Sony MDR-E888LP Fontopia Earphone | iLounge

Reviews

1

Etymotic ER-4P. Nothing else in the world like them.

http://www.beststuff.com/articles/1358/

Posted by cmm on August 22, 2003 at 12:59 AM (PDT)

2

the right cord isnt supposed to be put under the chin. its supposed to go behind your head.
you put the left one in ( sounds like hokey cokey :p )
then "swoop" the right headphone behind your head and put it in your ear.
imo its great ( as i'm used to it ( they do it it with all the sony headphones i've ever had ) )

Posted by XiXora on August 22, 2003 at 4:44 AM (PDT)

3

correct, the cord goes around the back of your neck. in fact, it is extremely comfortable, getting the cord out of your way in the front, that i can use only this type of earphones now.

i have not tried 888LP but i do strongly recommend 71SL (the cheapest, white color from audiocubes). their only problem, however, is that the cord is about 10 inches too short and with the supplied extension - 30 inches too long

Posted by Vitaly Citovsky on August 22, 2003 at 6:14 AM (PDT)

4

Yeah, the cord around the back of the neck is handy. That way, you can pull them out of your ears when necessary, and they'll hang there waiting for you.

The speakers have a break-in period too. When I first got mine, they sounded like crap (no bass, tinny treble). But after about 20 hours, everything smoothed out. The bass isn't strong but it makes up for it by being very very clear.

They're also a bit fragile. The cord's prone to stripping (though electrician's tape matches the color nicely) and after a year of abuse, my speakers are starting to distort. But when the time comes, I'll probably get another pair.

Posted by Phil on August 22, 2003 at 10:32 AM (PDT)

5

N.U.D.E. (from audiocubes web page)

_Newly developed earphone-tip_ which raises the adhesion to your ears and conveys stronger and deeper bass (N.U.D.E)

Posted by D. Hahn on August 22, 2003 at 11:06 AM (PDT)

6

come on man, u can't be reviewing earphones and not know that the longer right cord is meant to go around the back of your head. How many "reviews" have you written?

Posted by joey on August 22, 2003 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

7

shure e5c - eats etymotic for breakfast. rugged. dual drivers per ear. they will go louder than you can take it before distorting. comes in a metal box. $500, and you will never regret it. astonishing engineering. sheer perfection.
no, i don't work for them - but i am grateful that my search has ended:
http://www.shure.com/earphones/eseries_e5c.asp

Posted by moose on August 22, 2003 at 6:31 PM (PDT)

8

LOL - I wonder how long he walked around with the chin-strap?

Posted by bluejameso on August 23, 2003 at 4:31 AM (PDT)

9

His fault for not reading the manual :p

Posted by XiXora on August 23, 2003 at 5:41 AM (PDT)

10

To not make any comment on the comfort of these seems bizarre, and almost negligent. Potential purchasers need to know that they give great sound (which the reviewer conveyed) but that many find them very uncomfortable. It's also of interest that they've been withdrawn and are no longer available from Sony. It's almost as though he was unaware that the E888 has already been reviewed MANY times on the fora.

It's a nicely written review, but one which makes me wonder what criteria are used for giving review equipment out.....

Posted by Jacko on August 23, 2003 at 3:51 PM (PDT)

11

*I've seen headphones like these worn properly before but until this pair I'd never had the pleasure of wearing headphones with a lengthened right "chinstrap." When I got these I put them on behind my head and the cord pulled the headphones backward, so after that I put them in front. It's been a while and the cord isn't as stiff now. I see the light. I must admit I did look pretty ridiculous with the cord under my chin, but watashi-wa couldn't read the Japanese manual.

*I do apologize for not covering comfort and feel. They're very comfortable on me (I guess I have large ears) and I forgot completely about them once they were in and thus forgot to write about that aspect. They are quite a bit larger than other earbud headphones I've worn, so I could see that they might be uncomfortable for people with smaller ears.

*So the 'U' stands for "ewly?"

Posted by Alex on August 25, 2003 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

12

What a wank review.

This guy needs to get a decent audio setup. He never heard sounds on some tracks? I'm guessing you only listened to Radiohead on the iPod with the packaged phones.

With that conclusion, you're unrealiable in any sort of review. Get a decent setup!

Posted by LooLOo on August 25, 2003 at 7:44 PM (PDT)

13

Ease up and get some perspective, chum. It could have been more comprehensive, sure, but it will be of help to some.

Posted by Jacko on August 25, 2003 at 11:14 PM (PDT)

14

I used to wear my first Sonys in chinstrap mode, too. It's not the end of the world. I also find they can get pulled around by my collar, which is annoying. Also there is an uneven pull on each ear due to this design, which will make the left one work loose eventually (with my ears).

I thank you.

Posted by bluejameso on August 26, 2003 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

15

Not everyone who owns an iPod is an audiophile. Some are, and they should own Etymotics. For a lot of people, though, a little better sound for a little more money is where it's at. So for normal people it's nice to compare to a control like the packaged iPod headphones. At least that was the intent.

Posted by Alex on August 26, 2003 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

16

I think that many audiophiles are extraordinarily pretentious.

Posted by bluejameso on August 26, 2003 at 11:55 AM (PDT)

17

the review is ok for normal audio consumers, i.e the type of people who buy ipod's and wouldn't immediately say:" ugh, crap earbuds, i can't even here the spit bubbles in that singers mouth"

Posted by apt on August 27, 2003 at 5:37 AM (PDT)

18

It's not exactly like the i-pod is meant to be used in dark-side-of-the-moon silence, either. Anyway, I use mine on the tube or in the street.

Posted by bluejameso on August 27, 2003 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

19

actually, as nice as these phones may seen, these are even better:

http://www.audiocubes.com/product_info.php?cPath=22_30&products_id=387

im listening to them right now. they match my 'pod and they sound great. actually, all of audiocubes rocks...all of the best looking (and sounding) stuff from japan. and it gets to you in a matter of days. check it out. those phones are the best 45 bucks ive spent recently.

Posted by fastthumbs on August 27, 2003 at 12:29 PM (PDT)

20

I want to buy one of these in ear earphones, but I have no way of testing to see if they will be comfortable. Also, AudioCube says on the site that they charge a minimum of $10 for shipping. That sucks, $10 for shipping earphones.

Posted by Outrager on August 27, 2003 at 7:46 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.