Marware SportSuit Convertible | iLounge

Reviews

1

Love this case! It is a welcome complement to my iPodArmor case. Both are well-made cases which I trust to protect my iPod (the iPodArmor design has already been put to the test). Truth of the matter is that the iPod is quite a plucky little thing; I've dropped it "naked" before, from waist-height, and it's done fine -- but these cases are sure to do their part protecting the unit.

This Marware SportsSuit Convertible is real cool-looking, and I agree that it is a well-made product. I especially like the sewn-in straps on the back which I much prefer over any belt clip. The neoprene is much, much, much thicker than the iPodArmor's rather shockingly thin neoprene lining, so that is a definite plus with me. While I second all the highlights of the reviewer's observations, I don't agree that the clamshell lid is "bulky" at all -- and it certainly needn't be "detached" in order for the iPod to be removed; it merely needs to be flipped open! I also did not find any "glue" on the neoprene. It is indeed a well-designed and well-crafted product, and I am very happy with the purchase. Having tried both the iPodArmor and this SportSuit Convertible, my ideal case would be this SportSuit Convertible in aluminum hardshell like the iPodArmor! That would be, for me, the perfect combination!

Posted by David C. in Astoria on May 11, 2003 at 11:55 AM (PDT)

2

I would comment that after a month's use the rubber on the sides is starting to fray where i've held it while inserting/removing the iPod.

Still a good case, though. the two straps on the bag are great for securing the iPod to odd things (they use it for the arm strap, but my bike's stem for instance). Haven't found another case like that.

Posted by David R. on July 17, 2003 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

3

Do not buy this case. The clip is unreliable. I lost my ipod in a NYC cab. Cheaply made!

Posted by peter on August 4, 2003 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

4

the padding is a real lifesaver (for the pod). mine has hit the deck several times, and the thick rubber around the edges has kept the ipod absolutely pristine.

on the negative side, the reason the pod has hit the deck is that the slimline clip that comes with the case just doesn't grab as securely as it should. it's fallen off just walking down the street! perhaps the swiveling belt clip is more secure?

Posted by J. Jars on August 18, 2003 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

5

I just bought the sportsuit convertible.

Likes: Seems to fit very securely in the case. Looks relatively sturdy.

Dislikes: Buttons are sometimes a little hard to press since they are recessed quite a bit beneath the plastic. Convertible cover makes it very bulky. Not sure how often I'll use it. Maybe just while traveling.

Posted by Rich on August 25, 2003 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

6

This is the best case I've had so far. While I agree with other posters that the clip is a little flimsy, it is still much more reliable than the one Apple supplies on their case. I use the armband strap myself, which makes the iPod into a slightly bulky wristwatch/jogging radio.

Posted by jesse garson on August 28, 2003 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

7

I was give the SportSuit convertible in black, along with my Ipod for my birthday. I likes this case muchly, it does a great job of keeping my Ipod protected and free of fingerprints. wink The clip is good and tight, which is a very Good Thing, since I ice skate with my Ipod. Unfortunately, my arms are so slender, it was difficult to get the armband adjusted down enough to fit properly, so i'm kind of stuck with letting my Ipod ride in a cargo pocket, or using the clip.

Posted by Donna O'sin on September 8, 2003 at 12:02 PM (PDT)

8

This is the best case I could have ever imagined. I havent really even touched the clip that came with the iPod, I purchased the swivel clip, there is no way that sucker will come off of my belt. It is nice also because I can just slide it off with the press of the button, change songs, and slide it back on, quick and seemless. The clip has not failed or given any indication of being unsecure. This is enough, but if youre really paranoid, get the leather swivel clip which you slide your belt through. You could also use no clip, and slide your belt through the straps (though people may look at you weird if youre taking off your belt every time you want to play with your iPod). The front is a little bulky, but worth the protection and the storage, I always wear it with the front on, I can fit both the headphones and remote perfectly into it. The front plastic doesnt seem to make the buttons and scroll wheel too indented to press easily, I have no problems using them, maybe it is just the other sized iPods? The front plastic covers the entire front except for the buttons and scroll wheel and my 3G 30GB iPod fits perfectly in it, no scratches, strong, protective, and secure! I love it, couldnt be happier.

Haven't noticed any glue either raspberry

Posted by James on September 13, 2003 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

9

these reviews are great! they really help, thanks!

Posted by sarah on September 27, 2003 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

10

Can't say I like this case. The clear plastic scratched the front of my 3G 15 Gb like crazy, that, and it's a real pain getting the iPod out. I don't know if the other reviewers just leave their pod in the case all the time, but I like to take mine out to charge at night. I'm just glad the store let me return it.

Posted by S M Korzdorfer on October 9, 2003 at 3:57 PM (PDT)

11

I have just received a Marware 3G Sportsuit case in red. It is going straight back to Apple tomorrow. It is awful:

- Really bad, messy, asymetrical stitching
- Taking it out 2 times has put quite bad scratches into the white front of my iPod. These are quite noticable
- It just doesn't seem to fit right. I've spent ages trying to line up the pod in the case. The buttons and jogwheel look a really messy fit under the plastic

Why does a company spend such time and effort developing such a beautiful product as the iPod and then sell such an appalling case to put it in?

Posted by Sam on November 10, 2003 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

12

Funny the last two posts didnt' like the case. I used the case that originally came with the ipod for 2 weeks and it was awful. After switching to the Marware case about 2 weeks ago, I'm so happy! I don't use the lid, as it does add quite a bit of bulk to the pod. The case is also a little more bulky then some alternatives, but I feel like it is more safe that way. I also use the lid when strapped to my arm for working out. I don't want some muscle head hitting it. As far as the clips go, I would never trust a clip on the outside. I usually clip it inside my pocket, so if it falls off, it only falls right into my pocket. Overall, I'd highly reccommed this case.

Posted by Kess on November 11, 2003 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

13

DO NOT BUY THIS EVIL CASE!! - It's a scratching machine. It seems to be wither the stitching, or the edges of the clear plactic inside. It noticably ate into a corner of the white plasitc on my iPod just taking it in and out twice, along with making a (thankfully) small couple of scratches on the display! It's also very difficult to slide on and off -even the smaller 20GB Pod I have is a struggle.

Going straight back to the Apple Store with this awful "unprotector"!

Posted by BillyBob on November 29, 2003 at 11:59 AM (PDT)

14

18 months ago I bought the Marware sleeve for my "old" iPod. Now that I purchased the latest iPod, I am planning to buy another Marware sleeve (now called Sport Suit).

Here is why:
-++- Excellent protection: my iPod fell very hard on the floor many times while camping, travelling, running through airports, etc. No damage to the iPod except for two small identations at the back of the iPod, probably from the clip. I doubt any other available sleeves would have protected my iPod as the Marware sleeve did.
-+- The clip is strong, but it is only a clip, so common sense should prevail
-++- I never take out the iPod off the main sleeve (can't see why people would unless to connect to speakers? there is no need to take it out to charge it)
--++- The sleeve was well made to begin with (the other person who mentioned bad stitching etc perhaps had a lemon), and it still looks very good after 18 months and much abuse.
--++--I love the pouch to store my earphones (and now the remote that came with my 10G)
--++-- I like the flexibility of using the cover or not depending on where I am and what I do, and how indiscreet I want my iPod to be.
---- It is true that inside glue sticks to the iPod in two places: on the lower left and bottom edge of the aluminum casing. it is sticky enough that a light rubbing with my fingers is not achieving much.

My husband also purchased one at about the same time. His has been much less abused that mine but he is very happy with it. He is not here so I cannot check if he has a glue effect.

In sum, this is the only sleeve I trust for my new iPet.

Posted by Danielle on December 2, 2003 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

15

AVOID This Case!!
Great Design.
Sucky Craftsmanship.

After 5 minutes use the sports strap all but fell apart. The "convertible" cover is coming unstitched. The seams are not straight and in some points twist back on itself. It looks like a kindergardener stitched it. In addition to the poor quality, It scratched my Ipod screen, the white plastic front and the metal on the back. Plus, it splooged glue all over the bottom corner of my Ipod. Hopefully the Apple Store won't give me too much of a hassle retuning it. Again Avoid it even if it was a gift...mine was.

Posted by tekn0ph1sh in Orlando, FL on December 26, 2003 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

16

i totally agree with tekn0phish's review. while it could have been a great case, the quality and craftsmanship is so poor that it seems like a bad joke. the iPod screen is a rectangle, so why is it that no matter how i adjust the Marware case the area surrounding the iPod screen looks like a parallelogram? it cuts off the top corner so i can't see the battery level. poor, poor quality.

another hilarious quality/design issue is that the convertible cover is attached by velcro. however there is a tab that goes over the top of the case that keeps the iPod in place - and this uses the same velcro strip as the cover. so when you try to put the cover on it never really goes on all the way because the tab is underneath it using part of the velcro strip.

i was really hoping this would be a good case and in fact bought it along with the lanyard and the swivel clip - the cost with delivery came to around $60. I would return it if I could but my wife already threw out the packaging - so i'm stuck with it until I find a case I know I'll love. I guess i should take a trip to the Apple store.

avoid this case like the plague.

Posted by tu11ym0n on December 31, 2003 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

17

This case is horrible it scratches like crazy. Plus the fact the plastic covers the buttons and you cant even use them. There is nothing good about this case!!!!!

Posted by Mitchel Elling on January 3, 2004 at 6:13 PM (PDT)

18

The greatest thing about this case is that it protected my Ipod when I dropped it. I also like that it has a little compartment to store the headphones. I find it inconvenient, though, having to take the Ipod out of the case to connect it to the dock. I also have to continually reposition the case in order to plut the firewire into the bottom of it to charge it and to plug the earphones into it. Forget the armband the comes with it....I couldn't even figure out how that worked???

Posted by Midgie on January 4, 2004 at 8:41 PM (PDT)

19

The sportsuit convertible scratched my ipod!!! Also the buttons and screen don't line up properly. I heard it's a better fit for the 10 and 20GB models, but I have the 3rd Gen 40GB model and it required a lot of effort to get it in there (not to mention pulling it out). I was rather disappointed with the scratches, but I was luckily able to return my ipod and get a new one. Now I need to get rid of this case. Great!

Posted by Anthor13 on January 7, 2004 at 1:00 AM (PDT)

20

I bought a 3G case and it is awsome. I may just be 13, But I know this case is a GOOD buy! Yeah, the buttons don't alway's line up; and yeah, it does stratch it up a bit, But who will notice when you have the case on? I LOVE this case. And I don't really mind the lid, beacause who in thiere right mind mind would put 300 easy-to-damage , or more, $ in thiere pocket?

Posted by Thomas on January 7, 2004 at 6:03 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.