Belkin Voice Recorder | iLounge

Reviews

61


Also see some disappointing comments on the belkin v.r. at Apple's discussion forums (ipod:voice recorder) here: http://discussions.info.apple.com/WebX?13@114.JFbuaEvbvVz.0@.599ac838

Threads tend to center on the crackling/clipping issue, as well as occassional loose connections and overall unrealiability... other threads point to threads here at ipodlounge. Looks like many of us will be awaiting a future voice recorder from Griffin, and hopefully it will be better...

A few threads:

"Disappointed in Belkin"
http://discussions.info.apple.com/WebX?14@114.JFbuaEvbvVz.1@.599b72aa

"Belkin clips harshly, and easily"
http://discussions.info.apple.com/WebX?14@114.JFbuaEvbvVz.1@.599d9f6f

Posted by Santaduck on December 24, 2003 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

62

I can't seem to make my new voice recorder work. When i plug it in nothing happens and there is no "voice memo" option in my extras menu. Can anyone help or is it just a dud?

Posted by Aidz on January 7, 2004 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

63

I had incredible problems with distortion using the belkin microphone. Even with low levels the distortion was so bad the it
pretty much made the microphone useless.

I am hoping that Griffins version of this mike will work better.

I am also looking for a small digital recorder which can handle an external mike and has excellent frequency response. Its amazing that there is really not much out there right now.

Posted by Ipodder on January 18, 2004 at 10:53 AM (PDT)

64

Ur all screw this is the best thin the world has seen with the G5 so all u mac haters beta watch it cuz macs rock./.... yeah macs rock

Posted by James on January 28, 2004 at 9:23 PM (PDT)

65

Does anyone know if you can use XPlay or other software to drag these WAV voice files off the iPod? Then I can turn them into nice small MP3s and put them back on the iPod. ;^)

PD

Posted by Paul on January 31, 2004 at 4:48 PM (PDT)

66

Want to record concerts live? Get a Creative Nomad Jukebox 3. It excels at doing this. the 40gig version should be sufficient. I have experience with it. Still I use my 3g iPod the most for listening.

Posted by Master SamWise on February 2, 2004 at 6:27 AM (PDT)

67

i did a mini-experiment today with my voice recorder. i took it to one class, which is a small classroom, seats about 30 people w/ desks. i sit in the very back row. my voice recorder worked great, it does pick up every noise between you and ur professor (including the hard drive spinning occasionally), but i was very pleased.
my next class was in a huge lecture hall, probably 150 people seated at long tables. i sit near the back in this class too, and it still picked up on everything my prof said, -even though you could tell he was a distance away-(except when someone would cough or i had to change pages). i was very surprised.
p.s. the mike on this thing still sucks.

Posted by cara on February 2, 2004 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

68

i meant the holes in the front of the recorder that are passed off as a speaker still sucks. comparable to turning ur headphones up as loud as they go and listening without having them by your ears.

Posted by cara on February 3, 2004 at 4:51 PM (PDT)

69

Here you go: http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/italk/

Shipping in April.

(for some reason preview isn't working for me, so I have no idea if this post is legible)

Posted by John R. Daily on February 9, 2004 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

70

Ditto octavio. To say that the Belkin is a disappointment is an understatement. It is NOT suitable for voice recording, it MAY be suitable for recording John Cage's 4'33"... of SILENCE. How is it possible to sell a product that doesn't even begin to do what it's designed for?!

Posted by audiophile on February 17, 2004 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

71

People in movie and or video industry wouldnt have minded some quality to the hz/bitrate/file format as well... mono can is acceptable for voice as sweetening and music in stereo will help cover that, however by all accounts it sounds like this Belkin thing will only go as far as making a recording that you can make out what is said, rather than something you would collect with a remote second mike. Back to the Minidisc or Nagra I guess.

Posted by TankmanB on February 22, 2004 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

72

I bought the voice recorder today and tested it before using it to record a lecture. It worked fine, sound quality was not too good but what do you expect, it's a voice recorder. The real problem revealed itself when I took it to the lecture. It worked for about an hour, while completely draining the iPod battery. An hour after the recording began the ipod just turned off and the low battery icon barely came on. When I got home I saw that the file didn't even get saved.
I have a new iPod and the battery was fully charged. Lecture recording is listed as one of the uses for the voice recorder and that's the only reason why I needed this device and that's where it failed me. I believe that Belkin should discontinue this item until it is improved, or put the time / battery limitation on the box instead of bragging about "hundreds of hours." I am returning this item tomorrow.

Posted by zaur on March 8, 2004 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

73

I tried this product out for 5 days. The package says you can use it in lectures so I figured it would be perfect for a small classroom situation. I was wrong. The end result either muffled and quiet or loud and distorted. In no way did repositioning the ipod improve things. Ultimately, the audio quality is terrible. Finally, I wanted to only record portions of the class so I was stopping my recordings often and thusly making new "memos". With 14.6 gigs free I was unable to record more than 4 memos. I restarted my ipod, same thing. Removed and reinserted the recorded, same thing. I'm not sure if that is a common glitch but it was enough for me to be completely sure it is not worth the $75 (Canadian) price tag.

Posted by Paul on March 23, 2004 at 11:13 AM (PDT)

74

My Griffin Technology's iTalk is going to arrive this week. I hope it works better then Belkins!

Posted by Kimmie on April 18, 2004 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

75

Does anyone know how long they record for?I was going to record some of my drumming stuff, but I guess I'll have to buy a Griffin iTalk instead..inconvenient

Posted by DP on April 30, 2004 at 2:37 PM (PDT)

76

Hey "Kimmie", if you have reseived your yet...Hows it work?!?..is it sweet, can you record songs and stuff?

Posted by DP on April 30, 2004 at 2:40 PM (PDT)

77

They need to get a Griffin iTalk review out soon, I wna tot hear what folks have to say about it, cause I wan to get one...but I want to know what folks think aboiut i
P.S. I have heard good stuff about ti thouhg..but still...more info!

Posted by DP on April 30, 2004 at 2:43 PM (PDT)

78

Does anyone elses voice recorder have a really distorted product? I have tried it with all types of distances from the source, with all types of backgrounds, and have only found that the recording sounds like Darth Vadar.

ALso, the alarm clock feature only goes for about 2 seconds, not nearly enough to wake me up. ANy thoughts?

Posted by pc on May 6, 2004 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

79

I bought one of these things too in order to record my band rehearsals and it's WORTHLESS! It's all static! A gain adjustment feature is hugely needed or this thing is crap!!! Very disappointed. There are two others out now that supposedly have gain control, although I don't know if they'll cut the input back enough to get a clean recording in my case. The other ones are iTalk and the Belkin Universal Microphone Adapter.

Posted by Vic Thrill on August 30, 2004 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

80

has anyone tried using the belkin or griffin unit to record piano music sketches with the ipod sitting on the piano?

Posted by losaltos on December 24, 2004 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.