Apple 3G iPod 15GB | iLounge

Reviews

21

A few things I wanted to add.

Thinking back, I do feel that the 30GB is not only for 'purists' But I do feel that the majority of the population and first time iPod owners will opt for the 15GB, thus my pick to review the 15GB.

A few anomolies I noticed with the iPod may not be stressed on the review, since they may just be software quirks with the new firmware / software. I did want to stress that the Apple QA should have caught these quirks during testing.

Posted by Stanley Chan in Los Gatos on May 6, 2003 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

22

I purchased the Itrip Fm Transmitter and it works great on the 2nd gen Ipod. Check their website to see when their gonna provide a transmitter for the new Ipod. Also my opinion on the newer Ipod is that it isnt worth the upgrade if you already own a 2nd gen Ipod. Original Ipod owners should consider selling theirs to upgrade.

[url=http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/itrip/]http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/itrip/[/url]

Posted by Jaguares in Bay Area, Ca on May 6, 2003 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

23

do ya'll think it would be possible for apple to release a software update for the older ipods that would give them the new features like on-the-go playlists and menu customizations?

Posted by jon g in AUSTIN, TX on May 6, 2003 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

24

First off let me also say that I also hate the move away from mechanical parts. I have the 1st gen 10gb IPOD that has the touch wheel ( hate the touch wheel! ).

Question: Does the on the go playlist let you queue up playlists or whole albums with one click? or is the functionality limited to single tracks?

Posted by monkey in SF on May 7, 2003 at 12:14 AM (PDT)

25

Rick: Here's an excellent tip I got from ryanbrown345 of the MacNN. Use plastic PDA covers to 'laminate' your iPod. I have already applied it to my iPod and it actually looks great and I don't have to worry at all about scratching it. Prior to this, I used regular saran wrap. Effective, but not as clean looking as the PDA covers.

Posted by Donna on May 7, 2003 at 12:35 AM (PDT)

26

The author of this article needs to learn how to write more efficiently. This article is quite long winded. You could say the same thing in half the space.

Posted by AJ in NYC on May 7, 2003 at 3:55 AM (PDT)

27

I appreciate your detailed review. You mention the Etymotic ER-4S but I can't tell for sure if you recommend it with the new iPod (I find the volume level on my new 15 Gb slightly lower than on my second G 10 Gb). Do you? Have you tried the ER-4P? Any thoughts on that one vis-a-vis the ER-4S?
Thanks.

Posted by Paul in LA on May 7, 2003 at 9:01 AM (PDT)

28

Software for the ipod is a key issue. We are totally committed to providing the best solution possible, and we listen. Why wait for the Windows iTunes? You can try Media Center now by visiting this site:
[url=http://www.jrmediacenter.com]http://www.jrmediacenter.com[/url]

Posted by PeterS in Minneapolis on May 7, 2003 at 9:02 AM (PDT)

29

If anyone wants a brand new condition Etymotic ER-4P (no amplifier, designed for iPod machines), email me before I offer it up on eBay

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 7, 2003 at 9:14 AM (PDT)

30

If anyone wants a brand new condition Etymotic ER-4P (no amplifier, designed for iPod machines), email me before I offer it up on eBay

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 7, 2003 at 9:14 AM (PDT)

31

i really want to purchase new ipod, but before i make my final decision, i would love to hear some bad stuff about it... (esp. when i use it with windows..)Please! thanks...

Posted by h.j. in va on May 7, 2003 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

32

If memory serves from the product introduction, you don't have to add to the on-the-go playlist one track at a time...you can select an entire album (or an existing playlist?) at a time.

Posted by Lee on May 7, 2003 at 2:50 PM (PDT)

33

I just ordered a 15GB iPod (new of course-15gb), and I LOVE it. I think that everything that was wrong inthe old one is fixed. There were complaints that the wheel would spin too quickly in the old one after a few months. Apple addressed this problem, and now its touch sensative. Also, the buttons collected dirt between them, so Apple made them touch sensative also. The backlight of the old iPod was amazing, but it was hard to see the buttons (unless you know the iPod inside out and backwards). I think that it is a good idea to make them backlit. I don't think that the orange/red is weird, it really contrasts to the white body. The iPod's body is extremely thin, and I love the new excessories. The only thing I would change is the back. It is very prone to scratches.

I have a question: Are the ear buds using Apple's new plug? the same plugs used on the Apple Pro Speakers?

Posted by Dave Luebbert in Ontario, Canada on May 7, 2003 at 5:55 PM (PDT)

34

On the new one, does it still put a little gap in between songs even when it is a mix lp?

Posted by Chico in London on May 7, 2003 at 10:56 PM (PDT)

35

I've heard that disabling the clock by resetting significantly lengthens battery life. When the new iPods are reset, however, the clock does not disable. Is there a way to do this?

Any other comments on battery life of the new iPods?

Posted by Bill in Chicago, IL on May 8, 2003 at 5:01 AM (PDT)

36

The Best solution for hooking up the ipod to your car stereo is to forget about the transmitter. The reception and sound quality sucks. You should hook it up directly to the stereo via the auxilary input cables. It requires a special wire specific to your deck that has the special plug on one end and female rca connectors on the other. Then all you need is the rca to headphone jack connector and your all set. No need for batteries either since it is powered through the stereo. It sounds like your playing a cd. The auxilary connector goes for around $20.

Posted by Joe in New York on May 8, 2003 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

37

Joe,
I assume that I have to have a technician hook something up to the back of my car stereo [which is a cd deck] so that I can attach this auxilliary connector. Correct? And where do I get the "special wire specific to your deck", at the car dealer? ...or a car stereo shop?
Have you tried the iTrip or another transmitter? Thanks for your comments.

Posted by Richard on May 8, 2003 at 12:57 PM (PDT)

38

i think that the clock is programmed in a different way on the new ipods... it doesn't drain the battery like it did on the older ipods, so disabling the clock isn't needed to save the battery. has anyone used the alarm feature on the new ipods? is there some sort of external speaker for the alarm, or do you have to sleep with the earbuds in?

Posted by Liam in chicago on May 8, 2003 at 3:51 PM (PDT)

39

To the reviewer: don't assume that just because you find a bug, QA didn't catch it. You can be pretty sure anything that obvious is already logged and someone higher up the food chain decided to ship it that way.

Posted by Squeedle on May 8, 2003 at 6:35 PM (PDT)

40

FWIW, the iTrip does NOT use Firewire to work as the poster above states. It doesn't plug in to the Firewire port, it plugs in to the headphone jack and gets it's power from there.

Posted by Jim in Phx on May 11, 2003 at 7:54 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 17 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.