Sony Fontopia MDR-EX70LP Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

Will these stay in your ears while jogging? I am trying to find something that will provide comfort first and overall audio performance second. There is no mention made of the various activities indulged during the wearing of these earphones.

Posted by Curtis in Oklahoma, USA on May 8, 2003 at 11:09 AM (PDT)

2

These are by far my favorite headphones. Amazing sound (better, in my opinion, than my previous Etymotic ER6s and ER4Ps), just the right amount of physical noise reduction and the white version looks like they were made for my ipod. I've bought these for everyone I know that has an ipod.

Posted by Eliot Jacobsen in Utah, USA on May 10, 2003 at 8:18 AM (PDT)

3

Are replacement rubber earpieces available?

Posted by scott malito on May 10, 2003 at 7:36 PM (PDT)

4

I have them and love 'em. They will stay in your ears when you are working out and they block out so much ambient noise you will be in your own world.

Posted by Greg on May 16, 2003 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

5

These earphones are great, basically inexpensive compared to other sets not nearly as good, and the white and grey color of the earphones match perfectly with the Ipod. I purchased these for $45 on Ebay from Hong Kong.......a fellow by the name of Ringo Lau. Shipping was super fast and I had the in my hand within 7 days. If you have spent that much money on your Ipod, do them justice and get these earphones for it. You will not regret it!!!!

Posted by Gustavo A. Luciani in Miami, FL on May 20, 2003 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

6

review sounds great and there was a A+ review in MensJournal this month regarding these. I picked up the 71's in white/silver w00t!

Posted by JNalpak in NYC on May 21, 2003 at 4:43 AM (PDT)

7

I'm willing to admit that it may be just me, and my ears, which do not take kindly to ear buds in general -- but, I found these to be shrill and very unpleasant, and a waste of my $50.

Posted by WayneB on May 23, 2003 at 8:29 AM (PDT)

8

I cant believe you think these earbuds sound "shrill",shrill compared to what?And the fit couldnt be better,with the 3 differant sized rubber "buds" included,you cant go wrong for $50.
P.S. I found the answer to my own question earlier in this thread,replacement rubber "buds" go for approx. $4 each at the Apple store.

Posted by scott malito on May 23, 2003 at 10:57 PM (PDT)

9

I just bought these and I love them. I also own the bose noise cancelling quiet acoustic headphones ($300), but I wanted something more portable as I usually listen while traveling. I wasn't ready to spend another $300, so I bought the best value I thought I could find. These are the best $50 you can spend on headphones of this style. I would have paid $100 for them. They are more comfortable than ANY type of headphones i have ever used--they're even comfortable to fall asleep in (in the cab, on the train, on the plane, even in bed!). Going from the bose to these was not a big step down. I won't say they are comparable but they are as close as i have come. The genuinely cancel a ton of noise while being really light weight and ultra comfy. Bass response is awesome--Something I really need in headphones. Audiophiles may notice things I didn't, but I guess they can spend $300. For $50 bucks, you can't go wrong.

Posted by Andrew Borstein on May 30, 2003 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

10

I just bought the White MDR-ex 71 SL on [url=http://www.warehouse123.com]http://www.warehouse123.com[/url] Excellent sound, excellent service. Highly recommended.
I use mine while biking and wind noise is acceptable up to 30MpH (I don't go faster wink

The white ones sound a lot better than the black ones!
The short lead is also a blessing icm the iPod remote control.

Be sure to tell Joe "hi" for me.

Posted by Michiel on June 22, 2003 at 1:46 AM (PDT)

11

You can get the new EX71SL's from [url=http://www.bluetin.com]http://www.bluetin.com[/url]

They ship worldwide and are very good. They come in white with a short cord so suit the iPod perfect, where I got mine from :]

Posted by David on July 3, 2003 at 3:04 AM (PDT)

12

What is the difference between the 70 model and the new 71?

Posted by Scott on July 3, 2003 at 8:37 AM (PDT)

13

there really isn't a difference except that the 71's are like the asian version...furterhmore i dunt think there is any difference in performance between white and black buds~

Posted by Stevo on July 9, 2003 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

14

White Avail Here:

http://www.minidisco.com/mdr-ex70slw.html

Posted by Bill on July 18, 2003 at 7:10 AM (PDT)

15

There are some Panasonics out that are trying to compete. Their low frequency response is 5Hz. Has anyone tried these out in comparison with the Sonys? I probably wouldn't bother, but the Panasonics only cost $30.

Posted by Slicey on July 18, 2003 at 7:50 AM (PDT)

16

I LOVE THESE! They are so incredibly comfortable! I have the black ones (I use minidisc right now), but I'm gonna get the *new* EX71s in white when I get my iPod! Go for them, you won't be disappointed, unlike the wannabe Aiwas or Panasonics. I've heard the immitators are horrible.

Posted by Rob on July 28, 2003 at 4:17 PM (PDT)

17

I bought these... they suck.

Posted by Stevey on August 11, 2003 at 1:48 PM (PDT)

18

I think they are great. I could never go back to the earbuds my iPod came with.

Posted by ESS on August 11, 2003 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

19

I just got the EX71SL (in black) and they are incredible - I hear things I never heard before on tracks that I've been listening to for a long time. Very comfortable to wear though I may give the Etymotic ER6 a go, or maybe even the white ones - Michiel, can the white ones really sound better than the black?!

Posted by yinyang on August 14, 2003 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

20

EX70SL definitly surpasses the Ipod's original ear buds in both cosmetic design and sound quality. It looks very delicate, very detail and fine made. It comes with 3 different sizes of buds; you can always find one size that fits you. Bass response is realy great compare to all other earbuds I had before. I could hear a lot more detail sounds in my music. Treble is not harsh at all.

Sony EX70 has two versions, EX70SL and EX70LP. The difference is short cord vs. long cord. Short cord comes with extention cord. It is perfect for MDs and Ipods 'cuz you won't have long dangling cord any more. You can only find short cord model in asia. Japan and HongKong are two places that you can find EX70SL the easiest. (I got mine from http://www.audiocubes.com/) Each model has black and white colors to choose from.

EX71 is actually EX70's descendant. They look basically the same, except the shape of that little chromium at the back of the buds. The specs look the same to me, too. But I haven't compared the sound quality myself.

And I agree that the white one looks a LOT nicer with ipod than the black one. The color matches perfectly.

Some reviewers mentioned that there's a break-in period for this earbuds. It usually takes about 16 to 24 hours. You just plug it in and let loud music play. Otherwise the bass will sound somewhat muffle.

Score: 10/10 wink

Posted by Sandy on August 18, 2003 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 11 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.