Irock! Wireless Music Adapter | iLounge

Reviews

1

iPodlounger, Geoff R. emailed us with comments on using the Irock FM transmitter vs. cassette adapter:

I read your review of the iRock FM wireless transmitter. I bought one last weekend at CompUSA for $30. I had previously purchased my Radio Shack cassette adapter and had used this somewhat successfully. The iRock does have some transmission issues and seems to have some high frequency rolloff. CCrane is gearing up to offer a digital stereo transmitter for $99 that may be much better.

But the cassette adapter has had an annoying issue with the mechanism in the cassette clutching and unclutching in the player. So there are breaks in the playback as the cassette attempts to seat itself best... this is frustrating. It does not always manifest itself, so I am not quite sure what causes it other than some kind of mechanical feedback that the player interprets as a request to eject... my unit does not fully eject, though, it just reseats itself. Have you seen this with your player? I am using a Chrysler Caravan OEM stereo.

Posted by Dennis Lloyd in Irvine, CA on February 9, 2003 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

2

This thing stinks. You must constantly change which frequency it's broadcasting over, and even doing that won't guarantee decent sound. Don't waste your money on this. I'm looking into other options.

Posted by Max on September 2, 2003 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

3

Its alright, but i have both and id say go with the iTrip

Posted by Zach on November 7, 2003 at 6:48 AM (PDT)

4

I've been using one for about 2 weeks now in my '02 Camry. The reception is poor and static-ridden most of the time if I leave the device on my front seat. But I devised a method that works well. My Camry has the FM antenna built into the rear window glass, and the Irock seems to work best when it has a clear line-of-sight to the rear window. So I bought a 3.5mm audio extension cord, and draped the irock over the back of the passenger seat, tucking the cord under the headrest so that it wouldn't fall, and plugging the other end of the cord into the iPod (as a bonus, the iPod is much easier to move around without the big, tentacle-like Irock hanging off of it). Now the static is gone, but it's easy to forget the unit is on since you can't easily see the power light anymore. I already wiped out one set of AAA's this way. The included cigarette adapter is pretty much worthless as it adds even more noise, even if it were long enough to reach.

Anyway, the sound quality is decent, though I mostly listen to audio books in the car so it's hard to judge properly. For the approximately $40 I spend (including the cost of the extension cord), there are probably better transmitters out there.

Posted by NewIpodUser on December 31, 2003 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

5

Be careful with the on/off button. Its easy to accidently turn it on and drain the batteries.

Regarding holding the irock for better reception. I too found this works. Anyone know a way to simulate this affect without actaully having to hold it?

Posted by JerryWojo on January 3, 2004 at 2:23 AM (PDT)

6

yea, you get someone else to hold it. smile actually, i think i saw a $69 Monster WirelessFM transmitter that is supposed to be better on amazon. maybe will try it. or better yet, wait till alpine releases the ipod compatible decks.

Posted by yaya on February 10, 2004 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

7

I finally had an aux input installed in the back of my car stereo ($100 for parts and labor at a decent garage), and it has made all the difference. Constant, clean sound, and no extra devices and batteries to contend with. Don't waste your money on FM transmitters. They all stink.

Posted by Max on February 10, 2004 at 6:15 PM (PDT)

8

I think the irock blows. Took it back and got the SIIG wireless audio link pro. It has better range, more stations and a usb power port(included). plays on my stereo from 15 feet away flawlessly

Posted by paulwa on April 4, 2004 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

9

I got this from radio shak for our boat cause we dont want to break our CD changer, (we did before with too much use)

and it sucks you know what

staticy quality- other radio stations bleed into the broadcast

i returned it immediatly

Posted by Nathan on July 28, 2004 at 5:17 PM (PDT)

10

I have the first iRock without the DC in jack. So I am stuck wtih battery power and horrible sound. This thing has way too much static.

Can anyone recommend a great FM transmitter?

Posted by wickedsteve on August 10, 2004 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

11

I bought this same device under the name SI link... it sucks! tons of static and there is no place to put it when you are in the car.

I guess its time to head to the apple store and buy an iTrip

Posted by matt on August 14, 2004 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

12

I've had mine for about 3 months and was completely happy. I used it hard and it totally took the abuse well, but now it doesn't work unless its positioned perfectly. The cigarette adapter option is nice. I've used this on my boat and car without many problems until now. It does sometimes turn on in a bag and drain batteries, which sucks.
I just bought the Belkin iTrip and it's horrible compared to the iRock. Just my 2 cents.

Posted by Jay on September 24, 2004 at 1:35 PM (PDT)

13

The irock was the first transmitter I bought. I got it when I got my 40g 4g iPod. It works really well! I wanted to try new AirPlay transmitter, because it was really small and I heard that it was really powerful, and unlike the irock it does not use batteries. So I got mine this weekend and IT IS REALLY BAD!!!! To say the least. So I would recommend the irock to anybody.

Posted by airforcejane in Texas on February 5, 2005 at 11:29 PM (PDT)

14

I've had the iRock for about 3 years now (pre-iPod days). I used it with a Creative Nomad Jukebox in a car with a cassette deck that was well worn so it had poor sound quality. At the time, it was better than nothing with a basic mp3 player. The transmission quality is ok, but IMHO the iTrip is far superior...

Posted by slothdude on April 3, 2005 at 6:07 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.