Belkin Voice Recorder | iLounge

Reviews

21

8khz mono?
ouch..

wee bit little?

Posted by Stasyna on October 22, 2003 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

22

I just need enough quality to record my college professor's lectures.. I think this would suffice.. if it were cheaper.

Posted by Diversion on October 22, 2003 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

23

diversion, you may want to wait till you hear from someone in the real world who has tried lecture halls with this device. i will have one in 4-5 weeks to test...i made my decision to purchase cause all i need is to get my croaks into waves, perhaps that way i will remember it's bath day and i might remember to send my mom a card on her birthday. seriously, i am hoping it will do lectures, but from what i read it may not be able to pick up that far away at a good enough quality to be bearable. lectures are hard enough to sit thru live. good luck.
jig

Posted by jiggy on October 23, 2003 at 2:20 AM (PDT)

24

Even if i had a 3g i would wait for griffin tech to come up with a decent solution for line-in recording and/or a decent microphone.
I agree that better quality would result in crap battery time, but i doubt it would affect it sooo much as to make it unfeasilble

Posted by aptmunich on October 23, 2003 at 11:32 PM (PDT)

25

Wouldnt it be possible to take this thing apart, and outfit it with a better mic?

Posted by teh d00d on October 24, 2003 at 12:09 PM (PDT)

26

has anyone even confirmed the microphone is crap yet?

Posted by jiggy on October 24, 2003 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

27

I just wrote a quick review: http://www.ipodlounge.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11300&perpage=15&pagenumber=2
It's not bad, really!

Posted by Wired on October 24, 2003 at 5:41 PM (PDT)

28

thanks for that...see, it sounds pretty good, can't wait to get my delivery. please post the results from lecture hall here...

do you have mac or pc ipod, and are you using usb or firewire?

thx again.

Posted by jiggy on October 24, 2003 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

29

I just ordered one yesterday from the Apple Store online and I already got confirmation that it has shipped. Apparently, the backorder info is wrong.

Posted by podjoy on October 25, 2003 at 5:35 PM (PDT)

30

mine shipped yesterday too...they must have just got them in! but we paid too much...i've seen here they are 35$...ke garne.

Posted by jiggy on October 25, 2003 at 6:16 PM (PDT)

31

jiggy,
I'm using my iPod with a G4 Ti Powerbook, via FireWire.

Posted by Wired on October 25, 2003 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

32

even if it's possible to connect a better mic to the iPod, 8khz mono is still useless

Posted by jp on October 27, 2003 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

33

I got mine on Saturday. At first, I thought it was broken. When I tried to record something, it came out all distorted. Then I tried holding the iPod farther away from my mouth, like an arm's length. It was actually much clearer. Is this the way everyone else's works. Or is mine defective?

Posted by Smivey on October 28, 2003 at 2:40 PM (PDT)

34

Face facts the iPod is a low-end mp3 player sold for much higher prices than it deserves. Expanding the dinky iPod with all these overpriced underperfoming gadgets is about as impressive as Asian thug wannabes adding chrome rims and nitrous to their rice burners. Get a real car!

If you want real recording, get an mp3 player with this stuff built-in! Pretty much every iRiver flash player has it, and many of the disk-based players. Even the new crappy Dell DJ has recording built-in.

Why pay inflated prices for an iPod? Send Apple a message!

Posted by BadSound on October 28, 2003 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

35

You may think that the iPod is just an overhyped device that's overpriced with very little capability, but you would be suprised at how sophisticated it is.

It has two 90 mhz pentium class processors, ample storage, an awesome display that is unparalleled in any digital audio player that I've seen, and adequate amounts of memory, This means that it is really the software that is holding it back, yet, it can be upgraded. There is no other reason why we can't develop applications and run them on the iPod right now. In the near future, it may actually be possible by one of two means: Apple begins to support third party software add-ons for the iPod(the chances of this are looking good), or a third party makes a new OS for the iPod(Linux on iPod is currently the only one worth noting).

And my no means is it a "low end" MP3 player. It has superior sound quality, small size, and is generally aesthetically pleasing to look at and hold. In objective tests (comparing the output waveform to the original one), the iPod has extremely high fidelity in playback, vastly better than most CD players and MP3 players. This means that you could rip a track from a CD without any compression at all (save it as AIFF or WAV), and when you listen to it on the iPod, chances are, it will be of even better quality than what your CD player could produce.

Posted by Sraphim on October 28, 2003 at 6:11 PM (PDT)

36

dear bad sound, if you dis da chomes on my maruti one more time, i'm gunna take my rice burner and charbroil ya hide, ya hear me? have some respect.

Posted by jiggy on October 28, 2003 at 8:08 PM (PDT)

37

Sraphim:

"an awesome display that is unparalleled in any digital audio player that I've seen"

I guess you haven't noticed that several players in the sub-iPod range offer color LCDs, and in the same price range I can name two off-hand that feature almost 4" of color LCD goodness, easily enough to watch movies, analyze photos, or take pictures.

Archos AV320
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000A3KY4/
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0000A3KY4.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

RCA Lyra
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00008VFCU/
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B00008VFCU.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B00008VFCU.01.PT01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

And I saw several reviews of the new DellDJ saying that while its UI lacks the simplicity of the iPod's, its backlit screen is a thing of beauty and exceeds the iPod's clarity.

"It has superior sound quality"

Why do I see no figures for S/N or THD on Apple's site? I've blind auditioned the iPod alongside the Zen and the new iRiver HD player using the same range of MP3s and the iPod scored. Slightly inferior to the iRiver, definitely inferior to the Zen.

Finally, if I want *real* sound output with low noise gain I use a player with an analog line out, not a headphone jack. And if I want pristine output, I use an optical or coax digital line out to bypass the inherently noisy small-form DACs. The iPod offers neither bypass option. This is simply not acceptable in something that pretends to be "high end". Even the old Archos offered coax, the new iRiver offers optical.

I am willing to believe you about sound if you can show me some figures. All I see on Apple's site if mummery and marketing fluff.


Posted by HiQ on October 28, 2003 at 8:37 PM (PDT)

38

Sraphim, you raise many points and i have to assume valid points, as i know nothing of these things. i just listen to a lot of music and when i plug my ipod into my relatively speaking high-end home system thru the headphone jack is sounds just as good as playing a cd, albiet i can notice a difference. but to me the results from both sound great, and not enough for me to even begin to comment on. i know nothing of optical connections and dats and whatnot, but my ears are probally shot anyway from rock concerts and bars and traffic noise here. so for me, i did not mind paying so much for the ipod, cause i look at the CAPACITY of the thing and the ability to use it as an emergency hard drive if i have too...
cheers,
jig

Posted by jiggy on October 28, 2003 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

39

Whatever features other MP3 players have you can't touch the iPod for the untouchable - QUDOS.


Keep your second rate machines..

Posted by PROvider on October 30, 2003 at 12:23 AM (PDT)

40

> you can't touch the iPod for the untouchable - QUDOS.

What is this "QUDOS" whereof you speak? Can I get that in an 80GB version?

Posted by Kudos on October 30, 2003 at 7:25 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.