Belkin Acrylic Case for iPhone | iLounge

Reviews

1

I just got a couple of these in the Mail today.
I was also very impressed. I just wanted a case so that if I walk out with an iPhone on Friday I want to have it protected.

I like that the clip can be removed, since I prefer to use a horizontal case on my belt. With the clip off, it will work just fine.

The design and adaptability is very impressive. If Apple had designed a multi-purpose belt clip protector, I think it would be like this.

Posted by kspen on June 19, 2007 at 10:43 PM (PDT)

2

I'm not sure the iPhone needs any protection, but this case looks great for using it on your belt and on your desk.

Posted by technolawyer on July 1, 2007 at 3:30 PM (PDT)

3

I got one of these. The store had this, a dlo silicon case, and a leather flip type case. I chose the Belkin since I wanted something that would slide easily into my pocket.

Anyway, this Belkin case is worthless if you actually use the iPhone as a phone. Basically, it becomes painful to hold the phone up to your ear. The top front of the case creates a raised plastic edge that digs into your ear if you try to hold the phone flat against your ear. Which, given the relatively low volume of the phone is pretty much a must.

If you use speakerphone or bluetooth, this won't be a problem. And if you use it just as an iPod and never use the phone, it would be ok, though I don't know why you would. And otherwise, the case isn't all that bad, if you like the ubergeek look of having a phone clipped to your belt.

Posted by elmopod on July 1, 2007 at 4:39 PM (PDT)

4

I picked up this case on Friday - got to admit I'm not a fan. It doesn't stay closed well and seems to trap lint and dirt next to the phone. It does make the phone stand up well (the big selling point for me) but others do that as well. I'll keep it for awhile, but I'll change to something else at some point.

Posted by Draddog on July 2, 2007 at 4:23 PM (PDT)

5

Be warned! This case has a nasty habit of popping open even when you've snapped the front onto it.

I've almost lost my iPhone to the ground three times due to the poor design of the tabs that interlock the front to the back of the case.

Posted by technabob on July 2, 2007 at 7:59 PM (PDT)

6

Save $30.00 and just toss your new iPhone on a sidewalk. I’d like to see iLounge reconsider their rating on this case. My Belkin Acrylic Case also popped open … releasing my iPhone and causing multiple scrapes and scratches to the body of the phone. Compounding this aggravation, Belkin insists you ship them your phone so they can “determine if the damaged was caused by their product”.

This consumer feels that Belkin could better serve their customers and their reputation by adding a bit of flexibility to their claims process … and removing some of it from their tab-locks that are supposed to hold their Acrylic Cases together.

Not only does the Belkin Acrylic Case fail to protect … it enhances, the likelihood of significant damage or loss. If I were handing out report cards: F for the product … C- for the service.

Posted by ipodder06 on July 7, 2007 at 11:34 PM (PDT)

7

I noticed this case didn't seem secure at first, but then I realized that I hadn't completely snapped it together all the way. Since then it's been great!

Posted by octo on July 11, 2007 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

8

Oh octo, you carry an iPhone timebomb on your belt. I can repeatedly rap on the case with a large Sharpie marker causing the case to pop open, dropping my iPhone onto my bed. Unfortunately, my bed wasn’t around the first time.

Also, if you value your time at say … minimum wage … you’ll save money by just buying yourself a new iPhone, rather than waiting on terminal hold with Belkin’s Claim Department.

Posted by ipodder06 on July 11, 2007 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

9

BUYER BEWARE!

This case causes damage to iPhones.

See photos of the damage to mine here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidmorley/sets/72157600800828941/

And read posts about it here:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=3907698

Posted by morleyds on July 14, 2007 at 8:09 AM (PDT)

10

Any Belkin reps reading this?? Are you coming out with a fix for your case? If so will you be generous like iCountour to replace cases for people that bought the messed up one?

Posted by dakoyote on July 16, 2007 at 8:14 AM (PDT)

11

Ditto on *morleyds* damage claim. Mine has similar backing and bezel damage... it's not too bad yet. I'm discontinuing usage and obtaining a film of some sort... Still waiting for all the reviews to come in on the three main contenders of the film protectors.

Posted by teknow on August 1, 2007 at 7:40 AM (PDT)

12

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! After a month of use, the belt clip broke. This sent my iphone down for the final blow finally scratching the phone and really scarring the outside. Belkin is offering ot send me a check for the phone....two weeks after i send my phone in. Apparently this is not a unusual thing. The rep said this was the 4th call he had today.

Posted by LCPLJones on August 6, 2007 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

13

Might it be time to revise the review and rating?

Posted by teknow on August 8, 2007 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

14

Personally I've had this case since the day I purchased my iPhone and I'm very pleased. I did notice a little scratching on the left side of my Apple logo on the back but I can't absolutely attribute this to the case. However, it is likely since I'm highly protective of all my gadgets. Overall, I love this case. It's small, it's clear, and the biggest gripe is getting it off. However, if you attach the very slender face properly, it shouldn't loosen. The main trick is to pop it on and then rotate the iPhone to make sure the sides click together. After this is done it's absolutely secure. I paired this case with Power Support's Crystal Film Set and I love the combination! The clip is also fantastic and makes a wonderful, rotating video stand.

Posted by skadiwolf on August 26, 2007 at 6:25 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.