Apple 3G iPod 15GB | iLounge

Reviews

41


Does anybody know if I can I sync the iPod with iPhoto, or can show QT videos (.MPG) on the iPod?

Posted by CQ in Paris on May 12, 2003 at 5:15 AM (PDT)

42

cq, no you can't...

Posted by nekogami in sweden on May 12, 2003 at 6:36 AM (PDT)

43

I want an Ipod for windows but am scared by the idea of having to download different music management software since everyone agrees that Musicmatch is a travesty. Is this not as complicated as it sounds? Is that a silly reason to forgo the Ipod all together? Should I just wait until they have an iTunes for windows product? I am a novice and Advice is welcomed.

Posted by nbeede in new york city on May 12, 2003 at 6:58 AM (PDT)

44

Nekogami, Thanks. Bumme, though. Think that will change?

Posted by cq on May 12, 2003 at 7:43 AM (PDT)

45

Nbeede -- Musicmatch is acceptable for communicating with the iPod, in my opinion, if what you listen to is mostly rock and pop and you have mostly singles, rather than albums.
Many others, including me, use an excellent program called XPlay which makes managing the music on the iPod a snap. It costs $30 though.
There is a another program called Ephpod which people use and recommend (I've never used it myself) which is free.
Overall, there's no reason to wait to buy an iPod, especially (once again, in my opinion) if you are willing to pay $30 for XPlay.
You can find links to all these programs on the iPodlounge homepage.
Enjoy your iPod! It's the coolest thing ever for listening to music. In fact, it's simply one of the coolest things ever.

Posted by Paul on May 12, 2003 at 9:36 AM (PDT)

46

can someone tell me where the pc ipod stands on handling ebooks and stuff like that?

thanks

Posted by Joseph in New York on May 12, 2003 at 5:14 PM (PDT)

47

Indeed you can use a 2.5 to RCA connector to go from your earphone plug to RCA out. To connect ot your car stereo you either have to have RCA inputs on the front or back OR some car stereos have a CD changer input on the back and you can buy an adapter that turns the CD Changer connection to an RCA connection. For my Kenwood I had to buy an external unit that would allow me to use either my CD Changer AND RCA inputs. Although I have to say that with the ipod hooked up in the car I am not sure that I will ever need the CD changer again.

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 12, 2003 at 7:54 PM (PDT)

48

Since my car stereo only has 2 functions, radio or cd [no changer], what do I set it to to recieve the iPod signal? And, how would I switch from say cd to iPod?

Posted by Richard on May 13, 2003 at 3:18 AM (PDT)

49

Richard,

Sorry pal, but if you can't hook up your iPod to your stereo with RCA jacks or using a cassette adapter, then you are relegated to using an FM transmitter.

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 13, 2003 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

50

The review does not mention that European iPods have been hobbled to meet French legislation that limits portable stereo output to 100 dB. Although this might not sound like a bad thing it means they are next to useless on a bus or plane.

Posted by Playdreamer on May 13, 2003 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

51

I'm an iPOD 30GB owner at last! but I've spent 4.5 hours and I still can't get it to "sync". Windows XP Professional PC recognizes the drive but when I go to format I get the error message "Format Failure; Disk error" I've uninstalled/reinstalled the software and done everything else I could think of. Can ANYONE please help I'm at wit's end.

Posted by Max in Orlando on May 13, 2003 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

52

For the car audio route, I agree witht he above. Direct connection, if your deck can do it, is the way to go. In terms of quality, depending on your deck and the transmitter, I'd rate it as:
1. Direct connect (RCA/minip-lug/changer adapter)
2. Tape adapter
3. FM transmitter

If your deck has an RCA or miniplug (headphone-style) aux input, any cables will do. CD-changer style inputs vary according tot he car or deck maker. I ordered one to hook into my changer input (don't have a changer, so don't need the more costly multi-input versions).

Logjam Electronics (if that link doesn't work, just copy/paste the URL. Sorry)

Pick your car type or aftermarket deck manufacturer if a CD changer is an option and you can pick up the right connection to RCA. Then an RCA to miniplug (headphone or lineout on the new docks) and your iPod is wired directly into the deck.

Hope any of that is helpful for those still looking... a bit more cumbersome to plug in but no interference from the air or tape head.

Posted by Rook in Boston on May 13, 2003 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

53

Oh yeah I have a new 15GB iPod, very nice. I have noticed that it seems my playlist are in a random order. even after I organized it using iTunes 4 to be in alphabetical order, it seems to still be in a random order. Has anyone had this problem? and if so how did they fix it.

Apple should let you adjust the sensitivity of the touch buttons, one time all I had to do is put my finger near the button not touching it, and it skipped to the next two song. NOT COOL!

Posted by Miko in USA, VA on May 13, 2003 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

54

Hey, I want to find someone who will make me a custom mini-plug to mini-plug cable for connecting my iPod to my car deck. The pre-manufactured ones I've found in stores do not suit my needs, and I don't really want to spend time learning to make custom cables myself. Does anyone know of someplace I can do this?

P.S. I'm glad to see so many Windoze users are buying Apple iPods. I am however so sorry that you are all having so many problems getting them to work with your PC's. I mean poor Max (I feel for ya buddy) has spent 4.5 hours trying to just sync the danged thing to his XP machine! That's insanity! Max, you should try a Macintosh sometime. You do not know the frustrations you will eliminate! Not just with hooking up an iPod, but in everything you do. I have much experience with both platforms, and I know from where I speak. Take Care everyone.

P.P.S. Please don't forget about the cables I mentioned at the beginning of this very long winded post.

-later

Posted by sillycar on May 13, 2003 at 3:31 PM (PDT)

55

In regards to Random order playlists. Is that something that you can configure on the iPod with the menu customization?

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 13, 2003 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

56

Miko, are both ends mini-plugs? If so, you can find stereo 3.5mm (1/8") cables pretty much anywhere, Circuit City via Amazon for example. If the end to the deck is custom (like a DIN or manufacturer's connector) you'll either need to find a custom cable pre-built or a wire mapping for the custom connector.

So, what about the pre-fab ones don't meet your needs?

Posted by Rook in Boston on May 13, 2003 at 6:02 PM (PDT)

57

Bought the new 15gb for my girlfriend. I installed ephPod for her. She tried out the MusicMatch and hates it - from what I can tell the MM UI is a farking mess. She "understands" ephPod much better.

Oh, she is using her iPod on a Windows 2000 machine. She connected it up and transferred *all* her songs in under 10 minutes. She is one happy kitten with her new snuggly iPod. smile

When installing from the Apple CD, it requests for you to connect the iPod so that it can be configured for the first time. It took a few minutes for the install program to recognize that the iPod was plugged into the firewire port. But after waiting and retrying the "OK" button a few times, it finally began the configuration process.

All in all, the new iPod has been a cinch to install,configure, and use. My girlfriend who is not an extremely computer/tech savvy individual had very little trouble learning to use the device.

Posted by shake on May 13, 2003 at 9:58 PM (PDT)

58

if the battery is ruined over 2 years and if it's lower than 24 hours it means this device is ####. no point is selling out that it's think or whatsoever! its ####!
a company like Apple should be ashamed...in 2 years I will laugh at all you guys when you will have to buy anohter expensive one (so will the zen fans lol). that is crap and makes this device look like a future giant paper weight... DON'T BUY IT! It's cheating on the costumer (the SHOULD write that the battery lasts only 2 years)
8 hours!?!?! LOOOOOOOOL ahahah get out of here! RIDICULOUS! CRAP, not matter which games, addons, fixed bugs, it's inferior... old jukebox models had 4 (and we know how bulky and ###### they were). they even reduced it from other model? lol
and I will NOT buy anything that is not 100% win compatible (it is NOT win compatible as they claim)

3 words of wisdom:
DON'T BUY IT!

Posted by Joćo in Portugal on May 14, 2003 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

59

So far I have not been able to duplicate the pop that many people are talking about. I am encoding at 128AAC using a PowerBook G4.

I've been trying to test the battery a little and have found that with the lights on you can play about 55 songs from full to empty. At an average of 3.5 minutes per song, that is well under four hours. I am now recharging for the lights-off test tomorrow, I expect it to be significantly greater. grin

A few general comments:

1, If you cannot get the ipod to sync, then try the reset key combination outlined in the manual

2. Are there many commercial alternatives to Music Match? I the old days when I owned a Windows machine I kept my files in Real Jukebox because Music Match was so cluttered. I am sure there is a reason for this and for Apple Partnering with them. Maybe they were the only ones willing and able.

3. I like the new cable and its overall design. I do not think the $19 is significanlty greater than a quality firewire cable. It is quite easy to pay $20 for one. Obviously, ebay buyers would not. It will not be long before 3rd party suppliers make cheaper ones or ones with a line cable included.

4. It is easy to see why the old buttons have gone although it takes a little getting used to. With the curves, I do not think it would be possible to incorporate them. Furthermore, it makes the whole think a lot simpler to produce and a lot more rugged. I dont find moving between the buttons to be a problem.

5. Despite one or two comments I have read, the remote is an essential item, particularly when the ipod is in an inside coat pocket or zipped somewhere. When walking, skiing, or cycling the remote allows me to skip tracks by pressing a button clipped to my jacket rather than fiddling for the iPod, turning off the lock, and then pulling my self out of a tree.

Posted by Paul in Houghton, MI on May 14, 2003 at 8:17 PM (PDT)

60

Does the battery really die after a couple of years?

Posted by lauren in ny on May 15, 2003 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 17 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.