Marware SportGrip Smooth Silicone Protection for iPhone | iLounge

Reviews

1

It's beyond me why anyone would cover up the beauty of the iPhone with a skin.

Posted by Japester on July 6, 2007 at 10:53 PM (PDT)

2

re: Speck's SkinTight's belt clip. It can be used as a horizontal stand and it will not tip over. Just rotate the clip in the same orientation as you would for the speakerphone stand (vertical). It's not a design flaw. It's also in the illustrated instructions included with the case wink

Posted by redrum916 on July 7, 2007 at 11:58 AM (PDT)

3

For a skin .... it's pretty nice looking IMHO.

Posted by ipodder06 on July 7, 2007 at 10:00 PM (PDT)

4

What about the heat? Don't those silicone cases built up heat? There are coments that iPhone can become pretty warm in extensive use resulting in irritating behaviour for some. I think those cases could make this worse.

Posted by mkoehler on July 8, 2007 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

5

i dont understand why u would cover up something that cant get scratched but this skin does look nice tho

Posted by allennwutupp on July 9, 2007 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

6

Well, I have the Speck SkinTight case... the clear is okay but the black collects pocket lint like a magnet. Yes these are nice value if you want your $600 baby to look like a $15 piece of silicone!

I just purchased the inCase black molded rubber case which does cost more but the quality is FAR superior to these silicone cases. Also the inCase material seems to reject lint.

If you want to protect the iPhone's face, just pair it with a screen film. Yes, this is more expensive this way but it sure compliments the iPhone's style a WHOLE lot more!

Posted by Larry Wiezycki on July 9, 2007 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

7

Just bought a case-mate... Larry I agree.. why make ur 600 dollar baby to look like a 15 dollar piece of silicone... check out the case-mate... its leather... fits well and protects the iPhone and makes it look like a 1000 dollar piece..

Posted by iiMan on July 9, 2007 at 9:58 PM (PDT)

8

The idea here is not to "cover" it is to protect. I agree that the phones beauty should not be hidden, but having it scratched to hell in a few months will GREATLY detract from its beauty. A good compromise would be keep it skinned when on the go, and take it off when you feel the need to show it off. It won't be impressive when the screen is scratched, and the paint is chipped off the back! They need to make a skin that is truly "clear".

Posted by la.southpaw on July 19, 2007 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

9

i just got my Marware sportgrip in the mail. i was first worried about the "added bulk" on the back of the case, but i think i like how it rests in my hand. it's much sturdier feeling than the naked iphone, which i was sometimes worried about slipping and dropping.

i used the included screen protector, it went on nicely, and can't be seen at all with the case on (hiding the edges of the plastic)

i've seen hundreds of reviews of people's silicone cases scratching the chrome edge of the iphone.

do you think i should get a full body Shield or BodyGuardz to put on under the silicone case?

Posted by dabido on July 30, 2007 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

10

I just got this case today. I like it much better than the Contour Design.

One problem: the neoprene needs to be 1-2mm shorter/lower at the bottom of the screen. It covers 2-3 rows of pixels and makes it difficult to press any icon close to the bottom of the screen.

Otherwise: Great!

Posted by Blademan on August 2, 2007 at 9:03 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.