Marware SportSuit Convertible | iLounge

Reviews

21

I just bought my 10 gig iPod yesterday, and the Marware SportSuit Convertible case today. It is not easy to get the ipod in the case, but that is a good thing because it will not every slip out. The first thing I did is use the armband to strap it to my arm, and went to the gym. I lifted weights and jogged without a problem. The armband is comfortable and absorbs sweat so it does not slip down. From now on I do not plan on taking it out of the case, I can charge it in the case through the plug opening in the bottom. The convertible cover is OK, it is nice to have storage for headphones, but I do not like how much bulk it adds. I have taken it out of the case three times, and have found no scratches or glue. I would recommend buying this case.

Posted by David on January 19, 2004 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

22

I agree with David on this one. I bought a 20 gig iPod and had absolutely no problems. The glue that has been spoken of in previous reviews was not found, and Ive taken it out of the case and placed it back in many times without scratches. For the 20 gig model, the buttons line up perfectly.

The iPod is difficult to get in the case at first, but the material stretches (on purpose, its like nylon) in order to grab the device and keep a tight squeeze on it so there is no way it can fall out. Every output spot (including charger/firewire port and headphone/remote port) are accessible while the iPod is in the case. The only drawback with this case is that you can't put the iPod in its dock while it is in the case, but to my knowledge, there isn't a case that allows you to do that anyway.

The Marware Sportsuit Convertible was clearly made with two main ideas in mind: protection and accessibility. It is absolutely outstanding for those who travel with their iPod. Definitely worth the buy.

Posted by Travis on January 24, 2004 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

23

I just bought a SportSuit Convertible, so it's still quite new. However, I've played with it enough to know that 1) I have had not problems lining up the buttons or scrollwheel or jacks with their related openings in the case; 2) I have carefully felt around inside the case, and can find nothing "scratchy", nor do I see any signs of anything like that on the case; 3) I find no indication of any of the "glue" inside the case that others are reporting.

Yes, the cover is bulky -- but if you want an easy place to carry your headphones or remote, what's your option? And yes, the clip SEEMS to be a bit weak. (I haven't had the time to run with it, knock it around a bit, etc.) But I said the very same thing about the "little plastic cover" over the memory card on my digital camera -- and it's still there, in perfect condition, after 4 years.

I've dropped my iPod several times in the past -- sometimes in the original Apple case, and sometimes flat out on the hard concrete. It was the last time -- when it stopped working, and I had to have it repaired -- that I decided on the SportSuit Convertible.

Posted by Frank on January 27, 2004 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

24

I bought my case after using a cheaper case that didn't allow any access to the buttons and hense wasn't satisifactory. I love it. It provides good protection to my IPOD and so far I haven't have any problems with the clip. I also like the fact that I have full access without having to remove the IPOD from the case. The only improvement I'd suggest is the rubber thing on the bottom to protect the docking port. It's too hard to get it in well. Other than that, as I said, I love it and would purchase it again.

Posted by sarrett on January 30, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

25

I don't know about the scratching - I got the Marware Convertable for the Bicycle attachment. Let me tell you, they need to install more redundancy to prevent the case from falling off the handlebars! If you bike in a city, and in my case, the New York Metro area, you will hit a bump creating enough shock to send your iPod rolling down the street. How Marware doesn't know this is beyong me: didn't they test the system first?

Posted by Kevin Dailey on February 3, 2004 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

26

this case is great. i cant find any 'excess glue' that there was so much complaining about. as for the fit, you do have to wiggle the ipod around alittle, but thats expected as this is a semi-soft case. the lid is great for protection. the added bulk is added protection, if you fall on your ipod, say snowboarding, NOTHING is going to happen to it inside that case. i'm not sure about the whole "case scratching the screen" issue. screen scratches can come from just about anything anyway, its a fact of life.

Posted by Nate Eichelberger on February 4, 2004 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

27

I bought this case as well thinking that it would protect my ipod, was I ever wrong. It has completely scratched up my once pristine LCD display. I have no idea what to do. I would recommend getting a different case maybe one that doesn't scratched your nice expensive investment. Worst $40 I ever spent.

Posted by nick schuier on February 7, 2004 at 8:43 AM (PDT)

28

I have had the case for about 1.5months, its better than the origional but honestly i don't think by much. My LCD screen seems to be getting scratched, and the clip does not work well at all. I walk with it on my pocket and it would almost fall off. use it for running/exercise and that is about all..

Posted by Brandon Langley on February 8, 2004 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

29

I bought this case because of the armband. I had my doubts as to how it might fare as a general case for my IPOD. Well, all I can say is that I am extremely dissapointed. My particular unit came with the small tab that holds the IPOD in the unit stiched off center. If you install it straight away, then you can't put the headphones in. In addition, the armband that came with this unit (the main reason why I bought it) is not assembled correctly. According to the pictures in the Marware manual, it is completely opposite of what they say it is supposed to be like (type and postition of the buckles). You can't set it up like it says in the manual. I have had to jerry rig it to get it to work. I took it back to the place I bought it from to show them and they were completely confounded with it as well. I had so much hope for this case but it has let me down. I also don't like the fact that the front screen protection exhibits the "sweat" look of sticking to the screen as if it has liquid underneath it. Also, the tab that keeps the IPOD in the case does not stick straight down when you press down on the velcro to secure it. This results in it jabbing at our arm and irritating the skin. I can't remedy this other than cutting the top part of the tab off. I don't want to do this as need to return it. Overall, this was a good concept, but poor implementation. Even with the lack of an armband, the ####/Iskin EXO 2 trounces this case tenfold. I gave it a chance, but I could not overcome it's shortcomings.

Posted by Pumi on February 16, 2004 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

30

By the way, I forgot to mention. The reason why everyone's screen is getting scratched with this case is that the clear plastic that covers it has some give to it that will allow it to seperate away from the front of the IPOD. The actual plastic is not scratching the case but rather abrasive dust etc that can get underneath the plastic in front. It will scratch when you pull it out of this case.

Posted by Pumi on February 16, 2004 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

31

I'm a little worried about the flimsy clip and scratching, but I keep the iPod and the case meticously clean. And it's going to get scratched. So I'm not to worried about it. What I love about this case is that it feels like I could chuck my iPod at a wall in this case with no consequences. I also enjoy the headphones pocket, which makes cable management expoentially easier. I had not been using my remote because the approx. 7 feet of wires was too much to deal with. Now I can stuff almost all of the remote wire in the pouch, and have the remote hang just outside the case. That way I don't have to open it as much. All in all, I think it's a good case.

Posted by Taco John on March 18, 2004 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

32

i jus got my case. I don't know about all those posts that said there was glue in the case; none at all in mine. Seems very well made and constructed. The lid is awesome as i have somehwere to keep my earbuds and remote without having them dangle around. The armband i cool too. The only downside i guess would be the rubber sides are starting to fray, and there also not sewn and aligned properly.

Posted by tkomabob on March 23, 2004 at 8:57 AM (PDT)

33

I bought this case for the arm-band and I'm very happy with it. It fits comfortably without any hassles or annoyances.

I've never bothered with the belt clip (I've owned my iPod through fall and winter... which means it's nestled in a jacket pocket, or thrown into my bookbag (with case cover in place). Who knows what summer will tell when it comes to this case!

My iPod does have scratches, although those came before the purchase of this case...

it's a snug case, so taking the iPod out for docking is a five minute job, unless you just plug it in via the rubber flap at the bottom...

basically, I'm happy with this case. It's better than the one that came with the iPod.

Posted by lalo on March 25, 2004 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

34

HORRIBLE FOR RUNNING, NO SUSPENSION! I don't know if anyone has actually tried running with this supposed "sports" case, but there's no way anyone can do sports in this.

The belt clip? Forget it. The clip is so flimsy and small that the ipod is top-heavy, pulls on your shorts & flops around. Anything with an elastic waist is merely pulled down by the ipod. I can only wear it with jeans. Hmm. I don't run in jeans.

The arm band? AWFUL! first of all, i'm a thin female, and the armband is way too big, not adjustable to fit a slim female arm. but even if you make this thing really tight, the ipode just wobbles and flops around all over the place. i've used sony sports walkmans all my life & the armbands keep them in place.

Not only is the flopping ipod highly annoying, it's highly damaging. Rememner folks, this is a hard drive with a moving needle (laser). Yes it has a 25 min delay, but it's still delicate, and the fact that marware wants us all to let our ipods flop around like this -- to the tune of $40 -- is terrible.

THIS THING SUCKS. And ditto on all the dirt that gets trapped between the plastic & the ipod. Why doesn't Apple make a case for its own product?

Posted by Ali on April 7, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

35

Just got my Sportsuit Convertible and took it for a first test spin in the gym. Despite some of the negative comments above, I find it to be well designed. The construction appears solid/durable. I bought this thing for the armband functionality, and it works great in that capacity. The armband is comfortable and easy to deal with. (Can't comment on the belt clip as I won't be using it.) I like the front cover w/ the headphone storage pouch - true, it's a bit bulky but the functionality is good and because of its added thickness, I am seriously NOT WORRIED about throwing this thing into my locker or gym bag. I also like the fact that I can leave my iPod in this case while charging. All in all I'm very satisfied with my purchase. Will post back after a few weeks' use as welll... but so far, so good.

Posted by erockerboy on April 29, 2004 at 7:04 PM (PDT)

36

The only reasone that this case will scratch your screen is. If dirt gets trapped inside or when you are stuffing your ipod into it. you forget to get the velcro flap out of the way. and it rubs across the screen and every thing in it's way. other than that, with a little care this is a great case !

Posted by whitesalmon on May 18, 2004 at 8:53 PM (PDT)

37

OKAY....so... will the case scratch my ipod or not?

What is the best case out there i can buy?

I just got my NEW ipod, and i'm lovin' it, courtesy of my wife for an anniversary gift. (go wife!)

i wanna make sure it stays new./

how is the iskin evo2?

Any other recommendations?

thanx!

~john huie

check out the best funk band in the land, [url=http://www.soul-kitchen.org!]http://www.soul-kitchen.org![/url]

Posted by soul kitchen www.soul-kitchen.org on May 26, 2004 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

38

I have just purched the device and i love it. All the people who talk about scratches, there iPods will get scratched worse if they don't use a case. This is the best case for the iPod. Yes it is bulky but it is protective. I realy like the pocket in the cover for storage. Overall this is a great product. All those people who said it was bad are crazy.

Posted by Aaron on May 29, 2004 at 5:39 PM (PDT)

39

I just bought the Sportcase Convertible (black), and I am pretty satisfied with it. The reason why I chose this case is because of the following attributes.

1) PROTECTION; the iPod fits inside with little movement, and is surrounded by soft cushions, rubber bumpers and a screen protector. The storage lid adds even more protection.

2) STORAGE; it is a little bulky, but serves its purpose.

3) VERSATILITY; the lid is optional and there are different types of clips available.

4) LOOKS; it's a huge contrast to the sleekness of the naked iPod, but has that sporty look and feel.

The only things I'm worried about are the "glue" issue and the longevity of the velcro.

Overall, it is a great buy for what it accomplishes.

Posted by volts528 in San Leandro, CA on June 5, 2004 at 2:48 PM (PDT)

40

Do not buy this product. Caused scratches to almost the entire front side of my iPod. Alignment between the case/display and buttons is way off. VERY difficult to get the iPod in/out of the case - in fact, I had ripped off the top latch of the case when trying to put in my iPod.

Posted by NoVaBoy on June 7, 2004 at 5:19 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.