Griffin iTrip | iLounge

Reviews

21

I just received my iTrip from Griffin yesterday. So far, it seems to be a decent replacement -- though it's not perfect. I have not yet figured out a consistent way to get the iTrip to sync with the radio frequency I've assigned it via the controls. This becomes annoying when I've parked the car, gone shopping, come back, turn on the radio and spend a few minutes futzing to get iTrip to recognize the station. Is there a proper procedure to getting the transmitter to properly sync?

Sound quality ranges from very good to poor, depending on how clear of a 'static' frequency you can find on your FM dial. I also wish that it was possible to use my Kressel iPod case in conjunction to the iTrip. As it is, the only way I can get iTrip to attach fully is to completely remove the iPod case.

I have not compared this with other FM transmitters, so I cannot comment on it.

Moldy, I'd recommend sending Griffin Tech an email. I had preordered the iTrip months ago, and hadn't heard anything back until I sent them an email. After that, it was expedited to my door within two days.

Good Luck, and keep those reports coming.

Posted by Krishna Sadasivam in Savannah, GA on May 9, 2003 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

22

I'm from Spain. I've read that Griffin is not shipping the iTrip to Europe. Is it actually true? Does anyone know a way to get an iTrip from Europe.
Thank you very much.

Posted by Rodrigo in Spain on May 9, 2003 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

23

I'm like the hundreds of others, I'm sure: I have my iTrip arriving soon but I have already ditched my old-school iPod for the 30-gig hotness!

Now, I've heard many reports that the old iTrip won't work with the new iPod, but shouldn't it be able to? Interfaces with the headphone jack either way, no? And you can rotate the device so the firewire port is out of the way, correct?

Anyone have an answer? I'm really curious.

Posted by Nicholas Howard in Los Angeles, CA on May 9, 2003 at 3:05 PM (PDT)

24

I think Odyssey would have been a great name for this product. I hope they rename it.

Posted by Japan guy in Tokyo on May 9, 2003 at 8:46 PM (PDT)

25

2 questions.. first.. is the outermost ring of the connector (same as iPod remote) where the device is getting its power? if so, it won't work with anything else.. if not, it will..?
and secondly.. do you have to reset the iTrip station every time you turn on the iPod? or does it save the last station selected?

Posted by selcouth in Dallas, TX on May 9, 2003 at 11:49 PM (PDT)

26

Hi Europeans !
I've found a French online store wich sells Itrip...
<www.macway.fr> so it costs 20 bucks more (58,60 euros and shipping not inclued) than Griffin store !

Posted by gilloo in France on May 10, 2003 at 12:26 AM (PDT)

27

Hi Japan guy,

Yes, the iTrip will 'memorize' the last station you've calibrated it with. I'm slowly starting to get the hang of using it, and overall it seems to be a decent product.

Posted by Krishna Sadasivam in Savannah on May 10, 2003 at 5:34 AM (PDT)

28

I think I am not getting something. People talk about range, and how they have to keep their iTrip close to the dashboard and stuff. But if the iTrip is transmitting through your FM radio, isn't the proximity and direction to the car's antenna what matters? Maybe I don't know anything, but then again maybe some people are complaining and using coat hangers for antennas. On another note, Anyone tested the iTrip in the NYC area? Would really like to hear about that. And we are off in 3-2-1...

Posted by Vaporeso in ny on May 10, 2003 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

29

Thanks Gilloo, for the European source at MacWay! Of course when you add shipping and taxes it comes to 73.60 Euros...but I *w a n t* one. I *n e e d* one.... so I've gone ahead and ordered one (rubbing her hands in anticipation)

Posted by Nina Contini Melis in Paris, France on May 10, 2003 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

30

I got mine last night from the Pasadena Apple store. I can see that if I lived in Montana, this would rock. But being in the big city of LA, this is almost unusable - we have almost zero frequencies that are empty. I shoulda looked at the radio first, but I was excited to try this thing, and I guess for under $40, I can live with the loss - or wait until I take a long road trip across the USA.

Posted by scottb in pasadena, ca on May 10, 2003 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

31

Anyone determined how to get the iPod back to the default station of 87.9 frequency. Here in the Metro-DC area, most of the frequencies are taken.

Posted by David on May 10, 2003 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

32

The iPod doesn't have a default frequency, but you should be able to set the iTrip playlist to use it.
I was able to get (this part is not as easy to use as I would hope - it's inventive, but a pain) one decent station, but the sound is fairly poor.
Again, I don't think it's the iTrip's problem, just a lack of free public airwaves here in the city.
I'd like to try it in a more rural area, but that sorta makes it uesless for me...

Posted by scottb in pasadena, ca on May 10, 2003 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

33

ScottB, try 100.7 (or 100.5, can't remember exactly which one)... worked great for me in Orange County.

Posted by Dennis Lloyd in Irvine, CA on May 10, 2003 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

34

I'll give those a shot, thanks anonymous 'Podder!
All these !@#$%$# Mexican stations here are killing me...it's a joke folks, but true. wink

SB

Posted by scottb in pasadena, ca on May 10, 2003 at 12:16 PM (PDT)

35

Scott, I was thinking about getting one too, but $40 is a lot for me to give up if I can't tune to something here in LA. I totally hear you about having any free frequencies here. Keep me posted.

Posted by Jstalilwyrd in California on May 10, 2003 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

36

Wow, what a promo spot for Griffin. A buddy of mine just received his iTrip. What a complete waste of money. In the San Francisco bay area, where the FM band is fairly close to saturated, it was simply impossible to find a single frequency that produced half-decent sound. So I borrowed it for a trip up to Mt. Shasta in Very Northern California where about 200 miles of the trip is through nowhere, and it was almost as bad. There were pockets of clean sound that would last for maybe 20 miles, but I got tired of constantly having to find a new frequency while driving. I gave up after about three hours and just plugged the headphones in.

How does it compare to the iRock, the terrible FM transmitter I got last summer and gave up on somewhere in the middle of Arizona? Better and worse. Better in that the iRock only provides four frequencies, all practically on top of each other, worse in that you can't charge your iPod while driving with the iTrip. Better in that the iRock is too easy to accidentally turn on, worse in that the iTrip costs $15 more.

If this is the best, I give up. My next car stereo will have an auxilliary-in jack so that I can just plug directly into it. Sometimes wireless ain't better.

Posted by KMB in CA on May 10, 2003 at 3:56 PM (PDT)

37

Agree with KMB. Living in San Francisco, it seems like it's impossible to find a free frequency, and impossible to use the iTrip. Not that mine works properly anyway...

Posted by Steve Rapport in San Francisco on May 10, 2003 at 4:56 PM (PDT)

38

For sale: iTrip, used one day. $30 + $2 shipping.
email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by scottb in pasadena, ca on May 10, 2003 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

39

i have had my itrip for less than 24 hours and i am sorely disappointed! Not only is it nearly impossible to find a useable frequency in the central florida area (has anybody thought of creating a database of iTrip stations for metropolitian areas?), but unless i firmly push the connector in and tilt it slightly toward the firewire port, it doesn't even power up. The only use i have found for it is at work, in a building nearly inpenatrable by radio frequencies, and even then i have to put it only about a foot from the antenna on any given station. As for the car use... i am sure that my iRock worked better!
If you have not yet bought an iTrip i would recommend saving your money and putting it toward a car stereo with an aux input, i wish i had.

Posted by andrew in orlando on May 10, 2003 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

40

hmm.. it sounds like a lot of the complaints are not actually complaints about the iTrip but about FM transmission in general.. perhaps people should check out their radios before buying the iTrip and then complaining about it?

Posted by selcouth in Dallas, TX on May 10, 2003 at 8:04 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 28 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.