comments

Very disappointing reading. I've still ordered one. Hardware-wise, I don't think it will change over the course of the next year except perhaps to gain capacity.

I really hope next year's model addresses these many poor factors.

Posted by Japester on September 16, 2007 at 11:48 PM (PDT) Comment 41

Firstly, i beg pardon for my terrible english.

But iPods werent supposed to play music?
I really cant understand why i should play video on a nano and even on a touch it seem to me uncomfortable respect to my TV...

Then, i agree with the review B rating.
The only thing is, to me, iPod Touch is way more classy and fascinating with its dark aluminium finish than the "please look at me" chrome iPhone.

Posted by roots on September 17, 2007 at 1:19 AM (PDT) Comment 42

People were demanding this device as soon as the iPhone came out. Apple has with its introduction of the new iPods listened to the costumers for once (they were demanding a nano with video, check, a classic iPod with lots of storage, check, and a iPhone without the phone, check). Those empty spaces on the home screen will be used some day, heck it has MAC OS!!! Don't blame apple of finally delivering a choice in iPods, it's the best thing they did in a long while. If people keep on nagging this move, we will never see a mid tower or a ultra small computer from Apple. All revA problems will be sorted out. IPod touch, I give it a B+, it is a first generation product!

Posted by a-maze on September 17, 2007 at 1:31 AM (PDT) Comment 43

Thanks for the review. I've just canceled my order. The screen quality is quite important to me, since I intend to use it primarily as a browser. However, given the narrow scope of view on the screen, it seems as though Apple is shaving costs by using cheaper LCDs and skimping on quality in general. I'll keep my money until something worth buying shows up.

Posted by sam_kang on September 17, 2007 at 2:34 AM (PDT) Comment 44

Whilst iLounge have done a marvellous review here the bias I feel has made them not spend enough time on who this device suits.

Someone who doesn't want to be locked into an expensive phone contract is a key one - very key when one considers the cost of the contract over 2 years.

Someone who doesn't need their whole music library with them - which is everyone who is not a classic owner/wouldbe owner

Someone who wants to touch their music and looks forward to the many updates from Apple to fill in those missing icons. I expect plenty over the next 12 months or so, and only the iPhone and ipod Touch will have them.

Games, well not much for me, but I think they will likely come in time - not something that turns me onto or off an iPod form.

I do hope that the many criticisms of the touch are added to the clamour of voices to see fixes, patches and additions to address screen quality, speed, calender additions etc I am glad iLounge has been so elequent at showing what the touch could have been.

Posted by aswitcher on September 17, 2007 at 2:40 AM (PDT) Comment 45

I don't understand the dissapointment either.

I had an original 20Gb iPod and it annoyed me to have to find all my music through tons of stuff.

Stuff I never listened to.

Also could you consider how this review would fair if the iPhone did not exist?

Juding by the hype, the expectancy and the product innovations I really do feel you have produced a very negative review.

I hope it doens't have any impact on my user expereince when mine arrive.s

Posted by Trunk Guy on September 17, 2007 at 5:19 AM (PDT) Comment 46

I'm keeping my order in for now, but the notes about poorer sound quality and the video/image (poor) quality has me thinking about canceling. I find myself hoping that these issues are defects that might not show up in mine, but with the problems being reported by multiple media sources (and by that I mean that the problems appear in their units, not just a retelling of someone elses experience), my feelings of hope are waning. Especially worrisome to me is the sound quality. I was hoping to get better sound quality than my 5g iPod. What to do....

Posted by sjonke on September 17, 2007 at 5:44 AM (PDT) Comment 47

I would love to see an iPod touch review that doesn't mention the iPhone, or compare the two. Why can't this device be reviewed exclusively on its own merits and flaws? The first page of this review lost me about halfway down because I don't want, or care about, the iPhone. I have a phone I love, I have non-AT&T service I'm very happy with. For me the iPhone doesn't offer the right phone stuff. With that in mind, I came to this review expecting talk about an iPod, not about why it's not an iPhone. At best the iPhone comparison should be a footnote. It certainly shouldn't be a comparison.

Posted by Horatio Positronic on September 17, 2007 at 5:49 AM (PDT) Comment 48

Thanks for the comprehensive review. I've decided to stick with my pre-order as my needs are mostly music and WiFi in that order. I will return it if I get a bad screen, but video wasn't a big driver in my decision.

Posted by Aceon6 on September 17, 2007 at 5:57 AM (PDT) Comment 49

But you know some off market company is gonna come out with larger battery's to replace the ones in it currently and then there's also the possibility of replacing the hard-drive it's complicated but possible.

So i dont know i think i'm gonna get one the day it comes out to the mass-market. Cause i know apple will come out with a larger one later on but i can always sell the first one to some fan boy who collects all the ipods and buy the new updated one or they might just get enough complaints and people will get free or a lowered price upgrade to the larger one. who knows! smile wishfull thinking!

Posted by iTouch iPlayed iBought on September 17, 2007 at 6:12 AM (PDT) Comment 50

While I agree with the concerns regarding the screen and some of the omissions compared to the iPhone I don't think the review as a whole is justifiable.

