Griffin iTrip | iLounge

Reviews

61

If your itrip pops out of the firewire connector, us a file and cut the tab down.....no more pop outs.

Posted by Dan in Nebraska on May 13, 2003 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

62

The size? My iPod is a 10meg version with the solid state (non-moving) wheel.

As for the connector, I'm not so keen on filing down the tab, particularily since it doesn't work well even when turned. If it worked well that way, I might be willing to modify it.

Posted by Ric Wilson in Los Angeles on May 13, 2003 at 11:36 AM (PDT)

63

Ric i will buy it off you....

Posted by Ian in uk on May 13, 2003 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

64

How would we work that Ian?

Posted by Ric Wilson in Los Angeles on May 13, 2003 at 12:30 PM (PDT)

65

Ric email me .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by Ian in uk on May 13, 2003 at 12:32 PM (PDT)

66

I've been looking into the iTrip working in Europe:
The ipoding.com review says that it comes with only american and japanesse frequencies. I don;t know much about radio freqs, so I emailed griffin and asked if these freqs. would work in Europe....The only explanation I got was "The US are all odd frequencies. 87.9 etc...."

They won't explain this anymore...so do America have different frequencies from Europe?
But I'm sure I can tune into 87.9 etc. if I really want. What do they mean by 'odd'?

Anyone in the know let me know
cheers
Leon

Posted by leonthepro in London on May 13, 2003 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

67

leonthepro--

American radio frequencies look like this: 98.5, 103.3, 107.9. That's what they mean by "odd"--the tenths digit of the frequency is odd. There are no stations like 104.6. How is it done in Europe? Are you odd or even?

Posted by Ted Hammond in Winchester, MA on May 13, 2003 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

68

Odd or even radio frequencies do not matter as long as your radio can tune to the iTrip frequency broadcast range. I live in Canada and we have both odd and even stations.

Posted by cyber_bum in Canada on May 13, 2003 at 7:23 PM (PDT)

69

How cool will it be when we get the iMic? Combine it with the iTrip and we can all go around broadcasting personal philosophy, shopping lists, or secretly recoreded conversations! Niiiice....

simon
rainoffire.com

Posted by Simon in UK on May 13, 2003 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

70

No problem to order the itrip for delivery in The Netherlands. iTrip works fine. No problems at all. Range at home about 50 feet. Driving trough the country (where the fm-band is verry occupied too) tuned at 91.1 mHz....no problems. Very good sound quality. I am a happy user. The only thing missing are the 'even' frequencies in the range for even a better tuning. The fm-band in The Netherlands runs from 88 to 108 mHz in 0.1 mHz steps.

Posted by Hans in The Netherlands on May 14, 2003 at 12:29 AM (PDT)

71

Hey All!
Judging by the variety of comments and complaints about the iTripís ďfitting issuesĒ, Iím awfully curious to find out if, in an attempt to rush the iTrip to market after its latest LED changes, they may have had their plastics supplier use Soft Tooling to manufacture iTripís housing. It just sounds like an awful lot of quality issues concerning final fit and finish. I wonder if you had three iTripís laying side by side, if you could measure a slight difference in each. Iím guessing Griffin went for Soft Tooling given their quickly approaching street date for their new iPod version. So much for Quality - I wonder if a Ford Motor Company family member sits on the Griffin Board?!?
Good luck waiting patiently for yours to arrive. Oh! I ordered from the Apple Online Store and paid for the overnight shipping and received my iTrip in two days. Try Apple direct Ė although youíd think the iTrip OEM would carry the majority of product stock over a reseller??? Ciao- silverone

Posted by silverone in Detroit, MI on May 14, 2003 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

72

Just wondering if most of the people having reception problems have cars with Antennas on the rear wing of the car? One possible fix could be to get a different antenna for your car, Here in the UK I`ve seen ones that are a flat strip stuck on the inside of the windscreen. Dont know if you can get them in the States but I`d gladly send someone one in return for a iTrip I think they cost about the same sort of money (20-25UKP)

Posted by Sam Machin in UK on May 14, 2003 at 10:29 AM (PDT)

73

I bought the Belkin Tunecast wireless FM transmitter at the same time as my 15GB... it was an impulse, I didn't even think about there being too many filled radio stations in my area (New York City). And yet, it works fine... really! Even when driving through the heart of NYC, I get a relatively clear signal... and get this: when it gets static-y, I found that if I just hold the transmitter, the static clears up... so at least for the NYC area, I recommend the Belkin (on 88.1, btw).

Posted by ipodsings in NYC on May 15, 2003 at 5:39 AM (PDT)

74

I thought about getting the Belking and almost did, until I saw iTrip. How do you set uop the Belking in your car if it is only attached by a thin phone jack cable? Doesn't the transmitter flop around a bit. I like the iTrip because of its design making the Ipod and it one piece.
Thanks.

Posted by Philip in NYC on May 15, 2003 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

75


anyone looking to sell their itrip, drop me a line--

shoreleave at sympatico.ca

Posted by fishboy in ottawa, on on May 15, 2003 at 9:34 AM (PDT)

76

I contemplated buying the iTrip after reading some promising reviews and being impressed with it's sleek design. After using the iRock and being very dissapointed, I decided to lay down the extra cash and just buy a receiver for my car that accepts an aux input directly on the faceplate. To my surprise, I found one for $129. I installed it yesterday and it works like a charm! All you need is a male-male mini cable and you're good to go. The best part about it is that there is no loss in sound quality since you're plugging the iPod directly into your receiver. I'm soooo glad I went this route now after reading about all the issues with the iTrip.

Anyway, for those that are interested, here's the receiver I bought:

http://www.us.aiwa.com/default.asp?page=products&action=viewProduct&prod=407

Aiwai makes some nicer ones and there are other companies out there that make higher end recievers but this is the cheapest one I found. I bought it on Crutchfield.com, which also ships you the wire harness AND installation kit for your car for FREE.

Rock On!!!!!!!

Posted by Sick of FM Transmitters in Mass on May 15, 2003 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

77

So Iíve had the iTrip for three full days now. I have a 10GB ďOld StyleĒ WinPod but also just bought a new Honda Element. Honda built a MP3 Input right into the dash and so thatís how Iíve been enjoying crystal clear sound from the iPod to the Honda OEM radio.
But I also have a Lexus roadster with an amazing factory stereo but it lacks the auxiliary input all together. Iím not about to tamper with the Mark Levinson setup so thatís why I got the iTrip. Itís amazing! I was using the now prehistoric cassette adapter but it sounded horrible and always gave a great deal of ďhissĒ with increased volume. But with the iTrip, all that has disappeared and Iím quite enjoying my iPod again. I also found it a blast to take to friends houses and easily setup on their home tuners for great party tunes. Great idea and cheap too!

Posted by silverone on May 15, 2003 at 11:57 AM (PDT)

78

Message to fellow i-poders - Save your money. Itrip is a real bummer. Certainly in this area it's almost impossible to find an FM frequency that doesn't have something on it. If Itrip could transmit to some lower frequencies - below 88.1, perhaps. But, like other reviewers I can't even find the default setting of 87.9. So I'm back to the earphones, which are just great.

Posted by Philip Bunton in Rockland County, NY on May 15, 2003 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

79

Does anyone know if the iTrip works in the UK and if it does, where I can order one from without paying over the odds for postage.

Posted by Alan in UK on May 16, 2003 at 2:23 AM (PDT)

80

Hey Guys!!
Whatís up with this 87.9 Problem??
I have no problem using 87.9 over and over again. Itís a song in my playlist.
Iíd be glad to help. Is there a way I can send you guys the 87.9 file so you can use it again. I wonder if Griffinís Install CD has been revised already during the first pressing.
Let me know and like I was saying Ė Iíll get this 87.9 to any who need it because itís the only frequency I ever use because it is well under any local stations in my area and I think for most other cities as well. Iím having great success with the iTrip and already reordered another one from apple.com thatís already on itís way again. I ended up canceling all my Griffin orders after I received a notice e-mail from them stating that my original iTrip order of four months ago has entered their ďshipping queueĒ but wasnít scheduled to ship until early July. Thatís ridiculous and apple.comís tech support e-mail sent me an e-mail stating they had over 1800 iTrips in stock and ready for immediate shipment. Again, try it, especially if you can get to 87.9 or someone helps me get the file to you all. Thanks and happy iPodding!

Posted by silverone on May 16, 2003 at 4:25 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 28 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.