comments

I have this case on my iPhone right now and I love it. It fits just about perfectly and since the screen is glass, screen protection wasn't a requirement for the case I was looking for. I a actually don't care much for the stainless steel band around the phone and thus case covers it up and only leaves the screen and the upper ad lower black sections on the front exposed. The button covers for the volume rocker and the sleep/wake button have a nice feel to them when pressing them. The black color looks especially sharp on the phone, and the topographic pattern is really cool looking. The case would be really boring looking without it. I also like the harder rubber feeling of the case as opposed to the more silicone feeling ones, as it feels more durable. I am confient that thus case would protect my phone great in the event that I dropped it.

Posted by Tanmanchan on July 4, 2007 at 1:58 PM (PDT) Comment 1

I couldn't disagree more with the review, and my feelings are in line with the previous comment. This is an outstanding case, and it feels like the iPhone and this case were actually designed together. It's protective, sharp-looking, and the build quality is superb. Perfect for people (like me) who think that silicone cases are cheap-looking and that cases that cover the front of the iPhone look ugly.

Did iLounge get a bad review sample, or what?

Posted by The Viking on July 7, 2007 at 11:31 PM (PDT) Comment 2

I also completely disagree with this review. This review seems to be completely about how the cases perform 'on-paper'. Its not what they do, but how they do it that is important. Isn't that true of the iPod and iPhone too?

Posted by K. Pilkington on July 9, 2007 at 9:29 AM (PDT) Comment 3

I would have to disagree with the review. By far this is the ONLY case that doesn't make the iPhone looks like it was wrapped in cheap condom. It fits perfectly and cover all the metal parts of the iPhone. The case was design to fit on the iPhone perfectly. If you want a simple durable case without the bulk and the "stupid" belt clip. This is the one to get. I'd galdly pay $10 more to get this case.

Posted by Cpraser on July 9, 2007 at 10:49 AM (PDT) Comment 4

I also like this case a lot. However, I see what Jeremy is talking about. It's a bit pricey compared to other silicon cases. But it's by far the best looking silicon case available. Also, you should take your iphone out every once in a while to clean. Doing this stretches the case out at the top and bottom and it begins to "bulge" a little. I would still give this case an A-.

Posted by leonowj9 on July 9, 2007 at 1:21 PM (PDT) Comment 5

The Incase was ridiculously expensive, and I felt I was being robbed for what I was getting considering other cases cost either a lot less or provided a lot more.

With that said, I love this case. It's the only one I've seen or tried at both AT&T and Apple stores that looks like it was precision molded to the iPhone. It looks like it's part of the phone, not something covering it, and the aesthetics are very nice.

It also provides a nice grip and thickness that I found flimsy in the other phones, and yet it was compact enough that I could put it in my pocket without bulging.

Though I do agree you're paying a ridiculous premium for this case, my only regret was that I didn't buy it sooner.

Posted by AceTracer on July 9, 2007 at 3:03 PM (PDT) Comment 6

OK, on the MacRumors forums, there's a discussion and a warning about taking this case on & off; it appears it may severely scratch your chrome bezel.

The pictures were pretty scary, much worse than I would have imagined. I'm sure this wasn't factored into the review, but a case that does the opposite of what it's designed to do (namely, protect the phone from damage) is something I'd like to see addressed ASAP by Incase.

I'm actually scared to take mine off to see if dust got under the edge of the case and is scratching up my bezel!

Posted by The Viking on July 9, 2007 at 11:12 PM (PDT) Comment 7

I also disagree with the review. This is the simplest, least intrusive iPhone "case" currently out there. It provides a firm grip on the iPhone so I don't have to worry about it slipping out of my hand...that's the only thing important to me and worth the $30.

Posted by kidsafe on July 15, 2007 at 12:29 AM (PDT) Comment 8

I just purchased the incase cover, and so far give it a 7.5 out of 10. I went to an Apple store, and after being aghast at the dismally low number of cases they had available decided to go with the incase. I checked out the speck toughskin, and it felt cheap, and looked ugly. I do believe it offers adequate protection for what it is, but it was severely lacking cosmetically. I also looked at the marware,(which in my online search was a frontrunner) but found it to look like an ill fitting condom. Protectionwise it seemed very good, but, aesthetically blah. I do believe I'll be pairing the incase with the marware sportsuit. What I can't get over is the conspicuous price point of $30 for all these cases. The manf. must be forming a cartel selling us 4 cents worth of silicone for $30. Oh, and $15 for a plastic sheet to cover the touchscreen? I don't think so. Ebay here I come. These things have a better profit margin than heroin.

Posted by la.southpaw on July 19, 2007 at 7:56 PM (PDT) Comment 9

i like the way the case looks with my iphone but it has scratched up all of the chrome around the screen. Doesnt look as great as before when the case is off.

