When and how Find My Friends reports your location | iLounge Article

Article

When and how Find My Friends reports your location

Ask iLounge offers readers the opportunity to get answers to their iPod-, iPhone-, iPad-, iTunes-, or Apple TV-related questions from a member of the iLounge editorial team. We'll answer several questions here each week, and of course, you can always get help with more immediate concerns from the iLounge Discussion Forums. Submit your questions for consideration using our Ask iLounge Submit Form. We reserve the right to edit questions for grammar, spelling, and length.

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

Q: In the Find My Friends app, once you power your phone off, with for example a little more than 20% charge left, what location shows to your followers? I always thought it would say “Location Not Found,” but a friend told me it will just register as your last location before you powered down. Which is it?

- Felice

A: The correct answer is actually somewhere in the middle, and a bit different from what you might expect.

Unlike other services such as the recently retired Google Latitude, Find My Friends doesn’t actually track your location and report it to Apple’s servers automatically in the background. Instead, it runs passively on your device, waiting for your friends to request your location. When one of your friends starts up the Find My Friends app, it sends out a request from their device to your iPhone, which in turn fires up your GPS, figures out where you are, and reports that location back to their device.

This means that if your device is off, your friends should normally see “Location Not Available” since your device is unable to respond to a request to report its location.

There is one additional catch here, however: the Find My Friends app on the receiving end will remember and display a user’s last reported location for up to two hours. This means that once your iPhone is shut off—or even if you’ve simply moved out of data coverage by going into a building or subway—your friends will still see your location from any time they requested it within the past two hours, time-stamped accordingly. Note that this is not necessarily the location that you left coverage at, but where you were the last time they checked. Once it’s been more than two hours since the last location update, the app will simply go back to showing “Location Not Available.”

To summarize, if your iPhone is off or out of coverage any friends who have requested and received a location update from you in the past two hours will still see you at that location. Those who do not have a location report from you in the past two hours will simply see “Location Not Available.”

This “passive mode” approach actually saves battery life in most cases as GPS-based location services consume more power. Since location services aren’t being used by Find My Friends except when somebody wants to know where you are, most of the time your device isn’t reporting its location. Of course, if you have several dozen friends requesting your location very frequently, you may see the opposite effect on battery life, but one could argue that’s a social issue rather than a technological one.

The most asked question at iLounge.com:

How do I copy content from my iPod/iPhone onto my computer?

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, Apple TV and iPhone Video Formats

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Mac)

Converting DVDs, web video, TV shows and more:

The Complete Guide to iPod, iPhone and Apple TV Video Conversion (Win)

Best Speakers?

Best Headphones?

Best Case?

Best In-Car Solution?

Best Battery Extender?

Find more answers in the latest publications in our Library. Free downloads developed by the editors of iLounge!

Ask iLounge Archives:

1-24-14: Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks

1-22-14: Splitting purchased content between two iPads

12-13-13: Non-Bluetooth Lightning dock speakers

12-11-13: Shared Apple ID and switching away from iPhone

12-6-13: Syncing multiple iCloud data with a family Mac

Read more recent Ask iLounge articles...

View the complete Ask iLounge archives...

« iMessage and FaceTime activation and blocked SMS

Accessing FaceTime call history on a Mac »

Related Stories

Comments

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy