Belkin Backup Battery Pack | iLounge

Reviews

61

CAN THIS BATTERY PACK CHARGE THE IPOD INTERNAL BATTERY OR NOT? SOMEONE HELPS!
Thanks
Clint

Posted by clint on October 24, 2004 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

62

This product works pretty works well. In my experience it effectively recharges the iPod battery - but like it says in the article you need to connect it before the iPod battery gets too low. The only downsides are that it takes up a lot of space and it is heavy with the batteries.

Posted by bcmiami on November 15, 2004 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

63

Are there AA battery packs like this for OTHER systems? any ones that work across a different range of models?!!

Posted by FORTUNE on January 14, 2005 at 12:14 AM (PDT)

64

Does anyone know anything about the emergency 9 volt battery charger for the Ipod? Here is a web site showing one.
http://www.supermediastore.com/apple-ipod-9v-emergency-adapter.html
Is this a viable option to other non-electrical chargers?

Posted by blato on March 18, 2005 at 2:47 PM (PDT)

65

I just bought a Belkin Backup Battery Pack for my 40GB 4G, but see there's a sticker on the back that says "Not compatible with Disk mode."

Can someone explain why? I don't mind switching my iPod to auto-update mode when I travel, but it's kind of irritating to have to do that.

I haven't opened my package yet and may just return the thing and try the new BTI AA battery pack instead....

Posted by gillers in Denver, Colorado, USA on April 5, 2005 at 1:48 PM (PDT)

66

Just got one from J&R for $24.99 and much to my surprise it came with four AA batteries. I'll use these and then switch to rechargables. Excellent just in case option.

Posted by Reiki on October 18, 2005 at 12:09 AM (PDT)

67

Would someone please explain how what exactly my "dock connection port" is, and if this product would be able to recharge my iPod? I'd like to buy this (or another product) to use as an iPod AA battery recharger at night while travelling in remote locations overseas. I have a 20 gig iPod with a color screen that I bought a couple months ago (not entirely sure about what model this is). Thanks for any advice you may be able to offer!

Posted by ckosydar on November 2, 2005 at 7:57 PM (PDT)

68

REVIEW: Belkin Battery w/iPod Video 5G

Tested it out last night, the alkaline batteries supplied with the product provided enough juice to watch 3.5+ hours of LOTR Fellowship of the Rings (Extended Edition) on the iPod's 2.5" screen, without touching the iPod's own battery system. Thumbs up! Depending upon the alkaline batteries, I'd expect anywhere from 3-4 hours of video playback.

Posted by pcmodem on November 17, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

69

pcmodem:
Are you using 30GB or 60GB model of iPod for video?? I just got my 30GB iPod and I have planned to get one of these AA Battery Packs for my in-flight movies...

=)juha

Posted by JuhaN on November 24, 2005 at 1:42 AM (PDT)

70

I bought this off Amazon a few months ago for about $30 with shipping and (aside from seller negligence) I have been very satisfied with it. I have a new 5G 30GB white iPod and the battery pack fits well, lengthens the battery life by a lot of hours, and doesn't damage my iPod (but I'm nearly anal retentive about the condition of my iPod so I make sure there will be no scratches anywhere... ever). I usually use the battery pack on a full charge of the iPod and with high-capacity rechargeable batteries and it has never died on me. I used it to watch full-length movies on 3-hour long plane trips and long car rides too. I'd stronly recommend this if you will be taking you iPod on an extended period of time with access to an electrical outlet, especially if you have a video iPod and you wil be watching movies.

Posted by plague on April 9, 2006 at 10:32 PM (PDT)

71

I bought this unit, and it does look nice and read very promising, being that I have plenty of AA batteries as I am a photographer. But my first foray was useless. The iPod lasted all of 5 hours, and yet the batteries were drained.

Maybe I simply hadn't cranked out enough juice in my iPod, I wondered. Well, it was ripe for an ultimate test. So I plunked in a fresh set of Duracells and powered up. Hey, the Apple logo! And then, nothing. Hmm, the batteries felt loose. So I extended the metal springs inside to keep the AA's snug.

Checked the lights, which showed 4 green LED's, and I think I'm good to go. Plug in, turn on, Apple logo... then blank. But something incredible happened at that moment. I smelled something distinctively alarming, so I opened the battery cover and yanked them out. One of the springs glowed red-hot!

I went from dubious to outright denial in ever attempting to connect this unit to an iPod again.

Posted by Karl Ferron on August 6, 2006 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

72

i have an ipod nano first generation and it has run out of battery, meaning you cannot charge the battery anymore. there is nothing left in the battery. i dont want to get a new battery. is it possible to use this belkin battery pack without ever having to buy a new battery for your ipod again?

Posted by ldtlt654654 on November 4, 2006 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

73

I've had the Belkin for a year now and recommend it highly. When travelling halfway around the world on long flights and in places where simply plugging into the wall to recharge my 5G 60gb iPod was not an option, the Belkin works extremely well. Hooking up the Belkin also allows me to continue listening to my music and watching my movies at hours on end even after the iPod battery has completely drained. As my stoner friends would put it, it ROCKS.

Posted by Harry Kintama on December 16, 2006 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

74

This unit is NOW $19.99 from Maxell. You can order it through Amazon.

Posted by Everyperson on August 15, 2007 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 4 pages « First  <  2 3 4

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.