Shure E2c Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

41

Ok, this is going to be a semi-gross question: Does anyone else have problem with using the E2/E2C and getting all sweaty in the ear? After about 2 hrs listening with the E2 fitted with foam plugs, I feel like I am dripping sweat/ear wax out of my ear, really uncomfortable feeling. And this is with me sitting down working, I can't imagine what it'd be like if I was actually jogging/running.

I'm wondering if the custom ear mold helps with this problem, or is it always going to be like this. Is this just me?

Posted by Lumi on October 26, 2003 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

42

Could someone please post the sizes of various sponges and plugs (S/M/L). I'd be also interested in he inner and outer diameters of the tubes. Thanks fo your support...

Posted by podlover on October 29, 2003 at 3:55 AM (PDT)

43

I just hooked up my E2s and they are sweet. I had major dilemmas between these and the E1s and hope I made the right choice. I read here and there that the 2s were better for ipods and portable devices than the 1s so hopefully that was right. The Shure person that answered my e-mail was very helpful too. I like them and would recommend them.

Posted by Andrew on October 31, 2003 at 1:44 PM (PDT)

44

I bought these earphones based on excellent reviews. It's very tricky to get them in right and you certainly can't pop them in and out quickly. But once you get a nice seal (I find the plastic buds don't give as much sound isolation as a foam ones) you can't hear outside noise hardly at all.

HOWEVER, after using these for about 6 months, I have to say that they are just very uncomfortable. I've tried all the sizes of both plastic and foam plugs and no matter what, the insides of my ears ache terrible after wearing the phones for more than 1 hour. I'm pretty bummed about this.

Also, the case is a great idea but it's not designed well. The earphones don't fit in nicely and the case is fat and chunky. Also, the cord is too long (I use and iPod with remote cord, which add to the length, so the cord practically drags on the ground unless I wind it around my neck twice.)

Lastly, it's annoying that the cord is meant to be worn behind the head. When sitting in the train or plane, I find that when I move my head, the cord is too tight because I am leaning against it. It also tends to get caught up when I walk.

So in the end, I have to give these phones a thumb down. If only I could find something to replace them that combines confort, sound isolation, and portability! Anyone??

Posted by Alison on November 4, 2003 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

45

alison: you might want to look into getting a westone um1 or shure e1 (same phones, basically...but the latter has a few tweaks and is uglier) with custom earmolds. i don't have any pain wearing the e2s at all, so maybe your ear is just shaped irregularly.

Posted by orange on November 4, 2003 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

46

I had the rep at Shure e-mail me back when I was trying to decide and he said that they were doing away with the e1s and would be coming out with the e3s which were roughly the same but updated (sound the same but not look like hearing aids). So if you were to get the e1s you might want to do so quickly as they will update them to be like the e2s and then you will not have an option.
This post was meant for Allison as well.

Posted by Andrew on November 16, 2003 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

47

i got my custom molds for my e2s...yes u can get molds despite what people say. they work great. much better seal and more comfortable. bought them at [url=http://www.earplugstore.com]http://www.earplugstore.com[/url]

Posted by DavidC on November 16, 2003 at 8:52 PM (PDT)

48

Hmmmmmmmmmm...

This review is a bit tempting to me. I just ordered the Sony ex-71's, and now I'm wondering if I should also try these out.

Posted by Matt on December 2, 2003 at 8:15 AM (PDT)

49

I've had my E2s for a few days and I like them, but I have to say that I also like my Sony EX-51s (which are apparently brand new, and are the EX-71s without the extension cord) as well. For some kinds of music (namely techno and more extreme forms of heavy metal), the artificially boomy sound of the EX-51s is eminently suitable, where the E2s can sound a little flat and "close". However, the EX-51s also sound very tinny and totally aggravate my tinnitus. On a third hand, the EX-51s have the least microphonic cables of any of the earphones I've tried, possibly because their cables are so lightweight and flimsy.

I have the opposite problem of most people, and have to use the largest possible foam plugs to get a good seal -- it feels like my ear canals are widening out as a response to wearing the phones, too. I really like the silicon plugs, but I just can't use them -- the medium-sized ones won't form a firm seal, and the large ones are just a little too large and muffle the treble unacceptably. I'll probably end up getting custom plugs made.

I'm not an audiophile, but I am fanatic about music and am listening to something or other nearly the entire time I'm awake. I've been through a lot of headphones in my time, I'm an ex-DJ, and I've given myself a permanent case of tinnitus from long-term music listening at high volumes. The best things about the Shures are the noise isolation combined with their portability; they don't beat my all-time favorite headphones (the Sony V6s -- I appreciate how flat their frequency curve is, and they'll withstand an incredible amount of abuse), but the next time I fly to Japan, I know the Shures will come in handy. I also think that DJing with the Shures will be much kinder on my tinnitus, due to the sound-isolation.

Posted by Forrest on December 9, 2003 at 2:25 AM (PDT)

50

I tried the Sony's & Koss as well as the Shure's & the Shures are definately the best sounding of the lot. The Koss's bass was overblown if you could get that very alusive seal (not possible for me with the stock earplugs) & though were quite detailed didn't have the open airyness of the Shures. Also the Koss's were very inconsistant out of the box & 1 pair had a dead channel right out of the box & others had internal leaks making a good seal impossible. Out of 6 pair of Koss's only one worked adaquately & even that pair would cracle in the right channel if you even so much as swallowed. Avoid the Koss's altogether!!

The sony's were over bright to my ears the bass soft & loosy goosy sounding & not much real midband ( where most of your music is) as well as not very efficient Almost not loud enough for my panasonic CD player. I can see how some would like the Sony's however as they are truly comfortable.

That brings me to my 1 & only gripe with the Shure's. The reusable plugs are not that comfy at all. I wish for better plugs like the nice soft ones that Sony uses on thiers as those are supremelly comfy.

Sound wise I think too many people are making a big fuss about the supposed lack of treble (It improves as they break in as well as you become accustomed to treble that is not hyped as many current systems do). They actually have a very very open sound with lots of depth to the stage which only come from having excellent treble that is in ballance with the rest of the spectrum. By the way this depth of field is pressant & acounted for thoughout the Audio band, not just the treble. A truly exceptional quality that I have benn looking for for many years & have spent countless hours modifying amps & sources to get it & that is how I know where these qualities come from, That is from excellent but not overdone treble

Very highly recommended

Posted by Ron Brandt on December 12, 2003 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

51

The amount of warmth these phones provide is highly dependant on having a good seal & using high grade electronics. They sound much richer on my modified Sony SCD-C222ES than on my JVC portable CD player. Note I do all my own modifications using my own Ideas. The modified SACD player does not sound radically different tonally than the stock SACD player but is warmer, sweeter, more detailed yet easier to listen to even on CD ( combined with all the other attributes the more detailed is hard to imagine but it is true & possible to get, just not all that easy).

Even then I enjoy both for what they are (the Sony SACD & the JVC portable both sound very good, it's just the SACD player is a richer more rewarding soundscape especially in modded form).

Posted by Ron Brandt on December 19, 2003 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

52

The sound you get with these phones is not only highly dependant on the seal you get at your ears but also the quality of the electronics driving them. Portables tend to sound light weight whereas good home electronics yeild a much fuller sound.

Case in point my Modified Sony SCD-C222ES ( modified using my own ideas & while tonally not that much different on first listen it has somewhat more body, warmth, sweetness & a smoother overall sound as well as having more real detail, this last part comined with the others is difficult to achieve with out a lot of experimentation), compared with my JVC portable CD player. The modified or even unmodified Sony SACD player has much more warmth & body than the JVC portable. I selected this particular portable to have a somewhat less canned sound than many others. It has a good balance of attributes but like most portables is still somewhat shy in the body department but does have really good bass for a portable.

Trust me it is a very fine set of earphones & very revealing yet very listenable, much more so than the Sony earphone of this type

Posted by Ron Brandt on December 19, 2003 at 6:47 PM (PDT)

53

I concur with a review I recently came across here:

http://www.microphonesolutions.com/coandreofshi.html

and my vote will go to the E1. It's half the size of the E2, isolation is much better (my brother has an E2) and highs and lows are better with the Shure E1.

Posted by Jojo Jones on December 31, 2003 at 11:54 AM (PDT)

54

I've just ordered th E2's. Does anyone know if there is a company in the UK who will make custom ear buds?
Thanks.

Posted by zafod on January 5, 2004 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

55

I am sorry to trash these earphones, but my ears arent meant to be with them. They were awful... Sure the sound quality will blow away any ipod headphones (included)... But these earphones were to heavy w/ to much of the earphone out of the ear.
My ears didnt work with them. I tried all of the earplugs and things none of them felt confortable... I would strongly encourage someone to go to a store to buy these... Might be a little more expensive, but at least u will be able to try them before u buy them. I am planning on getting the shure e3c's they look like they fit in small ears like mine...

Posted by Steve on January 16, 2004 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

56

I bought the E2's this afternoon from J&R in Manhattan, and while I initially felt $100 was extremely pricey for a good pair of headphones (as compared with the Sonys, which were next to the Shures on the rack for $50), hearing is believing. Once the Shures are comfortably in the ear, no sound comes through -- I mean nothing. It's surreal, by the way, walking through Manhattan, buses whizzing silently by, people bustling around, subway trains screaming on their brakes -- and hearing none of it. And the fact that I'm jamming along with King's X, Led Zeppelin, George Thorogood, Pink Floyd -- whatever -- at 224 or better and hearing it perfectly amazes me. Really good product.

The only caveat is two-fold -- getting them in your ears isn't as easy as flapping on a pair of "neckband" airphones, and getting them to feel comfortable is another story. Mine feel great, but I can definitely see how others might dislike them. So try before you buy. But make sure your iPod is loaded with a variety of stuff (ie rock, classical, techno, whatever you like lots and listen to often) to test 'em. I'm not sure how the Sonys sound for half the price, but I'm happy with my purchase, and -- the key -- I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Posted by BoogieMan on January 21, 2004 at 6:11 PM (PDT)

57

What a hard decision. I don't really like the earbuds that came w/ my 3G 15GB iPod I snagged last week. I was about to buy the in-ear Apple headphones, but read some bad reviews on those and decided to investigate the Shure E2Cs and the Sony EX71s.

It's hard to figure out which ones are: 1) Better, 2) More comfortable, and 3) The right ones to get... without actually trying both of them, which isn't exactly convenient.

Posted by Peter on January 22, 2004 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

58

Hey pods,
I have used the Shure's for years and there is nothing better out there for the price. Speaking of price. I just got them for $77 with free shipping. Samedaymusic.com will match any price and since you can find them for $79 they will match that (samedaymusic list them for $99), plus send them out the same day, no charge. Awesome service!

Posted by jakob lagerstedt on January 23, 2004 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

59

I have had the Shure E"'s for a months after 2 weeks I noticed an improvement of the warmth and depth of the sound. I'm not sure if this was just getting them to fit correctly or just breaking them in. One thing I would say is I dont like how the cable goes over your ears and I wish the cable had a clip but I made one so Musn't grumble. Great buy and if your thinking of getting some and live in the UK pjbox.co.uk is excellent cheers Barbara for the speedy and excellent service.

Posted by Michael Scott on February 3, 2004 at 4:39 AM (PDT)

60

I tried the e2's they were too big for my ears...
just ordered my e3's can't wait for to get them

Posted by Mijman2 on February 9, 2004 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.