About that iPod touch review | iLounge Backstage

2014 iPad iPhone iPod Buyers' Guide from iLounge.com

Backstage

About that iPod touch review

Author's pic

By Jeremy Horwitz

Editor-in-Chief, iLounge
Published: Friday, September 14, 2007
Backstage Categories:

As a brief note to readers: our iPod touch review could have been online already, but we’re holding it back.

We consider timeliness of our coverage to be imporant, but we consider accuracy to be even more important. It goes without saying that haste is the enemy of certainty.

After years of iPod releases passed without massive media attention, it seems like everyone’s now rushing to be “first” with a “review,” terms which have accordingly all but lost their meaning. What is a “review” if it’s based upon glib comments or little analysis? What does it mean to be “first” if you achieve nothing more than planting a timestamped flag in the ground with little perspective attached? That’s not our style.

So we’re choosing to wait—a little. Our review of iPod touch will likely be one of the most controversial we’ve published, so we’re re-running some tests to make sure we’re being fair. You’ll see the results very soon, and we hope they’ll help you make a more informed decision about whether to buy into this particular iPod, or hold off for next year’s replacement. Stay tuned.

« iHC5 Really, Really Wants to Be Your iPhone’s Friend

How’d They Do It? 3G nano Cases From Rumors or Inside Info »

Comments

1

Sounds ominous. I’ll put a seat belt on.

Posted by rTwelve on September 14, 2007 at 11:06 PM (PDT)

2

You have it right in the head Jeremy, just take your time over it and we’ll still be here.

Posted by ryan10ad on September 15, 2007 at 12:37 AM (PDT)

3

Nice one J. I am getting one anyway, but hell, I will sell it and get a new one. It’s only money right? smile

Thanks for all the good work you guys do.

Posted by Don Trammell on September 15, 2007 at 2:04 AM (PDT)

4

i just cant believe that it doesnt have disk mode…what bollocks…why take away functionality? It has actually turned me off getting one..i mean i was will to deal with it having half the disk space as my ipod video but no disk mode is just arrogance…i love apple but i hate their arrogance…i cant buy this on principle…i sold my ipod video before it came out and i guess the risk didnt pay off..i think ill just get the 60gb classic…

Posted by evin on September 15, 2007 at 5:13 AM (PDT)

5

Intersting, cant wait to read the review. I have an ipod touch on order from amazon.com but with all the bad news coming out on this product im not sure.  I could deal with the memory but now defects? Im paying 400 bucks for whats advertisted, but when that itself is coming up short its a tough choice,

Posted by kap05 on September 15, 2007 at 6:01 AM (PDT)

6

Ok, just post the review now. We get the idea.

Posted by Sam on September 15, 2007 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

7

What is it? WHAT IS IT?

Posted by Logan Williams on September 15, 2007 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

8

I was going to either buy myself the new iPod Touch or a new jacket for myself…. I ultimately decided on the jacket because I realized I already have an iPod and I’d be cold without a jacket =)

But seriously, I’m impressed by the way you’ve decided to hold back. I look forward to hearing the review… who knows, maybe you guys could convince me to get the new iPod in addition to my new warm jacket!

Posted by Toleran on September 15, 2007 at 5:03 PM (PDT)

9

Hmmm. Wonder if it has anything to do with the black/negative video issue? That alone has me thinking about returning my 16GB.

Posted by ursine1 on September 15, 2007 at 7:00 PM (PDT)

10

Aside from the above comments, I found one at Best Buy yesterday and jumped on it.  I have a 30g video I’m keeping, but beyond the music player I’m just blown away at the computing capacity of something so small - it’s impressive to say the least.

Posted by Brent on September 15, 2007 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

11

Any ETA on the review? I’m very interested in getting your take on the Touch.

I have a 16GB from Best Buy, and will likely return it due to the screen issue. It’s not absolutely horrible, but it’s unacceptable because I upgraded from 5G to Touch for video, and the video quality is not up to snuff.

(audio is fine with my v-moda earbuds.)