The entire review is written on the basis of a comparison with the iPhone which I don't think is a valid one. The iPod is neither a PDA nor is it a cell phone. Most of the functionality that you lament would indeed be useless because of the cellphone sitting in the pocket adjacent to the user's iPhone.

Your criticisms regarding the lack of storage and battery life don't hold up either. Granted some of the thinness could have been sacrificed for greater battery life. But should further compromises in size be made for a hard drive, which then requires an even large battery for comparable performance? I cant help but think that Apple tested such an option and decided that it wasn't feasible.

So if the only acceptable trade off for battery life was flash storage, why isn't there more you ask? Well that is because flash storage is so freakin expensive. Of course it will increase over time, but that is the nature of technology. You seem to act on the assumption that the storage available should continue to increase with no end in sight. I suspect once 80GB was reached, very few users had any reason to go beyond this let alone 30gb considering the average user fails to understand that iTunes encodes at 128kbps. In the review you even simultaneously criticise the storage and praise the ability to manually manage, defeating your own arguments re 'library in your pocket'.

I have a 20GB ipod and a 25gb library and recently started trimming it in anticipation of the Touch. I found that at most I regularly listen to at max 10Gb of my library leaving the remaining storage space to rotate between various TV shows, movies and podcasts. I don't have time to watch a whole TV series in one day so why do I care if it doesn't fit?

Sorry guys, I love the site, but I just think your off the mark on this one. Your preconceptions and expectations are skewed too much by the iPhone and that you fail to understand the average user.

Posted by trmac on September 17, 2007 at 6:59 AM (PDT) Comment 51

"The entire review is written on the basis of a comparison with the iPhone which I don't think is a valid one."

Not even slightly true. The point of the review is that the iPod touch fails to be a worthwhile "top of the line" iPod -- namely, that it sits behind even the iPod nano on battery, the iPod classic on audio, sound quality, capacity, etc, and that the screen is cheap and problematic.

"In the review you even simultaneously criticise the storage and praise the ability to manually manage, defeating your own arguments re 'library in your pocket'."

Not at all. Manual management just means that you can add and remove audio or video files at any time as you desire. There may be times you want to keep something on an iPod that you don't keep in your media library. You might want to add files from a second or third computer/library, too.

"You seem to act on the assumption that the storage available should continue to increase with no end in sight."

No. The classic got this right and the iPod touch got it wrong. Video players demand more storage. 8GB is fine for a cheap iPod nano where music will likely be the emphasis (for now), but a device that exists to serve as a video player needs the space to store videos without screwing around all the time. If flash prices come down in a year or two, the story may be different, but for now, a hard disk and bigger battery are the right way to go.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on September 17, 2007 at 7:23 AM (PDT) Comment 52

OK from what I've read, there is no mention of any streaming audio/video support? I know the iTouch is not a PDA, but if you are going to have wifi and a web browser shouldn't you support some of the features that people use the web for? I use my pocketPC to listen to streaming audio and I would have considered buying the iTouch if it would allow me to do that.

Posted by wongkarcanada on September 17, 2007 at 8:35 AM (PDT) Comment 53
 <  1 2 3 >
related reviews

Apple TV adds FOX Now, CNBC channels
Popular Bitcoin wallet app Blockchain returns to App Store
Report: Apple Stores to support carrier early iPhone upgrade programs
Report: Apple buying talk radio app Swell
Congress passes bill to legalize phone unlocking
Bose sues Beats over noise-canceling patents
iLounge Game Spotlight: Modern Combat 5: Blackout
Apps of the Week: ShipAntics, Modern Combat 5, This American Life 3.0 + more
Report: Apple could launch own mobile wallet this fall
Report: Apple ‘tentatively’ plans mid-September iPhone event

related reviews

Kenu Airframe+ Portable Car Mount
Incipio offGRID Smart Bluetooth Low Energy-Enabled Portable 6000mAh Backup Battery
Divoom Voombox Travel Rugged Portable Wireless Speaker
Logitech protection+ for iPhone 5/5s and +trip
Beats Powerbeats2 Wireless
Incipio Steno Ultra-Thin Bluetooth Keyboard Folio for iPad Air
OtterBox Resurgence Power Case for iPhone 5/5s
Gumdrop Cases FoamTech Case for iPad Air
Ztylus Camera Case + RV-2 Revolver Lens for iPhone 5/5s
JBL Synchros Reflect In-Ear Sport Headphones

related reviews

What’s New in iTunes 12
iLounge Picks: Five Great Summer Party Speakers
Editorial: Endings And Beginnings
Live From CE Week 2014: Brand New iPad, iPhone + Mac Accessories!
What’s New In iOS 8 For iPad, iPhone + iPod touch
iLounge Multi-Editorial: WWDC 2014’s iOS 8, OS X Yosemite + More
The Complete Guide to Apple TV Channels
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad, 2001 to 2010
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad: 2011 to Today
Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks