Sony Fontopia MDR-EX70LP Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

61

I love these headphones so much even though I have had to replace them three times. I didn't mind dishing out the 50 a piece each time because the sound from these is clearly phenomenol. Kudos to Sony for their flawless design.

Posted by Uji on January 7, 2004 at 4:37 PM (PDT)

62

I've read the specs on the Sony MDR-EX71SLW and it says the cord length is .4 meters which is roughly 15.75", is this length measured from the earbud to the end of the plug or from the Y of the cord to the end of the plug?

Posted by mhaider on January 8, 2004 at 11:53 AM (PDT)

63

Mine were harsh at first also. You need to use them a while till they break in.

Posted by lsutiger on January 8, 2004 at 2:31 PM (PDT)

64

i just got the 71 at the apple store yesterday. they are comfterble and sound great. i have heard things that i have never heard before. but i do have two problems. the cord is terrible. the way it goes up to one ear, the over to the other is pointless. you just have a long loop of cord under your neck. and it is hard to wind up around a case or belt clip. the other problem is cord noise. whenever you touch the cord or make some kind of movement with your haed (chewing, talking), i makes a noise. it doesnt seem like a big deal, but it inturupts the perfect sound. a bit expensive for a poor teenager like me.

Posted by iPodMaster on January 11, 2004 at 9:19 AM (PDT)

65

I have found that about 20hrs is an adequete breakin time. these are the best in-ears that you can get for this price. i only wish you could get custom moulds from a third party (as some pricier shures allow you to do). i would give these (the 71's) 97/100. would have given it 100/100 if the cord was thicker and option of long cord instead of extension

Posted by timmy in Melbourne, Australia on January 14, 2004 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

66

I love these..
Great sound and most of all; bass!
I just had to use euPod to boost the volume a little.. As someone already said, they actually block almost all outer sounds, so you actually are in your own world when you listen to your music (this can be a good/bad thing wink
Very recommended..

Posted by e2k on January 19, 2004 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

67

FABULOUS headphones. I got 'em from my work with my discount at $35. Within the first 5 minutes I liked 'em, now 48 hours later, i LOVE 'em!

Excellent bass, not 'shrill' at all (re: previous post), and they stay in when i work out! Excellent purchase!

Posted by CHRiS on January 21, 2004 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

68

FABULOUS headphones. I got 'em from my work with my discount at $35. Within the first 5 minutes I liked 'em, now 48 hours later, i LOVE 'em!

Excellent bass, not 'shrill' at all (re: previous post), and they stay in when i work out! Excellent purchase!

Posted by CHRiS on January 21, 2004 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

69

Has anyone tried the Senheisser MX50 earphones?
They sound terrific, and better than the new in-ear buds from Apple, in my opinion. A steal at 20 ($30)

Posted by oncojeans on January 27, 2004 at 12:43 PM (PDT)

70

Normally I don't post negative stuff about an individual or a site, but after reading some "buyer beware" and "buyer advice" above, I figured I would post a follow-up regarding Warehouse 123 -- Jane is right, dealing with him/them is a nightmare. I saw their auctions on e-bay so I let them know I thought their price for the 71's in white was too high, and I got a few barely comprehensible responses (similar to the post from "Michiel" above). Finally, Joe or Michiel or whomever advised me they would knock off $5 from the price and they would e-mail me an invoice. I never got it, but had I received same, I would have politely declined. I ordered the white 71's from Audiocubes (who are located -- I believe -- in Medford, Mass.) and hopefully I won't have any problems.

He/they go by the name "anguslam" on E-Bay. A quick review of his feedback pretty much confirmed what I, as a non-customer, figured out within a couple of days -- non-communicative, nontrustworthy and not someone with whom I want to do business.

Caveat emptor.

Posted by Boogie on February 5, 2004 at 3:29 PM (PDT)

71

Well, I went out a few weeks ago and bought a $100 pair of Shure e2's and like them a lot, but
getting them in and out of my ears -- something I need to do frequently as I spend a lot of time
in and out of city buildings in downtown NYC -- was really not my favorite pasttime. The Shure 'phones
need to be lodged into the ear canal, wedged into the ear (the external part) and then the cord
needs to be finagled, worked over the ear, and then -- after a few minutes for both ears, you're ready
to get down to the business of listening to music for a few minutes before -- d'oh -- they need to
come out because you've reached your destination.

Enough. Sound quality is amazing, no doubt about it -- but the work of getting them in and out
was tiring me out.

So I bought a pair of white 71's from [url=http://www.audiocubes.com]http://www.audiocubes.com[/url] -- ordered them on 2/5 and got them today,
2/11. Not bad, considering they arrived from somewhere in Asia.

I stuffed these suckers into my ears and fired up some mp3's at 320k, and I'm impressed. They
don't have quite the sound-damping of the Shures -- but they took no time to insert into my ears. And
they feel like they weigh nothing, whereas the Shures let you know they're there.

Sony's packaging includes three pairs of rubber covers (S/M/L). I initially slipped the phones in
sporting the shipping size -- medium -- but graduated to the larges. As I'm writing this, I'm hearing
Bruce Hornsby's piano in The Way It Is and I feel like I'm sitting in the studio as he and The Range
are playing. I wouldn't describe the sound as equaling that of Martin Logan Statement E2's -- but
for weightless, comfortable in-ear audio, these are damn close. They're about equal with the Shures
but for half the price and with a lot less drama in the insertion and removal thereof.

I just caught myself headbanging along with ZZ Top's Got Me Under Pressure. For $56, these are
going to have a high smile-to-dollar quotient. If you absolutely need white 'phones and know enough
to not want to be bothered with Apple's disposables, then buy a pair. You won't regret it.

Posted by Boogie in NYC, NY on February 11, 2004 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

72

I just got a 40gb iPod yesterday - very excited! And based on feedback here I got a black pair of the Sony ex71's. I think they're defective - the base in the iPod stock earbuds is 5 times better, eek! That can't be right...

I've read that these really need to be broken in - could that be the problem? I'm going to take them to the Apple store to have them listen and maybe get a different pair or something else altogether.

Anybody else have this experience?

~ Madge

Posted by Madge on February 16, 2004 at 1:45 PM (PDT)

73

These earbuds are to earphones like ipods are to jukeboxes... simply the best.

Posted by Geeg on February 16, 2004 at 2:03 PM (PDT)

74

Even the guy in the store thought my pair of ex71's sounded especially bad. I ordered a white set from a recommendation in these reviews and am hoping that they'll work the way they do for the others here!

Posted by Madge on February 16, 2004 at 9:50 PM (PDT)

75

I've used these with my minidisc player for about a year and now with my new ipod smile they are absolutely the best earbuds you're going to find under 150 dollars. And from what other people have told me they even give a few of those a run for their money.

Get em' you won't regret it.

Posted by ZakkyF on February 18, 2004 at 1:11 PM (PDT)

76

These Buds Kick ###!! Get them. w0ot

Posted by Doope on February 26, 2004 at 10:41 PM (PDT)

77

my brand new ones just came in the mail today. i ordered from a company based on ebay called Warehouse123. they are the white ones, so all the instructions are in chinese, but its all good haha. you notice an immediate change in sound quality, hands down. very glad i bought them, and well worth the wait....

Posted by steveo on March 11, 2004 at 12:16 PM (PDT)

78

I just got these headphones and agree they are very good, especially for the money - my only criticism is they seem a tad quiet to me, no louder than the ipod originals, BUT they do block out more sound so you dont need the extra volume - and maybe I play music too loud anyway!? one other comment I have is regarding the white versions, I live in the UK near London, and one of my concerns was the fact the ipod's headphones ARE white, they look cool, but everyone else then knows you have an ipod worth $$$$$ in your pocket, a large number of ipod jackings have been happening in london even to make the news - and I've started to see people and think -you've got an ipod, they kinda stand out. - just something some people in more vulnerable places / cities might wanna think about!

Posted by J on March 14, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

79

I tried the Etymotic ER-4S from headphone.com for $249 plus S+ H of $7 and they did sound good but I could not stand them in my ear canal and I sent them back. Headphone has a 30 day money back guarantee so I decided to try them because of this. I checked out Sony's ex71sl and read that they fit in the ear canal so I didn't buy them. I was looking for some good earbuds but don't want any that fit in the ear canal. I'm afraid of losing my hearing since I like to listen to music alot. At home I use the InMotion speakers to cut down on how much time I spend using my earphones.

Also I find that the Slim X 350 earbuds have a good sound at least better than the Apple earbuds so I use them for now or my Sony mdr-300 headphones.

Posted by honeybee1236 on March 14, 2004 at 12:20 PM (PDT)

80

I've been using the black 70's for close to a year now and love them without question. Heavy bass response makes them perfect. I've just ordered a set of the white 71's and will post back with comments when I get them. From what I've read the bass response is lower and the highs are more pronounced with the 71's. Hope not smile

Posted by Slapdash on March 15, 2004 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 11 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.