Google Translate adds more Indic languages | iLounge News


Google Translate adds more Indic languages

Google has released an update to Google Translate for the iPhone and iPod touch adding support for five additional Indic languages: Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu. The update also adds the ability to view dictionary results for single words and display romanizations for the new Indic languages, allowing users unfamiliar with the script to read the translations. Google notes that these are still experimental alpha languages and translations may be less fluent and include more untranslated words than other more mature languages. With this update, Google Translate now supports text translation among 63 languages with voice input in 17 languages and text-to-speech in 24 languages. Google Translate is available from the App Store as a free download.

Related Stories

Subscribe to iLounge Weekly

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2018 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy