Belkin Media Reader | iLounge

Reviews

21

"I have not bought an Ipod or the reader yet"

The low-tek solution? Buy a few extra cards! More utility, and you'll save cash and provide redundancy.

The high-tek solution is to avoid outdated bad designs like the awful iPod-Belkin mismatch and get a more modern portable.

Get something with CompactFlash and photo/video viewing built-in! They generally cost less than the ipod+Belkin combo, and probably less than a single iPod, and offer on-device viewing and editing.

Lyra
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00008VFCU/

Archos AV
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00009XFVT/

Archos GMINI
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000UJH36/

FlashTrax
http://www.smartdisk.com/Products/DigitalMultimedia/FlashTrax.asp

Vosonic
http://www.vosonic.co.uk/vmp3h.html

Sony GigaPocket
http://www.i4u.com/article821.html

Avias MEC
http://www.iavias.com/eng/product-mec-deluxe.htm

MP3OK Jukebox ET970
http://www.mp3ok.com/et970.htm

GenSoc MJB-3100
http://www.gemsoc.com.tw/pro_mjb3100.asp

Top 10 Multimedia Players
http://www.i4u.com/article688.html

List of Personal Video Players
http://shanebrinkmandavis.com/homepage/JBMM/Competition/

Posted by options on November 11, 2003 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

22

You cannot use both the battery pack and the media reader at the same time; there's only one dock connector, and they don't daisy-chain.

Whether it's "enough" depends mostly on how frequently and how much you expect to upload. If you need to upload several GB several times a day, you probably won't want the iPod/Belkin setup. If your needs are more modest, as mine are, it's a good fit.

Note that this mostly makes sense if you already have (or want) an iPod. To buy an iPod plus Belkin just for photos is probably the wrong approach!

Doug

Posted by Doug Eldred in USA on November 14, 2003 at 3:01 PM (PDT)

23

Has anyone else encountered this problem:

I've got a 512mb flash card with apx 120 4mb pixs on the card. I get about 48 pictures into the read (10 mins) and the iPod just shuts off. I had a full charge on the iPod and I can reboot it and the battery indicator says there is a half charge available. Charge the iPod to full strength again and try to dump the photos from the CF card. The reader gets 20 something photos dumped from the card and then the shutdown and reboot occurs. I have had this occur after pulling 2 photos off the card! It seems that the software encounters problems pulling the images off the card at random points and then the iPod reboots.

Any thoughts?

Posted by Matt MacDonald on November 17, 2003 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

24

I believe I've seen similar reports, with the user usually saying that the device had been returned for exchange. I haven't seen this problem myself.

Posted by Doug Eldred in USA on November 21, 2003 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

25

I just want to say that all the posts here are very useful for me.
I have a want for iPod for so long, but I realized I need more than iPod+Belkin combo can offer. I might looking for Nixvue Vista and their firewire adaptor.
If I have extra money maybe I'll be iPod. But you know lots of cool gadget outthere, like PowerMac G5, Nikon D2H, Sony Vaio U101, etc.

Posted by Pinky Mirror on November 29, 2003 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

26

Circuit City have a 10-in-1 media card reader for $10-$15 after rebate.

Why does Belkin charge so much for such rubbish?

Posted by 10In1 on November 29, 2003 at 12:41 PM (PDT)

27

I tried it at London's Mac Expo last week and was under-whelmed. The speed was a major let down but it is the first product of it's kind for the iPod so allowances should be made. I am sure future revisions will be better.

One thing I would like to see is the use of AA size batteries rather than AAA. I often travel off the beaten track and while a device such as this would be most useful, AAA batteries aren't as readily available as AA - you can get those near enough anywhere!

Posted by Kieren Geaney on November 29, 2003 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

28

I have a 3 gig digital wallet from Minds@work I use that for my digital photo storage during trips and use my ipod for music.
Don't know if they are still in business, good transfer speed and low cost.

Posted by Ron Read on December 2, 2003 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

29

Just wondering if anyone knows if the Media Reader accepts Memorystick Pro cards? I was under the assumption they are slightly different than standard Memorystick.

Posted by mcescher on January 7, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

30

"Circuit City have a 10-in-1 media card reader for $10-$15 after rebate.

Why does Belkin charge so much for such rubbish?"

Because you are talking about totaly different product o_O

Posted by Nemesis in Lexington, KY on January 9, 2004 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

31

Thanks for the suggestions. I did not know that these items existed. When I take my trip I plan to have one of the Vista readers with me. Hopefully they will begin to market the mp3 addition soon. With the Vista reader I can also view the TIFF, Raw and NEF files.

Posted by thear fraley on January 11, 2004 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

32

Does anyone know if belkin/apple have any plans on ever adding support for 1G/2G iPods for this one... I don't see why it wouldn't work, the 3G connector is just a non-standard firewire connector isn't it? So belkin could just make a converter, and Apple could upgrade the firmware for the older iPods...

I have a 2G iPod at 20Gb and I'd love to be able to use the extra storage for storing images on vacations and what not.

Posted by Cokeman on January 15, 2004 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

33

Does anyone know if the belkin can handle RAW files or am I going to have to shell out 500$ for a Smartdisk?

Posted by Matthew Parker on January 24, 2004 at 3:11 AM (PDT)

34

This review says it can handle RAW files...

Roleo

http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2003/12/02/photo_ipod.html

Posted by Roleo on February 3, 2004 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

35

I borrowed my coworkers Belkin Media Reader when I went on a trip to Japan for 10 days and it I felt it does a decent job for your average Joe/Jane.

It is very compact and it doesnít take up much space in your bag. One cool thing you can do with it is load photos from someone else's memory card and store their photos and import them into iPhoto rather than having them send you the original at a later time. My in-laws only have a dial up connection so they have to burn the photos to a CD and then mail the photos to me, which is a slower option than the Media Reader.

It is a slow device, but I would start importing photos and then take a shower. By the time I finished, all of my photos were imported. If you arenít a hardcore photographer and speed isnít a huge concern, this is a great gadget to have.

Posted by fresh fish in SF, CA on February 3, 2004 at 7:21 PM (PDT)

36

I have the Belkin Media Reader and I cannot get it to import anything form the Lexar 1gig 40x. Belkin even replaced the unit and still the same problem. Whenever I connect the Belkin and insert the Lexar 1gig 40x card, the iPod alway displays no photos! There are files on the card.

I have an iPod 40gig unit with software version 2.1.

Has anyone heard of this and have a fix or suggestion, or do I have to sell it on ebay and buy some other brand?

Thanks,

Posted by Bob on February 17, 2004 at 2:45 AM (PDT)

37

Picked up a new-in-box Belkin Media Reader off of eBay for $67 last week to partner with my 10g iPod and Canon S50 for an upcoming vacation..

Speed isn't a concern, camera has a 32mb SD card, so transfer time isn't too much. I've used it to take images from my mom's Olympus' smart-card without hassle, it let me get the pictures from her without email or burning to a CD.

For a vacationer, with mild expectations, it fits the bill completely.

Posted by Todd on March 7, 2004 at 9:25 AM (PDT)

38

Has anyone tried the memory stick pro? Its not listed, and I have found other readers which support the regular stick not do the pro. Thanks!

Posted by Jim on March 8, 2004 at 3:58 PM (PDT)

39

there is a lot of complaining about the batterys in both the ipod and the card reader not lasting. would it not make sence to then have a wall adapter that plugs into the card reader. if the card reader had inbuilt Lion battery it could be used on the go or while plugged into a power outlet. also, to overcome the problem with the ipod going flat from spinning the hard disk up for 20 mins, it should also charge off the card reader that is plugged into the wall.

it there was even a "double adapter" for the ipod so it could have its power adapter plugged in at the same time as the reader that would be good.

thank you all for posting this info about the problems with the card reader, i was thinking of gettin one but now i wont until they have been addressed.

dean.

Posted by dean on March 9, 2004 at 2:39 AM (PDT)

40

There is a similar, cheaper device to the Belkin Media Reader, called a "Macalley Syncbox". Some iRiver users have tried it and reviewed it (see links below). It is a general purpose USB reader which supports FAT16 and FAT32 formats (not NTFS or MacOS). Does anyone know if it would work with an iPod?

][url=http://www.macally.com/spec/usb/input_device/tablets.html]http://www.macally.com/spec/usb/input_device/tablets.html[/url][/url]

http://www.misticriver.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=729&highlight=syncbox

Posted by Mark on March 12, 2004 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.