Sony MDR-E888LP Fontopia Earphone | iLounge

Reviews

21

Yeah those sony's look great. We can't get them in the UK right now. However I would be delighted if some enterprising Brit would prove me wrong...

Posted by bluejameso on August 28, 2003 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

22

You can get them in the UK from amazon.co.uk but only the black ones unfortunately... (I think they only do black anyway)

Posted by Jc on September 5, 2003 at 5:02 PM (PDT)

23

oh well, thanks anyway.

Posted by bluejameso on September 5, 2003 at 11:48 PM (PDT)

24

what an idiot didn't know longer cord is loop around.....SUCKER!

Posted by smarty on September 10, 2003 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

25

Perhaps it's a simple case of supply and demand but I discovered that many stores (and more than a few websites) quickly sell out the "high end" Sony earphones (like the MDR-E888LP). In fact, the Sony "flagship" store in midtown Manhattan didn't have them in stock (they tried to get me to buy a cheapo $15 model). Eventually, I found the MDR-EX71SL model at J&R downtown...and bought two. I picked up a "backup" because Sony earphones are extremely fragile and frequently "tear" at the center cord. For $45, the MDR-EX71SL is a good bargain - excellent, clear sound on all frequencies...and more comfortable than the ipod buds.

Posted by Martin B on September 11, 2003 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

26

I had a pair of MDR EX70s recommended on this site a long time ago. I thought they were excellent value for money, however when they changed to the EX71s they appear to have radically altered the sound quality and I personally wouldn't recommend them to my cat

Posted by felix Krish on September 12, 2003 at 1:09 AM (PDT)

27

for bluejameso try [url=http://www.bluetin.com]http://www.bluetin.com[/url] if you want to order a pair of white MDR-EX71SLs. They deliver to UK and I'm sure it will not take longer than a week - took less to send mine to Sydney.

Posted by yinyang on September 12, 2003 at 4:19 AM (PDT)

28

Comparing EX71s to E888s is like talking about Skodas on a thread about the Porsche 911......

The EX71 is a piece of cr@p by comparison.

Posted by Jacko on September 12, 2003 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

29

can someone tell me what the ear fit is like for the E888s? do they surpress a reasonable level of outside noise?

Posted by felix Krish on September 17, 2003 at 12:12 AM (PDT)

30

Just purchased the MDR-E8s and I must confirm with many of you these earphones are OUTSTANDING!

I personally don't like earbuds that 'seal' my ear canal. Yes, I understand sound is somewhat sacraficed but the sound quality of these are terrific.

I strongly support as a moderately priced set of earphones

Posted by terryt on September 17, 2003 at 4:02 AM (PDT)

31

I also agree with Jacko. I purchased the EX71s and SEND THEM BACK.

The ear fit with the E8s is reasonable snug but not that different than IPODS. I do feel the material that covers the speaker 'grabs or sticks' somewhat better to the ear but understand these are best used if stationary. I personally like hearing GREAT sound but able to listen to what else is going on around me.

Posted by terryt on September 17, 2003 at 4:05 AM (PDT)

32

I own one of these and I used it for my Sony Net MD player. The bass is quite good and a bit strong. The only issue I see in terms of audio quality is the weak mid-range. It has a lot of bass and high-freq. but slightly lacking in the middle ones. As for comfort, it really depends. My experience is that while it does a good job of blocking out all the outside noises, you feel a little "plugged". It's like you can hear every pulsation, throbbing, and pumping inside your body. I enjoy my music, but I also want to be aware of my surroundings sometimes (especially when crossing the street, or whatever) so I am using my iPod headphones instead of this one. If you prefer isolation and a powerful bass, these are perfect. The outside plugs themselves are made of very soft rubber (they are removable and washable), and 3 pairs of different sizes are included. The mini-jack is L-shaped, not like the iPod earphone's straight style jack.

Posted by puggy on September 20, 2003 at 10:12 AM (PDT)

33

The above comment is meant for the Sony EX 70-LP not this one. Sorry.

Posted by puggy on September 20, 2003 at 10:14 AM (PDT)

34

For the guy trying to get white sony MDR-EX71SLs in the UK, you can get them on eBay auctions often, but they're going for stupid prices often, so its probably worth trying to find a cheap but-it-now auction or something, otherwise you'll pay over the odds for them. I just ended up getting them in black, save 10-20 for the sake of the colour.

Posted by Nick Kemmer on September 27, 2003 at 1:19 PM (PDT)

35

I'm much more comfortable using those loop-around cords in 'chinstrap' mode. Have done for years. Round the back of my neck feels all wrong. :p

Posted by mintcake on October 1, 2003 at 1:01 AM (PDT)

36

weirdo... wink

Posted by Striker on October 1, 2003 at 1:07 AM (PDT)

37

I have the MDR EX70SLs. They are excellent headphones, I have these and the E888s and use the for different activites. They are both ridiculously efficient so your iPod will seem louder (yay!). Mine are black, and i contemplated moving up to white ones, but its not worth it when the ones I have (supposedly last gen, but we all know Sony, a minor update to design, and sell it for more) are more than fine for the job.

Posted by Prateeko on October 24, 2003 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

38

I bought my first pair of Sony ear buds while in Japan 'round 1987. I, too, was baffled by the one-long-one-short wires until i saw a great number of Japanese folks on the train sharing the headphones. I wonder if that isn't part of the original concept... not chinstraps or neck loops.

Posted by Scott on December 3, 2003 at 4:30 PM (PDT)

39

Just got these today from Audiocubes.com. Since they're just out of the box, they havent had time to break in (if there is such a thing) and they sound exactly like the apple earbuds. They also fit just like them too. I bought these with the impression that they would fit more tightly, and securely for people with bigger ears. I've been listening to them for maybe 30 minutes, and so far I havent been impressed by them. It could be that they dont fit properly on me, but who knows.

Posted by Rob on February 3, 2004 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

40

I'm not sure who to trust anymore as far as earbuds go. Everytime I look for great earbuds, I find tons of controversy. I finally bought some Sony ex71's, and I wasn't as impressed with them as I had expected to be. Some say that they suck, others say that their great. I like them casual listening or listening when I'm outside, but not for intensive listening. Some say they have a break in period, some say other brands blow them away. I just don't know who to trust anymore. I'd love to buy some e888's, but I can't decide because of the different opinions here.

Would you recommend these or not? I use my buds on a Sony net MD player right now, but I plan to use them on either a ipod or a minipod in the future (when I buy them). I just want some straightforward opinions (if that's possible.) Thanks guys.

Posted by Matt on February 19, 2004 at 6:08 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.