Griffin iTrip | iLounge

Reviews

1

This is a review? This gives little more than the intitiial blurb. What took so long to post this so called "review"? How does it sound compared to other transmitters? All this waiting for nothing!

Posted by Strap on May 9, 2003 at 2:49 AM (PDT)

2

I thinks its a good review...it tells us that the sound quality is great.
I think its a comparison your after not a review.

Posted by Ian in UK on May 9, 2003 at 3:38 AM (PDT)

3

Ian, your comment is a better review than the one above. This "review" is more like an advertisement for Griifin.

Posted by Strap on May 9, 2003 at 5:33 AM (PDT)

4

I received the iTrip last week. I tried using it around town and then on a trip from my home here in the Shenandoah Valley to Charlottesville, VA. I had a very hard time using it. First, I could find very few frequencies that didn't have anything on them (which is a little strange--we are rather isolated here). When I tuned it to a station and started playing, it would start to get interference after only a couple of minutes of driving and would become unlistenable. Maybe the density of radio stations is too great (although I find that doubtful) or my car radio is just too sensitive (also doubtful--just a Honda stock radio). I guess I will keep playing with it, but at the moment I'm disappointed. Anybody else have this experience or have any suggestions?

Also--I believe the documentation says that the frequencies start at 87.9, but mine doesn't start until 88.1.

Posted by Kurt on May 9, 2003 at 5:49 AM (PDT)

5

iTrip sounds great (!!) but for us iPodders in Europe it's a no-goer! I am in the UK and ordered mine in January. I emailed Griffin about my order and they say "we will not be exporting to Europe for legal reasons" - boo hoo!

Posted by ablogo in UK on May 9, 2003 at 6:00 AM (PDT)

6

My comments:

1. The Range in my area (Detroit) sucks the same as all the other fm transmitters (ie: irock) But as long as it was in range, It sounded AWESOME! Basically, it transmitted to my car radio from my dash, and that's all I need. Otherwise, after a meter, the static started. It did not drift.

2. It was not made clear that the itrip does NOT get power from the firewire port, instead it gets power from the headphone jack. The firewire plug is simply a piece of plastic to keep the unit from rotating. That being said, I don't see why this unit wouldn't work with ANY audio device with a headphone jack. The iTrip shouldn't draw any more power then a set of headphones would.

3. You do NOT need any specific software to install the iTrip (ie: windows people do not need to use musicmatch!) Just copy the mp3 frequency files from the included CD to your iPod (or any player) and you are ready to go.

4. It does take a couple of seconds for the iTrip to power on after you turn on your iPod -- it also takes a couple of seconds for the iTrip to turn OFF after powering down your iPod. My guess is that the iTrip has a capacitor that must charge before it begins transmitting??

Overall -- I give iTrip thumbs up for being the best thing out there - but with weight at about an ounce, it feels like it should cost more like $19.

Posted by Matt in Detroit on May 9, 2003 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

7

One more comment if Griffin is reading -- it would be great if the next iTrip have a pass thru firewire port for charging! This would greatly minnimize wear and tear from unplugging and plugging.

Posted by Matt in Detroit. on May 9, 2003 at 6:23 AM (PDT)

8

still waiting for mine for 2 weeks, but i guess that can be expected due to to the number of back-orders place for it. the only bad thing i've heard so far has been the one comment above, so i'm thinking this might be a winner. ipod killer app anyone?

Posted by Dean on May 9, 2003 at 6:29 AM (PDT)

9

I am not happy that they are not shipping to Europe. I ordered my itrip and they did not say anything to me.
Anyone in the good old USA fancy sending me one...go on we did help you guys out in Iraq...;o)

Posted by Ian in UK on May 9, 2003 at 6:34 AM (PDT)

10

Ian, if you are not happy that Griffin is not shipping to Europe, talk to your government. Many there have very stringent laws concerning transmitters.

Posted by Melangell on May 9, 2003 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

11

I am on my way in to London i will have a chat with the government about the law and get this all sorted.
Anyone else want me to get some stuff sorted when i am seeing them?

Posted by Ian in uk on May 9, 2003 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

12

Update on iTrip range. I did some more testing, and was able to find a more clear FM channel for broadcasting. With that, I got very good sound quality to about 15 feet before it started degrading.

Posted by Matt in Detroit on May 9, 2003 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

13

I just received my iTrip yesterday and once I got the hang of using it, I am very impressed. I have tried the CCRane FM Transmitter (very powerful, but very large), the iRock (very limited frequencies), and a couple of others that worked, but none of them match the convenience and ease of use of the iTrip.

Happy iTripping!

Posted by Jeff in Seattle on May 9, 2003 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

14

I've read all the posts (and of course the review) and no user has as yet talked about how this product compares with the existing FM transmitters (of that size). I am not talking about how it looks. I think people are interested in how effective the transmission is - clarity etc. I want to put the iPod (with the transmitter) on the seat, or even the back seat, not on the dashboard.

I am also surprised that no company has been able to come out with a real powerful FM transmitter for such purpose. Are there some serious technical challenges involved?

It will be nice to get someone from Griffin tell us.

Posted by Kwame Adu-Gyamfi in Osaka, Japan on May 9, 2003 at 7:50 AM (PDT)

15

Regarding the range of the iTrip and other FM transmitters, the FCC limits the power output of unlicensed transmitters. So all transmitters are limited.

But the itrip has superior range to all others on the market and its digital tuning keeps it from drifting like the others. We have actually sucessfully tested it at a range of 200 feet. However this will vary greatly depending upon how clear a space can be found in the FM band and the sensitivity of your radio receiver.

Posted by Griffin Guy on May 9, 2003 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

16

I finally received my iTrip a couple of days ago, and so far I'm not happy. If I don't push the iTrip in far enough to the headphone jack, it doesn't turn on. If I push it in too far, it reboots the iPod, which is not very convenient!

If I finally get it working, it sounds good... for a little while. Then it always seems to suddenly turn itself off while I'm listening to music, and all I hear is very loud static.

So am I the only one with these faults? Looks like, after waiting six months, I'm going to have to return it.

- SteveR

Posted by Steve Rapport in San Francisco on May 9, 2003 at 9:01 AM (PDT)

17

That's weird. I had a similar issue where I plugged the iTrip into my mostly charged 20Gb iPod, I got the low battery warning. It then shut down. Since then, I haven't had a problem with it.

Jeff

Posted by Jeff in Seattle on May 9, 2003 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

18

Actually, I forgot to mention: I also got the low battery screen this morning, when I plugged in the iTrip. And that was after charging the iPod all night. Weird.

Posted by Steve Rapport in San Francisco on May 9, 2003 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

19

Regarding the low battery warining this is from a problem with the Apple audio connector. Occasionally when the connector is inserted, it will cause a short. This happens with both the Apple remote and iTrip as they use the identical connector. The iPod may need to be reset when this happens.

Posted by Griffin Guy on May 9, 2003 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

20

Hey there Griffin Guy,

It's probably really stupid of me to even post this here, but how long is it taking to ship out all the pre-orders? I preordered a month or so ago, and mine hasn't shipped yet. Just wondering!

Thanks
Moldy

Posted by Moldy on May 9, 2003 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 28 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.