Belkin Media Reader | iLounge

Reviews

41

Can you see pictures on the iPOD?

Posted by bobby on April 13, 2004 at 5:05 AM (PDT)

42

hi.
i just got a 2nd hand belkin media reader for the ipod. it downloads all types of card very well, except for my sd-cards (from a canon ixus). is there an issue that i'm unaware of?

Posted by Alexandre Kapellos on April 21, 2004 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

43

yea I agree


yea me to

Posted by sonny on April 30, 2004 at 2:31 PM (PDT)

44

BLOODY HELL! Somebody answer the PRO question. Does the Belkin Media Reader support MEMORY STICK PRO? I have a 512 mb pro and I am going to europe and i don't want to have to use my two 16mb cards and transfer multiple times if i can just use the 512 and transfer twice a day.

Posted by Jason on June 19, 2004 at 7:27 PM (PDT)

45

This thing IS NOT compatible with memory stick PRO cards, i have just bought one and my 256mb card is completely unrecognised in this thing, what a load of crap.

Posted by Saqib on July 15, 2004 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

46

I'ma pro photographer who went on location this past weekend to do a shoot and I ended up shooting over 1000 photos. However, transferring the photos from the card to the iPod was not only slow, but it utterly drained my iPod's power. The first roll (222 photos) made it, but then I had to recharge the iPod again for at least an hour before I could offload the second roll (159 photos) which again sent the battery to near zero. I recharged again and had the same problem with roll #3 (235 photos). Finally, on Roll #4, the iPod shut down in the middle of the transfer and only got about half the roll. Fortunately, I didn't set it to erase the card as it transferred, or else I would have lost my photos. This product, while seemingly good for offloading photos, is NOT good on a pro-caliber level. You'd think they'd have some sort of optional power cord that could power both the Reader AND the iPod so that shortcomings like this don't happen. When I called Belkin to explain this to them, they couldn't have cared less and sounded like they'd heard this one before. I don't know if they have any plans to fix it or make a new, better model. If they don't, hopefully, some other company out there will.

Posted by DVD on July 15, 2004 at 2:57 PM (PDT)

47

Belkin is compatible with Memory Stick Duo (pro to some people?). The problem I ran into is that Lexar is not making all of their products fully compatible. I had problems with a Lexar 256Mb CF not working in a HP camera and Lexar 256 Memory Stick Duo not recognized by the iPod. Lexar is the problem since sony branded duo worked and fuji branded CF worked (with both camera and belkin).

I loved this device. For the price of an iPod and the media reader, it was just a little more expensive than a 512 MB Duo memory stick. I was traveling around Ireland and never had a problem with this, except the Lexar sticks. iPod battery life was good and the media reader never had a problem. If you are a so called professional, then you can certainly afford thousands of dollars of memory sticks (or what have you), but if you're a tourist taking 20-50 pix a day, then this is great. It was small enough that I could carry the camera, iPod, and media reader on my bicycle so I could take as many pictures as I liked.

At 5MP I was getting a pictured transferred about every 5 seconds. Waiting a couple minutes is definitely not too long, and it if will take 10 mintes on a larger card, then just plan it out. Good, durable, product that delivers on what it says it does.

Posted by Ben Lagemann on July 17, 2004 at 7:02 AM (PDT)

48

Has anyone tried to modify the media reader so that it also acts as a battery pack for the iPod? Belkin's battery pack uses 4 AA batteries, so it seems like it would be simple enough to tear apart the media reader, re-wire it to use AA's instead of AAA's and to provide power to the iPod at the same time. It might need a switch if the iPod doesn't like the idea of using a media reader and power supply concurrently, but I doubt it.

Posted by Joe Hendrickson on July 21, 2004 at 7:43 PM (PDT)

49

Hi, does anyone know if there is a card reader that is compatable with both the ipod and xd cards. Just bought an ipod for a combined music/photo unit. Is it going to be an expensive mistake?

Posted by sand on August 3, 2004 at 11:42 AM (PDT)

50

i am trying to find out if the belkin card reader is compatiable with Hitachi microdrive cards. I am going to China for a month and i am looking to leave the Laptop at home. Help please

Posted by mark connor on August 25, 2004 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

51

I've been using the belkin media reader (BMR) for about a year now. I'm a semi-pro photgrapher. I enjoy taking pictures on vacation and have to say that the BMR has not failed me yet. I'm using a Canon 10D (6.3 mp) and I can usually upload an almost full Sandisk Ultra 512 MB card. Granted it takes about 20-25 minutes to do. But I also find that the ipod still has some juice to play more songs if asked to do so. The way I see it, I charge the ipod while I'm out shooting and when i get back to the hotel I hookup the BMR and let it upload while I clean up/enjoy a sunset/or whatever.

