Sony Fontopia MDR-EX70LP Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

21

Dont' buy from warehouse123.com. The service is attrocious. They charge the credit card before they ship and I'm still waiting for these headphones to arrive in the mail after repeatedly telling me it'll arrive in 5-6 days. Well, It's been almost a month.

WARNING: DON"T BUY FROM WAREHOUSE123.COM

Posted by Jane on August 27, 2003 at 6:15 PM (PDT)

22

Just got my black mdr-ex71's and i love them. It took me a little while to realize that the cord from the left to right bud is supposed to go behind your head. (Chinstrap)

The base is adds much more dimension to my music. The highs are nice too. They are amazingly more comfortable than the apple earbuds. I strongly recommend the sonys.

Posted by JF on August 31, 2003 at 11:36 AM (PDT)

23

Got mine right before the weekend. They are great for Dance music and instrumental solo or small band ( Especailly for Saxophone. I could hear it standing out of the band)

But the sound for classical is better on the ipod originals. I asked my friend who sets high end stero systems. He said the "layering" and "definition" is too distict for the Sony, while the ipod one "blends" better. I have no clue on what that means but I guess that explains my impression of them.

Posted by Will on September 1, 2003 at 6:34 AM (PDT)

24

I have the EX-71s in white, and I love them. These are a huge improvement over the stock iPod phones and the other headphone pairs I've attempted to use.

My only knock against these phones is that you end up having to keep replacing them in your ear, as they tend to fall out during a jog or a session on a cardio machine.

I recommend ordering from audiocubes.com. I ordered the phones, got them a week later from Japan. The guys at Audiocubes even correctly updated my order after I e-mailed them, telling the Audiocubes staff that I accidently ordered the black instead of white EX-71s.

Posted by James G. on September 1, 2003 at 4:45 PM (PDT)

25

i just got the EX-71s in white from audiocube.com i almost balked at the $10 shipping charge too, however, delivery from japan was superfast. as for the headphones, i love 'em. great sound, very comfortable. they might be better off losing the chrome clip at the wire junction though because the extra weight tends to tug when jogging, biking, etc.

Posted by bripod on September 2, 2003 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

26

This is a followup comment on my previous one. This baby needs breaking in!!!!

After taking the advice, I left it on with some heavy bassed dance music for about 20 hours and now it sounds great for ALL ranges of music. WOW, I love them!

Posted by Will on September 3, 2003 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

27

just wanted to say that I just bought a pair of these (ex71sl) in black from ecost.com for only $31.99 + $395 handeling and free shipping

Posted by shecky on September 6, 2003 at 1:46 PM (PDT)

28

thats $3.95 handling, obviously smile

Posted by shecky on September 6, 2003 at 1:47 PM (PDT)

29

hey guys, i HIGHLY reccomend [url=http://www.audiocubes.com]http://www.audiocubes.com[/url] to get these. try the new 71 or 51s.

Posted by dasein on September 8, 2003 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

30

I just purchased the white ones from eBay, direct from Hong Kong. They ABSOLUTELY ROCK. No more wimpy bass. No longer necessary to add ANY EQ to the iPod, which for some songs, induces distortion (for the Bass Boost EQ). These are comfortable and well made. Very smooth response, and nice outside noise rejection. I can actually listen to music SOFTER when I'm outside, since these seal out the external noises so well. I couldn't be more pleased.

Posted by Bill on September 10, 2003 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

31

I'm sorry to say, that having had the EX70 and EX71 Sony have in my view radically altered the sound quality. I'm looking for something else.

Posted by felix Krish on September 12, 2003 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

32

Just got my EX71's (white) today, a perfect match to my 30GB iPod. Get them from [url=http://www.audiocubes.com]http://www.audiocubes.com[/url], they shipped them to Canada (east) in 5 days, in bubble-wrap.

Still have to go through the break-in period, but even new they sound better than the original iPod, I'm guessing ebcause they fit so well into your ear (and yet no discomfort - and I've had issues with earbuds for as long as I can remember).

Posted by pendo on September 16, 2003 at 3:29 PM (PDT)

33

Hi everyone,

I own a set of these and the other day when going through security at the airport I lost one of the rubber earphone buds when pulling it out of my pocket for security. I use the smallest of the 3 that it came with. Is anyone willing to sell me their small pair for lets say $5? I'd be willing to trade one of the other sizes also.

I can't seem to find anyone online selling just the rubber ear pieces.

Thanks.

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by Scott on September 16, 2003 at 6:11 PM (PDT)

34

stay away from these earbuds if you plan on using them while you run. its like running with a stethoscope dangling from your ears. they sound great but clearly are only suited for people sitting or maybe walking. i was really disappointed that this wasn't mentioned before i bought them.

Posted by Mac on September 19, 2003 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

35

I own one of these and I used it for my Sony Net MD player. The bass is quite good and a bit strong. The only issue I see in terms of audio quality is the weak mid-range. It has a lot of bass and high-freq. but slightly lacking in the middle ones. As for comfort, it really depends. My experience is that while it does a good job of blocking out all the outside noises, you feel a little "plugged". It's like you can hear every pulsation, throbbing, and pumping inside your body. I enjoy my music, but I also want to be aware of my surroundings sometimes (especially when crossing the street, or whatever) so I am using my iPod headphones instead of this one. If you prefer isolation and a powerful bass, these are perfect. The outside plugs themselves are made of very soft rubber (they are removable and washable), and 3 pairs of different sizes are included. The mini-jack is L-shaped, not like the iPod earphone's straight style jack.

Posted by puggy on September 20, 2003 at 10:14 AM (PDT)

36

If I would produce a device like the ipod, I would put some very cheap, $5 headphones with it for testing purposes, but make the whole thing cheaper, so that everybody can use his favorite headphones without paying for the wrong ones that are supplied with the device (They never suit all tastes, and I never actually saw good ones).

Those (The Sonys) are the best portable earphones I ever had. VERY tiny, good sound (a little bit weak in the middles), no crying children in the train or loud cars to be disturbing the joy. I listen a lot to dub music (-> bass is important), and they are up to this challenge, too.
They never slide around in the ears when you touch the cable, like other headphones, and therefore you don't have to adjust the position all the time for the best sound. Even when they do slide, they normally still stay in place perfectly due to their radially symmetrical design. You can even sleep on them when you have to, they don't really disturb when your ears are resting on the arm!
All in all the best headphones for me, but sound-wise there are slightly better ones, if only by a very narrow degree (bigger Sonys, for example, but they all have less bass, but the whole range is a little more balanced).

Next time (When they are worn out - seems to happen to old headphones) I'll get them in white...

Posted by Mat on September 23, 2003 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

37

someone said ex71 is the asian version of ex70 .. nonsense.

ex71 is a mild cosmetic update to ex70, hence the nearness of the numbers. ex70 has been around for a long while, sony probably wants to give it a marketing and image boost by creating a successor. the specs are the same.


shop.bluetin.com

Posted by shop.bluetin.com on October 2, 2003 at 12:53 AM (PDT)

38

i went out and bought these earphones because of this review. I hope they sound great and im sure they will! After all, i thought the sony ear buds didn't sound that bad at all!

Posted by shay on October 10, 2003 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

39

sorry, i mean't apple earbuds sounded great.

Posted by shay on October 10, 2003 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

40

There is a ray of hope for those who want these headphones in white - EBAY! They go about the same quoted prices mentioned above - however - you can have your headphones match your ipod - without losing the sound from those horrific ipod headphones. I bought them when I got my ipod - and they're a dream. And cleaning isn't difficult either. Just pop them out and a lil soap and water does the trick. Just be careful not to wash them down the drain.

Posted by Aly on October 24, 2003 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 11 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.