Apple 3G iPod 15GB | iLounge

Reviews

281

bought my 40 Gb yesterday!!!!
And god, it rules!
like everybody said, musicmatch sucks! big time! Apple has released itunes for windows just in time 'cause itunes is so relaxed!!!
now desperately searching for funstuff for my ipod!
you'll hear from me!

Posted by pepijn on October 24, 2003 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

282

bought my 40 Gb yesterday!!!!
And god, it rules!
like everybody said, musicmatch sucks! big time! Apple has released itunes for windows just in time 'cause itunes is so relaxed!!!
now desperately searching for funstuff for my ipod!
you'll hear from me!

Posted by pepijn on October 24, 2003 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

283

I am considering buying an ipod however I only have an old laptop with no internal firewire. The specs are: 128mb RAM, 366 Mhz CPU, 14gb HDD and running on Windows 98. If I upgrade to Windows 2000, will I realistically be able to use the ipod with my laptop or will it be too much of a nightmare? Has anyone done this and if so what's involved?

Also I have been told that I need to have the same amount of space left on my hard drive as the ipod I choose holds because each time you add a new album to your ipod you have to add all the exisiting ones back on too. Is this right?

Posted by Jules (UK) on October 30, 2003 at 1:29 AM (PDT)

284

I just put in an order for a refurb 15GB iPod! How exciting! It's perhaps the coolest toy I've ever gotten for myself and it was a good deal compared to the brand new ones @ about 300.

Posted by Juan Gonzalez on November 14, 2003 at 1:18 AM (PDT)

285

Does the i-Pod skip at all I would like to be able to take it running and other stuff like that?

Posted by sccrtt3 on November 15, 2003 at 5:58 AM (PDT)

286

I really love my iPod! It's really a state-of-art! when you hold it, you can feel it!
itunes is a must!

Posted by Chris on November 16, 2003 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

287

itunes sucks - the only reason Mac people went gaga over it was because they had no other choices but now its on Windows everyone sees what a slow usless memory hog it is, buggy as hell, disables XPlay, and crashes out all the time.

Posted by sucks on November 16, 2003 at 9:03 PM (PDT)

288

That's your fault for following the crowd and getting a PC. Macs simply work better, faster, and easier. One day, the world will see that Windows is just DOS with a fancy covering.

Posted by Don Lupo on November 18, 2003 at 12:46 PM (PDT)

289

"Windows is just DOS with a fancy covering"

Nope sorry, you're wrong. That's equivalent to saying that OSX is just OS9 with a fancy shell. Which is wrong.

Windows 1,2,3,95,98,ME were all fancy shells on DOS.

But Windows NT, 2000, XP, and 2003 are a whole new ballgame.

In fact, the original Windows NT was based (illicitly) on Digital's Vax VMS operating system

So you could say that Windows is just VMS with a fancy covering.

Posted by Wrong on November 18, 2003 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

290

Hi, i do need somebody advice since i am going to bring apple i pod 40GB and i do have a computer dell dimension 4550 windows xp professional does apple i pod work with windows xp profesional and if it does work pls mail me the proper info i will really appreciate
with kind regards
Bosco Pimenta

Posted by BOSCO PIMENTA on November 24, 2003 at 11:55 PM (PDT)

291

Love my Mac. Wishing for an iPod this holiday season (with some guilt over the price tag), dropping heavy hints towards at least a 20GB (shame on me). Worried the new version will be replaced far too quickly with something else. Can you reassure me my new iPod will be current for at least the next year (or longer?) Thanks.

Posted by Chele on December 1, 2003 at 11:02 AM (PDT)

292

Okay, two more things. My car's changer is in the trunk. Put there by the manufacturer. Hate it. Sound system is the stock 7 series BMW. Am I relegated to the FM tuner adapter for my iPod? Also looking at satellite radio vs. an iPod in my car. Any thoughts?

Posted by Chele on December 1, 2003 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

293

"does apple i pod work with windows xp profesional and if it does work pls mail me the proper "
oh yes it does! and how!!!
the only thing you need is a firewirecard in your dell (most of 'em got one) or otherwise a USB 2.0 connection. (you'll have to buy another cable for it)
that's all you NEED...
what i suggest is to forget the musicmatch cd and just download itunes for mac! it works 100 times better and it doesn't look like a baby designed it after it got blind!!!

Posted by pepijn on December 1, 2003 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

294

I'm thinking of Purchasing a 20 gig 3rd gen i-pod.

But i have a couple of questions i have heard
eluded to here but not a true answer..

#1. Is there a battery issue, and can it be
replace without having Apple Do it? Or is it
replacable at all? (If not, what is the point)

#2 How does the I-Pod list tracks? By the file
name i assign, or from the ID3 tags?

#3 As well as that how many characters are
displayed in the screen on the I-Pod?

Really psyched about this... Hope someone can
answer my questions in a way that makes me feel
more secure about this purchase.


Cheers

Posted by Robert on December 1, 2003 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

295

hey everyone!
I have been reading some of your comments and you are talking about the 'new' and 'old' ipods. Can you please explain. I am hopefully getting one for christmas and am thinking about getting a 20GB one, but i am not sure if it is an 'old' or 'new' one. This 20GB had all the features that hte new ones have so maybe it is the new version. could someone please help!
Thanks

Posted by paris on December 1, 2003 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

296

hey everyone!
I have been reading some of your comments and you are talking about the 'new' and 'old' ipods. Can you please explain. I am hopefully getting one for christmas and am thinking about getting a 20GB one, but i am not sure if it is an 'old' or 'new' one. This 20GB had all the features that hte new ones have so maybe it is the new version. could someone please help!
Thanks

Posted by paris on December 1, 2003 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

297

Robert
I have 6 characters on my star up screen, but you can customize it as many as you want.

The iPod list them in order from a-z. But u can put them in any file.

And, theres no battery issue that i know of

Posted by Javier on December 1, 2003 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

298

"#1. Is there a battery issue, and can it be
replace without having Apple Do it? Or is it
replacable at all? (If not, what is the point)"

the battery will last for about 10 hours, ant that's more than you'll think. you can't replace it yourself! it's hidden deep inside as far as i know!


"#2 How does the I-Pod list tracks? By the file
name i assign, or from the ID3 tags?"

it will display ID tags!

"#3 As well as that how many characters are
displayed in the screen on the I-Pod? "

a lot! i was looking through mt ipod for an artist who didn't fit in the screen but i don't have any single artist who doens't fit!

for example:
KC & the Sunshineband fits well
kane ft. Ilse delange fits as well but:
nick cave & kylie minogogue will be cut to:
nick cave & kylie min...

so it doesn't display x characters, if you have an artist with a lot "i"'s in it's name, tha name can be longer than an artist with a lot of "w"'s in it's name.

i hope it's usefull to you

Posted by pepijn on December 1, 2003 at 11:03 PM (PDT)

299

all the ones (3G) are the ones with a dock station!
[url=http://www.apple.com/ipod]http://www.apple.com/ipod[/url] displays only the newest ones, and yes, 20G is a 3G ipod

Posted by pepijn on December 1, 2003 at 11:05 PM (PDT)

300

Pepijn-AHHHHHHHH i love Kylie, but you spelled her last name wrong, its just Minogue, not Minogogue. Im thrilled you mentioned her, but i really dont like Nick Cake, their duet was great, minus Nick Cave, wow imma kylie freak for posting about her on an ipod site, anyways, i've been all syched about getting my ipod for christmas, but reading all these negative comments about the new ipod are really discouraging me, i'm not a computer whiz at all so if i won't be able to make my ipod work with windows on my ###### computer ill be #### out of luck, also i HATE HATE HATE blimps or pops in music, if that happens ill go through the roof, also i planned to use it in my car often, but it seems like thats a mess. And one more thing, at my bestbuy and on the best buy web site ive only seen 10GB, 20GB, and 40GB ipods, no 15 or 30 anywhere but some sites online. I just wondered what was up and whats the best value, i plan on getting a 20GB for $400, but considering the issues im thinking about, should i still get it?

Posted by Mark on December 2, 2003 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

Page 15 of 17 pages « First  <  13 14 15 16 17 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.