At first I wanted to pick up the FlashTrax, but after doing some research, I decided on the ipod. I haven't regretted that decision once.

I do think though that a daisy chain feature would be great on this and many other peripherals. It would greatly enhance it's value. Also I'd like to note that I've uploaded way more than 3GB of data to the ipod through the BMR and all on the original batteries. Most likely I'll need to change them out after this last vacation, but not bad at all....

Posted by Steve Perez on August 26, 2004 at 6:55 PM (PDT)

52

I bought this before my trip to Italy and it was a god send. I took over 1000 pics at full res with my digital rebel (6.3 MP)and it would not have been possible without this thing. The battery drain is a bit of a pain so you have to be clever how you decide to transfer pics, I would usually do it 50-60 at a time on a full charge, and still would be able to dump another 100 pics, 50 at a time afterwards before charging it again. My only major complaint is that I wish it would work throught the dock connector on the back of the altec lansing speakers, this way the battery would be affected if there was an external power supply. Maybe they can upgrade the firmware to do this.

Posted by max on August 31, 2004 at 5:33 PM (PDT)

53

anyone tried the belkin digital media link, which is the better media link? or media reader?

Posted by jt on September 1, 2004 at 4:53 AM (PDT)

54

I mostly do landscape photography, which means tramping around in the wilderness, carrying my equipment with me.

I bought one of these thinking that it would make a good worst-case backup devivce-- for $99 and 10 extra ounces of weight, if I did fill a 1GB card out in the middle of nowhere, I could just back up the card to the iPod and get back to shooting.

But because the transfer rate is so abysmally slow, this wouldn't actually wind up working-- it would be quicker to hike back to whereever my car was, back up to the laptop, then hike back to where I was at, rather than using this device.

If you have a smaller memory card, and are looking at this as a nightly backup device, for example, so that you don't have to drag a laptop with you on vacation, this might suit your needs. But I returned it and used the money to pick up a 2GB memory card...

Posted by Jim on September 12, 2004 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

55

I've been using one of these for about a year, and find it very valuable. I've mostly used it for downloading 256 MB cards, but now also a 512 MB card. Making sure your iPod battery is fully charge before starting a transfer is very important.

As an amateur photographer, I take a lot of photos (200+ per day), and the reader allows me to only need with 1 or 2 CF cards for a 2 week trip. Without the reader I'd need 15 CF cards, so the reader is good value for me.

On occasions that the iPod battery went flat during a transfer, I notice that all of the files that have been transferred successfully to the iPod remain. Provided you knew the order in which the Belkin read the photos off your card (oldest to newest, I'd suspect), then you could put the card back in your camera, delete all those photos that have been successfully transferred, and then download the rest of them after recharging the iPod. Clearly not an ideal solution, but when the battery dies on photo 187 of 189, it would be good to not have to go back to square one.

Anybody have any concrete info on the order in which the reader transfers files ? I could work this out myself of course, but I'm being lazy !

Posted by Luke on September 28, 2004 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

56

I used one of these units together with my 15GB iPod and found that the cable connecting the reade and iPod was quie touchy. Even if the cable was firmly seated and working that just joustling the cable slightly could cause the transfer to terminate. In one case, it caused the iPod to go into the infamous magnifying glass icon disk mode, which meant that it was useless for the next 5 hours. If you use the Belkin, it will NOT be useful on moving bus or on your knee, when it might be joustled.

Posted by artist on October 6, 2004 at 9:03 AM (PDT)

57

anyone know which vendor in taiwan made this??

Posted by jason on October 12, 2004 at 8:52 AM (PDT)

58

I recently acquired a Belkin reader and when I connect up with either a 512BB CF or an 128MB Memory Stick (standard) the iPOD still displays "No card inserted".

I phoned Belkin and they think I have a fault. I just wondered if anyone else had seen this problem?

Posted by Steve H. in UK on November 3, 2004 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

59

Are there any updates on the bench mark test for the new iPod photo and the Belkin media card reader. I'm curious since the new iPod has better battery life. Can the new ipod full charged accept photos from a 1 gig compact flash in RAW format?

Posted by StephenG in chicago on November 5, 2004 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

60

I plan on going for a 5+ month hiking trip and need a place to store my pictures. I have two 64MB smartmedia cards, but would likely only use one card per day. I was planning to use this for a daily backup (probably around 50 pictures a day) with a Solio solar recharger. Does this sound practical to anybody?

I know this is slow, but I don't see it as being too much of a drain on the iPod battery if I am uploading less than 64MB per day. I figure the Solio is the only practical recharger since I will only have access to an outlet for a few hours or less per week.

Posted by maarky on February 1, 2005 at 3:04 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.