I called Apple tech support and basically they tell me to do another restore and if that does not work, my ipod basically is tossed!. I can’t believe it. It’s been playing fine all along. Can you help?

Posted by Karl Lung-Hung on August 21, 2008 at 2:19 PM (CDT)

5

Similar to Katie’s issue, I have a CD ripping problem on my 6 month old iMac.  After a varying number of normal rips, iTunes appears to be hanging up between recognizing the CD and going out to CDDB for lookup data.  The CD will show as an audio CD on the desktop, will appear in iTunes devices section on the right, flash a CD track list window and then disappear from iTunes and the desk top thereby leaving no indication that there’s a CD in the drive.  Ejecting from the keyboard usually works and then reinserting the CD a 2nd time works for a while.  Again after a varying number of CDs it becomes necessary to restart the iMac.  Setting iTunes to just show or rip and eject or anything in between the CD has no effect.

We took it to the Genius Bar at the Apple store, but apparently all the Geniuses were out of the store.  Our sub-genius guy apparently wasn’t able to process customer input.  Multiple attempts were made to explain that reinserting the same CD after a successful read a 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 10,000th time NEVER FAILED.  He proceeded, un-swayed, to insert his “test” CD (he knowingly said there were music files on it, oohhh!  ahhhh!) 10 times and proclaimed that the drive was OK.  This despite my wife and I had the foresight to bring an armload of CDs the Mac hadn’t been introduced to.  As a 52 year old electrical engineer that has programmed and trouble shot numerous control systems over the last 33 years I find it always makes me feel better when customer care types talk to me like I’m 6.

He offered to reinstall the operating system if we wanted to bring it back because the store was closing.  The whole point of switching to Mac was stability, unsurpassed integration between apps and hopefully having somewhat more elegant solutions available than reinstalling the entire operating system.  If I wanted to reinstall Windows in the vain hope it would do more good than harm to solve my computer problems I would still be running a PC and be $2500 ahead.

It seems I can prolong the onset of the problem if no other applications that use the Internet are open.  We are running DSL to a Time Capsule 1 foot away from the iMac.  The Mac connects to the time capsule via wifi.  OS X and iTunes are up-to-date.  We have no other problems with this computer what-so-ever.

Has anybody else run into this problem?

Posted by Elcoholic in So Cal on August 22, 2008 at 6:14 PM (CDT)

6

this is the THIRD time some problem has occured with my Itunes and the songs I put into my “considering” file after hearing them and wanting to consider buying them have ALL disappeared and been replaced by songs I already bought.  All the other folders are intact…  I don’t mind reconstructing them manually if I can simply see where they have gone on my computer!  Where are they?  Is the information corrupted and gone forever?

Posted by Jeff Cohn on August 23, 2008 at 9:01 PM (CDT)

7

My computer recently died, thankfully it did so slowly so I was able to back up my iTunes folder so that I could install it on my new one. I installed onto the hard drive of my new computer and synced my shuffle to the new computer however the song count does not update itself in the new iTunes. I’ve restored my shuffle to factory settings with no success. Any ideas?

Posted by Fiona O'Neill on August 28, 2008 at 4:36 PM (CDT)

8

the central button of my ipod and the scroll wheel arent functioning. when i click, there is no response, it dosent even turn off or play.

the scrolling by the loop is also very slow, like it hangs for a while… i didnot use my ipod for a month or so, before putting it away, i never had such problems… it started when i removed it out, it hasnt fallen in water, not even have i tripped it down….


is it due to viruses? should i format the ipod from My computers????


i tried deleting all songs and playing it, but of no use..

 

where is an apple store in navi mumbai?????

Posted by sagar on December 26, 2008 at 9:05 AM (CST)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy