Belkin Backup Battery Pack | iLounge

Reviews

21

i have to admit, "iSloth" is a really clever insult...

well, maybe not.

Posted by Noah on November 18, 2003 at 9:11 PM (PDT)

22

aye - why 'sloth'? My ipod is faster to operate than my Nomad III ever was, and faster to spin up than a cd player or minidisc.

If Apple had made the ipod four times as large, you could have a battery that lasts a week. So what? For the majority of commuters, 6-8 hours a day is probably plenty.

Posted by woody on November 20, 2003 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

23

"If Apple had made the ipod four times as large, you could have a battery that lasts a week."

I don't think you need to make it that huge! The DellDJ is only slightly larger (maybe .5") and 2oz but it lasts 20 hours.

The Karma is *smaller* than the iPod, but it lasts 12 hours.

Posted by battery on November 20, 2003 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

24

My point is that if the ipod doesn't give you the battery life you want, then buy a player that does. I imagine that Apple made a very careful usability/ethnographic decision based on the fact that most people use their ipods for less than 8 hours between charges. The beauty of Apple is that the design doesn't (ususally) come at the expense of function (my Powerbook 12 is the most wonderful, beautiful, functional thing I own).

Posted by woody on November 25, 2003 at 10:19 PM (PDT)

25

Can you fit the battery pack on the back of an Ipod with a #### iSkin eXo on it

Posted by eXoskin on December 3, 2003 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

26

Since when does the Dell DJ's battery last 20 hours? According to Dell it lasts up to 16 hours, and as is the case with all rechargeable battery systems "up to" really means under optimal temperature, altitude and time of day. I have yet to see a rechargeable battery last for the amount of time the manufacturer has advertised. That said I doubt the Dell DJ will in-fact last for 16 hours. Most reviews I have seen say that the Dell manages up to 12 hours of play, which is far short of 16. I think it is quite commendable that the iPod lasts roughly 8 hours (for most) and Apple only claims "over 8 hours."

For Dell DJ specs go to http://www1.us.dell.com/content/topics/segtopic.aspx/brand/delldj?c=us&l=en&s=gen

For Apple iPod specs go to http://www.apple.com/ca/ipod/specs.html

Posted by Wheeljack on December 8, 2003 at 7:26 AM (PDT)

27

Since when does the Dell DJ's battery last 20 hours

Dell is being conservative. As a company Dell is refreshingly averse to hyperbole and exaggeration, unlike Apple. "First 64 bit PC my arse".

http://reviews.cnet.com/4505-6490_7-30582921-2.html
"The area in which the DJ truly rocks is battery life: an astounding 19.5 hours--significantly more than the 16 hours that Dell claims."

http://www.digitalmusicsite.com/forums/index.php?s=&act=Tutorials&CODE=03&ID=10
"at 9:37PM the darn thing finally popped up a message that said, “Shutting Down”, followed by a pretty little pixel graphic that says Low Battery. 22 hours and 37 minutes."

Posted by DellDJ on December 8, 2003 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

28

I would buy a Dell DJ if they 'Dell' would stop using music match.
Worst program every. Like it makes notepad look great.

Besides that it is a great player able to "darn i say" match ipod.

I agree about the battery life. Apple should have made the ipod a little bigger so it would break that 10 hour mark at least. That or use whatever battery Dell is using. It works for Dell must work for apple.


Cheers

Jeff McKnight

Posted by Jeff on December 11, 2003 at 10:12 PM (PDT)

29

ever

Posted by Jeff on December 11, 2003 at 10:13 PM (PDT)

30

I have just found that you can charge the iPod with the battery pack witout the dock (someone reported on another post that putting the battery pack into the dock allows charging). I did this by putting my iPod into disk mode (I have an unpowered firewire card) while the battery pack was [accidentally] still attached and it proceeded to charge. I have a 3rd generation winpod running 2.1 and to get to disk mode you reset (menu+play for 5 seconds) and then hold down ff+rw while it starts up. this may be useful for people who want to charge their ipod when not listening to music so that the bulky attachment is not needed when listening.

Posted by timmy in Melbourne, Australia on December 26, 2003 at 2:30 AM (PDT)

31

Question....

Regarding the Belkin Battery Backup that takes 4 AA batteries....

Would it be feasible that when the iPod's internal Lithium battery eventually dies for good, that this battery pack could then be used as the permanent battery for the iPod?

Posted by Fonda on January 7, 2004 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

32

It would certainly work for that, although the additional bulk is considerable. For most people, I think, the additional $100 battery service would be worth the price -- especially on a high-end model.

Posted by theReviewer on January 7, 2004 at 8:24 PM (PDT)

33

Thank you for reviewing this in an environment that I would actually use it. Did you use speakers along the trip?

::For backpacking, the additional weight required to support the iPod is substantial;::

Which if the thing had an port on it to charge batteries within the pack, it would be better. In this way, one would only need one or two sets of batteries and, as mentioned, charge them via solar. Get a cheap folding solar panel to charge the batteries while hiking/kayaking/canoeing/camping.

However, the report that the ipod can be charged via the dock and battery pack, may give hope for a light solar rig yet.

Cheers!
~cQ

Posted by ~cQ on January 15, 2004 at 9:11 PM (PDT)

34

This is perfect for a backup when traveling and, especially when you are off the beaten path-- that's why I got it. I get paranoid that fluctuating electricity might blow it. Maybe this is a stupid concern, but it's nice to know that it you can be self-reliant.

Posted by rumba on January 30, 2004 at 9:55 AM (PDT)

35

~cQ, No, I didn't use speakers on the Muir Trail trip...just went with the iPod's stock headphones. It all added weight to the outfit, but I was really glad to have the music along for the walk. -Eric

Posted by theReviewer on January 30, 2004 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

36

I notice everyone has ignored the poor fellow who asked about connecting this device to a second-generation iPod. Mine has worked fine for some time, but I'm going on an extended trip and came here seeking the same advice. But there wasn't any. Pity.

Posted by OldSchool on February 12, 2004 at 3:52 AM (PDT)

37

I am not really good at electronics, but I saw that the normal power adaptor gives out 12V, while 4 batteries give about 6V. Can anyone test how much the Battery pack gives? If it's also 6V (I would say so), then one could also make it's own battery pack very easily.
I'll appreciate infos about this, and also will notice you when it works!
You also could take the normal FW/dock connector cable, allowing you to store the battery pack soewhere else...

Posted by Mat on February 28, 2004 at 5:44 AM (PDT)

38

oldschool there is a batt that you can make for the older firewire ipod

Posted by hey on March 1, 2004 at 6:30 AM (PDT)

39

I recently bought one of these (yesterday infact) and now I have it, I must say I'm suitably impressed.

For those considdering making one, it might be a low cost option, but there are benifits buying this:

Chaces are the pack you'll make (or buy) will look crap. All the ones on eBay do. The belkin pack looks good on myPod, and, if there is a problem with myPod because of it, there is someone to blame - belkin. Thoguh I expect belkin to of made it properly to work perfectly with the iPod

The pack comes with extra suction cups, and batteires - something I wasn't expecting and am quite pleased with. Hell, you shouldn't own an iPod if you need it, but there is also a 1 page (per language)manual.

Other than the obvious downside that an iPod wont fit in any good comercial iPod cases about - this is definatly worth the investment for the extended battery life.

Though the comments on size and bulk are valid, I think they are over-exagerated. I can still fit myPod in my jeans' pockets - and its really not that heavy when stocked with 4 good AA's.

Mine cost me £50inc. via Partmaster.co.uk, with some extortionate £16 for next-day dilevery (necessary, I need it for 2morrow)

Posted by Alex forbes on March 4, 2004 at 9:04 AM (PDT)

40

Does this work with the Ipod Mini?

Posted by Kroz on March 5, 2004 at 11:16 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.