Posted by wils5571 on August 27, 2007 at 8:43 PM (PDT) Comment 10

I couldn't disagree more with this review. Based on ilounge's rating of the marwear sport grip I ordered one. At $14.95 it's over-priced in my opinion because what you get is a loose-fitting silicone sleeve for your iphone that is bulky and frankly just plain ugly. And worse, the part of it that covers the front of the phone is so close to the touch screen area that you can't use any of the buttons close to the edge of the area without bumping into it constantly. And it has a little ridge all the way around the screen that catches on *everything* and causes the case to loosen up (even more) in just a couple of days. Plus, because it's made of super-soft sticky silicone it gets completely covered in pocket lint the first time you (try) to get it into your pocket.... where it sticks like glue BTW, making it hard to pull out without yet again stretching and misforming the case itself. NOT a good product IMO, despite the spurious review on this site.

Someone else said it best, the marwear sportgrip makes your iphone look like a $15 piece of silicone.

The inCase protective cover, OTOH, fits the iphone perfectly (at least in my case) and not only does it NOT detract from the looks of the phone, IMO it adds to them giving it a nice stealth black look. In fact, looking at my iphone beside my computer right now it actually looks like there's not cover on it at all, more like it's made of hard rubber.

Also, the incase cover is made of a harder silicone so it doesn't misform as easily, and pocket lint etc. doesn't stick to it.

As others noted, the screen of the iphone is fairly robust so doesn't really need protection, however I do agree that at $30 a pop incase should still provide a screen protector like the very nice one Marwear includes with the sportgrip, which covers the *entire* screen save the home button, earpiece and proximity sensors with hearty, confidence inspiring plastic that does NOT hinder the touch screen's functionality. BTW, it's not cheap, but if you combine the marwear screen cover with the incase case you have 100% protection that looks awesome.

IMO the incase cover is the best out there. it adds nearly no bulk to the phone, it actually improves the looks of the phone IMO and it offers protection where you need it, not where you don't (unlike the marwear, which covers 30% of the phones screen with ugly silicone).

I do agree, however, that the incase is overpriced compared to what others offer. At $30 they should include a nice plastic screen protector (for the paranoid like me). If you buy a screen protector seperately and use it with the incase you have 100% scratch protection, but the price is now over $40. However, if you want a slim, non-intrusive iphone case that works well and does what it should without detracting from your phone's handsome looks... the incase is *the* way to go.

I also wish they offered it with other patterns, or no pattern, on the back of the case. I don't particularly care for the geo-survey style pattern they use, though it's certainly not bothersome enough to prevent me buying this case again.

What it really comes down to is.. you get what you pay for. Many other cases are cheaper, but they look it. The incase isn't cheap, but it doesn't LOOK cheap either, and in my book if you spent $600 for an iphone you should be willing to spring another $30 for a case that protects it while maintaining the phones handsome good looks.

Unless the point of the review on this site is to determine which case gives you the most silicone per dollar, something is off kilter. The incase iphone sleeve is IMO a better product than the marwear sport grip, offering plenty of needed protection and grip without turning your $600 iphone into something that looks like it was stamped out of cheap silicone.

Posted by molex on September 2, 2007 at 12:06 PM (PDT) Comment 11
related reviews

Report: Apple TV relaunch not coming this year
Report: Apple eliminating positions of some Beats employees
Russian government seeks Apple source code
Square announces new Reader for chip cards
Apple TV adds FOX Now, CNBC channels
Popular Bitcoin wallet app Blockchain returns to App Store
Report: Apple Stores to support carrier early iPhone upgrade programs
Report: Apple buying talk radio app Swell
Congress passes bill to legalize phone unlocking
Bose sues Beats over noise-canceling patents

related reviews

Kenu Airframe+ Portable Car Mount
Incipio offGRID Smart Bluetooth Low Energy-Enabled Portable 6000mAh Backup Battery
Divoom Voombox Travel Rugged Portable Wireless Speaker
Logitech protection+ for iPhone 5/5s and +trip
Beats Powerbeats2 Wireless
Incipio Steno Ultra-Thin Bluetooth Keyboard Folio for iPad Air
OtterBox Resurgence Power Case for iPhone 5/5s
Gumdrop Cases FoamTech Case for iPad Air
Ztylus Camera Case + RV-2 Revolver Lens for iPhone 5/5s
JBL Synchros Reflect In-Ear Sport Headphones

related reviews

What’s New in iTunes 12
iLounge Picks: Five Great Summer Party Speakers
Editorial: Endings And Beginnings
Live From CE Week 2014: Brand New iPad, iPhone + Mac Accessories!
What’s New In iOS 8 For iPad, iPhone + iPod touch
iLounge Multi-Editorial: WWDC 2014’s iOS 8, OS X Yosemite + More
The Complete Guide to Apple TV Channels
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad, 2001 to 2010
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad: 2011 to Today
Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks