Matias iPod Armor | iLounge

Reviews

1

I dig my armor. I spent quite some time looking into purchasing a case and am totally satisfied with this one. Getting in and out is a little tough but the security is worth it.
I agree with the embossed look, I think that the armor compliments the Ipod perfectiy. It is not just a case, nor is the Ipod just a music box. Hooray for both.

Posted by Damon in L.A. Cali on May 3, 2003 at 3:38 PM (PDT)

2

I just dropped my Armored iPod today while dodging an ambulance (this is NYC, don't you know!), and didn't even realize I'd dropped the thing until two seconds later when it's dangling along on the sidewalk...music playback didn't skip a beat! However, I'm not sure if I should attribute this to the iPodArmor, exactly, as I've had a much cheaper quality case before, too (the "PodFolio" I think it's called, carried by the Apple Store online), which seemed to have "protected" the iPod just fine, as well, when similarly dropped (most likely it's the iPod itself -- I understand that the Toshiba hard drive inside has "gel" padding). Certainly, however, the finish would have been ruined were it not for the iPodArmor's practically complete coverage.

Yes, the iPodArmor is hard to open (when there's an iPod inside -- when empty, it's not difficult at all), but I'm not sure whether that translates into greater protection. I'm also skeptical about that -- what, 2mm?? of -- neoprene...it's the thickness of, like, three pages of newsprint paper at most!

I AM VERY PLEASED, however, to have the iPodArmor case. I actually have two of 'em! One simply for the looks, another for actually protecting my iPod (now that one is a bit scratched and nicked on account of the aforementioned accident). The second one was really supposed to have been for my girlfriend, but she thought it looked cheap and cheesey! So I'm keeping the other one, too, and I'm glad I have two of 'em now, all the same, even at the price of US$50 each. Not really sure about the level of protection afforded, but it's sure as hell better than what came with the iPod from Apple! I'm looking forward to the much-touted iPod SportSuit Convertible by Marware, arriving in a few days...will post impressions under the review for that one in a few days!

Posted by David C. in Astoria on May 6, 2003 at 10:55 AM (PDT)

3

BEWARE! True to its name MARware's Ipod Sportsuit Convertable will mess up that pretty little Ipod in a jiffy.

This is about the Marware Ipod Sportsuit Convertable.
I am a circus acrobat who is most pleased with the skip protection that Apple has so wisely put into the Ipod. However, this is a review about the case not the Ipod. I initially found that the neoprene and velcro armband that comes with the case was completely useless for anything more active than sitting so I replaced it with a piece of rope. The case itself makes the Ipod more bulky due to its earbud stash space built into the lid. A feature I enjoy, but at the expense of the Ipod's natural sleekness and one that I can live w/out. The strip of neoprene that surrounds the outer edges of the case has quickly worn away due to the rubbing of the case against my clothing. The look of my case now a tattered and cheesy affair at best. The case also allows for random little bits of flotsam and jetsam to find their way inside of the case and to pin themselves between the case and the Ipod which has caused irreparable cosmetic damage to the Ipod itself. My Ipod now has scratches around the face, edges and corners of the face plate, and I regularly take my Ipod out of the case to clean the funk out. The back of the Ipod has suffered damage to the chrome plating from the wear of the case against the body of the Ipod. You can actually see the underlying metal. For a time, when I pulled my Ipod out to clean it there was a black sticky glue(?) stuck to the back corners of the Ipod. This is no longer a problem as there must be no more glue left. The Ipod was designed for people on the move, but I have a feeling that this case was designed by folks who sit at a desk all day. I am not happy with the damage that my $40 case has caused to my $400 Ipod. I was under the impression that it was designed to protect my Ipod. Dammit all, I should have read the terms of agreement. If you are a physically active person buy an Ipod, but don't buy the Convertable Sportsuit by Marware unless, of course, you want to mar your wares.

Posted by Jiggidy Jivez on July 6, 2003 at 6:29 PM (PDT)

4

What is the best cover/case to protect the ipod at the beach (i.e. from sand, suntan lotion etc.)

Posted by Ben on July 29, 2003 at 8:46 AM (PDT)

5

Ben,
I have no idea. I don't have the extra cash to experiment with different cases right now. I think i will try the ipod armour, but a plastic bag with a rubber band around the opening might be the best for keeping out the sand and stuff. I live at the beach and sand gets into everything.

Posted by Jiggidy Jivez on July 29, 2003 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

6

'Protectiion'

on


http://ipodlounge.com/reviews_more.php?id=301_0_6_0_M

Posted by typo on August 18, 2003 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

7

What is the best proction case? I need the strongest case. I skate and snowboard. I want a case that will protect my ipod if i fall on the ipod. I would get this case, but it says there is no easy access to switch songs and stuff.

i want a case as strong as the ipod armor but more easy access. Any suggestions?

Posted by Brian on October 27, 2003 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

8

anyone know if there are any challenges with using the Ipod Armor with eith the I trip or the remote remote (when they've got it working properly)?

cheers

Posted by Gav on November 7, 2003 at 4:08 AM (PDT)

9

Can't rate the armour highly enough! In fact it's just spent the last few weeks out in Iraq with me. Been dropped, sat on, kicked etc etc - didn't miss a beat grin
Works fine with the remote but not with the iTrip.

Posted by Simon on December 28, 2003 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

10

I just picked one up for christmas, and it is great. It seems a bit big, but thats probably because i've been used to my small 3g iPod. They have changed the design, and now it's MUCH easier to open. the case popped open when I dropped it accidentially onto a hard tile floor, but it was already half-open. And the iPod didn't pop out at all. Just a little ding. In conclusion: greatest case ever for raw protection.

Posted by Ryan Green on December 29, 2003 at 8:16 PM (PDT)

11

God praise my armour it saved my iPod from an untimley death by falling on tile (the armour is bent but my ipod is as good as new)

Posted by Al on January 3, 2004 at 11:22 PM (PDT)

12

Is this sort of similar to Otter Cases? Sans the waterproofness, that is.
~cQ

Posted by ~cQ on January 15, 2004 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

13

I just got my Armor in the mail. It's great. iPod fits really snug, and the case seems solid. I don't have any difficulty opening the case, but maybe that's because I have the newest model. (The new one has the indentations on the front to look like the 3rdG pods, with the wheel and 4 buttons.)

I'm not planning on attaching the clip at all, but using this as a sleek case in my pocket. It's one of the few cases I've seen where both sides are smooth. I also love that I don't have to worry about carrying expensive electronics all the time.

All in all, I'm very happy.

Posted by Sam on January 27, 2004 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

14

I got the ipod armor and used it for a few days seemed like it worked great. I went snowboarding with it and fell once on it. I get home and the ipod armor is bent and will not close all of the way.

Yea it saved my ipod, but thats not the point for the ipod armor for me. I bought it to skate and snowboard with, and to protect it when i fall on it. Not just once.

I wouldnt recomend getting the ipod armor for hardcore sports. I is only good for one hard fall before it becomes bent.

Brian

Posted by Brian on January 28, 2004 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

15

Just ordered the ipod armor for my new replacement 40GB model, which it took over a month of waiting to get in. Boy, was I sure glad I opted for the extended warranty.

Here's what happened: I was walking to the bus stop in zub-zero (F) temperatures during a wicked cold snap we had here in New Jersey about a month and a half ago. After walking over a river bridge- and pretty afraid I would get frostbite or something, I pulled the ipod out of the stock-issue black vinyl slipcase thing they give you, and the screen sort of cracked up internally. Purples, yellows, pretty psychedelic. And then the hard drive started making clicking noises too. Funny thing was, it still played for a while.

I'll know better the next time it's extremely cold outside. The thing is, I've seen the ipod in ads with snowboarders. Doesn't it get like, pretty cold in Boulder or whatever?

Posted by b on February 20, 2004 at 3:53 PM (PDT)

16

i just got my armor in the mail and it is sweet. BUT it fitts all ipods right? yeh but it its to big for my 20 gig 3g ipod it waists space in there making it bulky and leting the ipod get thrown around in there. i am pretty bummed i skateboard and i want something to protect my ipod and keep it compact any ideas????

Posted by sk8ipodarmor in Toronto on February 29, 2004 at 5:10 PM (PDT)

17

You could try the lilipod, it's waterproof so would be good for the sand issue, I think I would chose that over iPod Armour, and it costs less and has a hard protective shell, nad fits 3G iPods perfectly, rather than being a compromise.
http://www.ipodlounge.com/reviews_more.php?id=3068_0_6_0_C

Posted by Nuke666 on February 29, 2004 at 7:29 PM (PDT)

18

I bought one of these four months ago. When I received it in the mail, I thought it was the case of my dreams. My ipod fit so snugly in the Armor and it seemed like no other case could come close to offering the same kind of protection. I use my ipod in the gym a lot and would not even realize I was wearing it. The ipod Armor was extremely comfortable and light. Even the clip on this case was quite impressive.

However, in the few months I have had this product, two things have turned me against it.

One is that the ipod Armor has virtually stripped my HOLD button of its silver coating. It seems the constant inserting and removing of the ipod in and out of the case has done this. Since I had the previous version of the Armor, I had to remove it to have access to the docking port. It seems the newer model addresses this problem as it now looks like you can get to that port without removing the ipod.

The second problem (and more frustrating) is that the ipod now has so much give when it's enlosed in the Armor, that I'm not sure how much protection I even have anymore. I guess the inserting and removing of the ipod might have had something to do with this as well. I have inserted extra padding (supplied by Matias) on the bottom of the armor, but I still do not have the fit that I had when I first purchaded the case. I can lightly shake the ipod when its enclosed in this case and hear it rattle around.....far from the tight fit I had when I first receieved it. I dont feel comfortable having my ipod rattling around in there as I am running. I have contacted Matias and was told that this is "normal".

Anyways, Matias has since replaced this case with a newer model so maybe these problems no longer exist.

Posted by Steve on April 13, 2004 at 5:23 AM (PDT)

19

I want one...

Posted by Robert Keys on April 25, 2004 at 9:42 PM (PDT)

20

I had the Armour case, but after two months an eight year old trod on it, it buckled and now won't close. It was empty at the time, which may have made a difference, but for something so expensive which claims to be 'built like a tank' I'm not sure. Having said that, I need a new strong case. Will look at the lilipod as someone suggested... thanks

Posted by Clarey on May 5, 2004 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.