Griffin iTrip | iLounge

Reviews

541

can you only install the itrip to one ipod?

Posted by cayy in New York on January 31, 2005 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

542

I have 3 different iTrips. One for the first generation iPod, and two for the latest mini and iPod. The first generation iTrip seems to work for better (better frequency, less static) than the newer ones. Anyone else have this experience? Any reason why?

I had both iPods broadcast to the same frequency in the same place in the same car, to test them.

Posted by Glenn Mehrbach in Durham, NC on February 12, 2005 at 1:45 PM (PDT)

543

I have purchased three iTrip units in less than a year. Yesterday, for the third time, the audio plug broke off of the main body, rendering the unit useless. I can almost take responsibility for the first two casualties, for I was placing my iPod in my backpack without removing the iTrip first. However, I never left the third iTrip attached to the iPod when transporting it, yet it somehow still broke.

The audio post mounting should be redesigned. Perhaps it could extend to the other side of the unit (on the interior) rather than relying on a weak connection on the circumference of the unit.

Although I have been very pleased with the operation of the iTrip and am impressed with its aesthetics, I will not be buying a fourth one.

I'd be interested to know if anyone else has experienced this problem.

Chris

Posted by cjn1962 on February 17, 2005 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

544

I am about to buy an i.trip II and have read all of the reveiws here and want to know if they work with the 4th Generation 40 gb i.pods and if the rception in the uk is generally ok.

Posted by skista in Cornwall, England on March 7, 2005 at 2:22 AM (PDT)

545

I received this as a Christmas gift this past year and I think it works pretty great for living in such a station-saturated city -- Los Angeles.

Posted by ~JT~ in South Pasadena, CA on March 10, 2005 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

546

The iTrip works great for when I'm at work, but in the car forget about it. The static is so annoying and the sound is so flat I thought I was going to toss the thing out the window.

I've since invested in the neo ion and life has been beautiful.

Posted by mattydread in NY on April 2, 2005 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

547

The Itrip works fine. In the New Orleans area, 107.9 is empty and while there's a little hiss and the frequency response is compressed like an FM station, it's fine. The good thing is no wire to run except for the charger. The pod is mounted in the Belkin cupholder mount right under the radio so getting a signal to it is no prob.

Posted by jasonlava on April 8, 2005 at 5:20 AM (PDT)

548

To. Casualfc.

If you need a help with this, go to forum, not review pages...

Posted by frank84 on April 14, 2005 at 8:13 PM (PDT)

549

Useless in the city, a little better in rural areas. I live in L.A. and this thing would not work on any station in the Century City/Beverly Hills area. Actually travelling anywhere on the Westside and South Bay got nothing but static and trying to change the frequency on the iTrip while driving is a long and tedious task and an invitation to get into a car accident. I wouldn't recommend using it in the car but in a stationary location with a radio works fine.

Posted by TheLoungeFly on April 28, 2005 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

550

YOU CAN GET THEM IN THE UK!!! There's a place that ships them from the Isle of Wight. I can't remember the name of the shop but it shouldn't be hard to find on the net. But if you live in London don't bother. I got mine a few months ago, almost choking in anticipation i put it in the car and was massively dissapointed. There is no bandwidth in London sufficiently clear to let the iTrip signal sing clearly to your radio. The absolute best you can get is a few moments of uninterrupted music, which is then followed by the crackling of an interrupting radio station called 'Base' or 'Wicked FM' or something like that.

Don't bnother with the iTrip in London. It might be cool, but it DOESN'T WORK.
Go for a cassette type thing instead.

Posted by simatbirch on June 7, 2005 at 6:36 PM (PDT)

551

oh my god. you may or may not believe this. i am in shock.

I was pleased overall with the iTrip, although I think I'll eventually switch to an in-dash receiver/controller cable just because of the sound quality. that said, i am wholeheartedly sold on the iTrip after this grim story...

Long story short, I accidentally left my iTrip in a white sock (bad iPod storage idea) and WASHED IT, not once, but twice. We are talking full on soap, fabric softener, and most importantly, water. To my horror after the second wash I found my iTrip laying at the bottom of the washer. I took it out, let it sit out overnight, and just plugged it in.

It works. I'm in awe. iTrip, whatever magic is in your inner workings, it is certainly well crafted magic.

Posted by criminalsmile on June 22, 2005 at 11:23 PM (PDT)

552

To echo what many hve said, the iTrip is the best transmitter for your money. At only $26 from Target, there isn't a better deal out there. The main reason for choosing is the price and its compactness. Unlike the Belkin Tunecast II, the iTrip mounts directly to the iPod and doesn't have any extra dangly wires. Simply it's less clutter.

Although station signal strengths vary in a car when driving city to city, it's a great portable way to use whatever is available to you when you are on travel, i.e., a friend's home stereo or a hotel clock radio. Obviously, there is no substitute for direct connection, i.e., RCA adapters etc., but the iTrip is the next bet thing.

Posted by doctorhathaway on June 29, 2005 at 3:05 PM (PDT)

553

After reading the reviews about people claiming that the iTrip was being interupted by neighboring stations I called apple to ask what could be done. A specialist suggested that instead of going to a weak station with no incoming signal, to use one with a strong signal (such as a talk show like NPR). The iTrip will actually block out that station and replace it with what music you have chosen. I have used this with an iTrip myself and have had much success.

Posted by DramaticFake on July 29, 2005 at 9:25 PM (PDT)

554

I just want to give my 2 cents on the whole itrip signal interruptions.

I had a problem with the preset stations that were included in the CD. I couldnt find the sound quality I wanted. I found out there were extra stations that you could install. The Griffin website has extra downloadable stations posted.

Solved my problem and quite happy with it. And yes I use it every single day smile

Posted by kooldiver on August 16, 2005 at 1:32 PM (PDT)

555

I went to look up your review of the iTrip again just to be sure that I was not being unfair in my criticism of it when speaking with some other people.

You have got to be kidding. Not even one single "con"?

My experience with the iTrip and iTrip LCD has been that they should be rated "unacceptable". they really are junk!

It is difficult to believe that you did anything other than copy and paste a press release or else Griffin slipped you a unit that has nothing in common with the ones available for purchase by the poor public.

It is obvious that Griffin has not studied the FCC regulations involved. They are completely clueless and their technical staff did an extraordinarily poor job of implement the concept.

Without hacking the unit it is completely useless.

Posted by Ronin47 on December 17, 2005 at 12:19 PM (PDT)

Page 28 of 28 pages « First  <  26 27 28

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.