Posted by madmaxmedia on September 15, 2007 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

12

Expect the review tomorrow (Sunday). Thanks very much for your patience.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on September 15, 2007 at 8:31 PM (PDT)

13

Thanks for the update Jeremy. I agree that it’s much more important to get the review right, than rush to publish early. Especially if you are dealing with the same screen issue many of us are, and are making sure you test some different units to see if this is widespread or just some bad individual units.

Posted by madmaxmedia on September 15, 2007 at 8:43 PM (PDT)

14

You can tell if your iPhone or presumably iPod touch has the negative black issue with the “Someone to Love” video by Fountains if Wayne. My iPhone has this problem.

Posted by technolawyer2 on September 15, 2007 at 8:47 PM (PDT)

15

Is that a video that ships with the iPhone/iPod touch?

Posted by owen-b on September 16, 2007 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

16

owen, you can watch it for free using the YouTube application. Look at the last 40 seconds of the video, which is quite dark—you’ll know immediately if you have the screen problem.

Posted by technolawyer2 on September 16, 2007 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

17

Looking forward to the review!

Posted by ChuckN on September 16, 2007 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

18

Cheers lawyer, when either device finally bothers itself to arrive in the UK I’ll wander into an Apple store and check it out! smile

Posted by owen-b on September 16, 2007 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

19

Sounds intriguing and that you’ll have some not so glowing things to say about it…

I have to say that I find the grumbling that you on iLounge are doing about the lack of storage on the Touch a bit odd - I mean will most people *really* need to carry every single podcast, movie or TV show that they own around with them?

Sure, someone always will and the Classic is for them at the moment but I just don’t get the fuss re. this.

And this is coming from someone who wants to get the 2006 Nano before they run out so I’m not a flag-waving Apple fan…

Looking forward to the review anyway.

Posted by Simon Reid on September 16, 2007 at 8:57 AM (PDT)

20

As an aside - wow, the Fountains of Wayne are great! :D Can’t believe I’ve never heard their stuff before. I was always put off massively by their name.

Posted by owen-b on September 16, 2007 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

21

Simon, I don’t think the storage is what’s under attack - I think the appalling and inconsistent-across-the-supply screen and questionable sound quality are though…

Posted by owen-b on September 16, 2007 at 8:59 AM (PDT)

22

With this ominous sign, I cancelled my preorder for my iPod Touch 8GB and reordered it without engraving, so I can return it if the screen is reeeeealy bad.

Posted by Jim on September 16, 2007 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

23

It’s 7pm Sunday UK time, I want my Touch review! raspberry

Posted by owen-b on September 16, 2007 at 10:59 AM (PDT)

24

Still so very strange to me that Apple allowed the first units to fill the stores and yet haven’t started shipping out everyone else’s units. Can’t remember that happening with any other iPod in the past, and maybe they’ll find out why they shouldn’t allow it in the future now that a lot of people appear to be cancelling their preorders.

Can’t wait for the review to see if I need to cancel mine or hope for a fix before the 28th’s shipments are sent out.

I know how it feels to get a bad batch, happened with the PSP I owned, third one was the charm.

Posted by iPoder on September 16, 2007 at 11:36 AM (PDT)

25

The review is now online here.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on September 16, 2007 at 4:39 PM (PDT)

26

hmmm i see where they are coming from with the B - review. I think that it maybe considered for a vast majority of ipod owners, particularly those who owned the 5th generation ipod (Which is probably most, isnt it the best selling ipod?). But this review i think is disregarded if you are a person who did not own a 5th generation ipod.  I personally have a 4th generation none color, and this is monumental upgrade for me. I definitely see where they are coming from, lacking iphone features. But i can say safely i would never buy an iphone at that price, jus like ide never buy a blackberry at any price. I like to keep my devices seperate. The main area i agree with however is, its a stripped down iphone. Which isnt a suprise as they were created together, but the iphone was released first for a huge splash. At least its an honest review that is geared towards the majority of ipod owners. Who knows i may change my mind and wait, but ive been waiting for a year now, and this gives me what i need , PROVIDING THE SCREEN IS NOT GARBAGE. If thats the standard screen, no thank you.

Posted by kap05 on September 16, 2007 at 5:56 PM (PDT)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods or accessories, or if you sell or market products, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators. Wondering why we're talking about something other than iPods? Check the Archives: Backstage has been here and kicking it since 2004.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.