Altec Lansing inMotion Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

21

I also couldn't synch with USB with XP. "Unknown USB device". I called Altec Lansing tech support and they were clueless to the problem and told me they would get back to me. That was a week ago. I do have a firewire card and it works fine with it. I would, however, prefer to synch with USB since it is built in to my laptop and I don't have to take out the firewire card everytime. Any solutions out there?

Posted by mazoo222 on January 18, 2004 at 7:36 AM (PDT)

22

Does anyone know if the inMotion box running on its 4 AA batteries will actually charge the iPods internal battery in addition to powering the speakers?

That could be a deal breaker in the field.

Thanks in advance

Posted by TS on January 18, 2004 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

23

Am thinking about getting these, they look fantastic. Anybody know if these speakers will work internationally, i.e. 110-240 support??? thank you.

Posted by Musadiq on January 19, 2004 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

24

Has anyone compared these against the Sony SRS-T77 Personal Travel Speakers? I own the latter, but I amabout to give them to a friend of mine and buy the Altec's.

Is this a bad idea? Please let me know your thoughts.

-Paul-

Posted by Paul Ruffin on January 20, 2004 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

25

Paul, do you not like the Sony? I was hovering between the Altec and the Sony. My entire home system is Sony and I love it. I've seen the Altecs in person and liked them. Sony I've seen only online.

Posted by Jess on January 20, 2004 at 5:00 PM (PDT)

26

TS- The inMotion won't charge the iPods battery when running off it's own battery power. Since the inMotion battery lasts 3X longer than the iPod battery (& are replaceable), this wouldn't seem to be much of an issue.

Mazoo-I've run my iPod through the inMotion with USB on Win XP home with no problems. My USB is 1.1 & the system alerted me to this difference, but it would still mount the iPod & sync......

To all.....If you're in an Apple retail store, ask to listen to the inMotion at the Genius Bar. All of them should have one available to demo.

Posted by Mark F on January 21, 2004 at 5:46 PM (PDT)

27

"By comparison with JBLís cheaper Creature 2.1 speakers ..."

To even *begin* to compare the inMotion speaker dock with simple speakers is like comparing apples with oranges. Most of the original review dealt with this one aspect only. And I'm sure that someone, somewhere can come up with speakers that sound better -- for a price.

But in my case, what attracted me MORE to the inMotion speaker dock was its OTHER functions. I'm a Windows user, running on a PC with an unpowered (i.e., 4-pin) Firewire port. That means that every time I want to update my iPod, transfer files, etc., I have to plug my iPod into the Firewire port, and hope that there's enough battery power in my iPod to finish the job. Or get some kind of "Y-splitter" so that I can get power *and* a data connection to my iPod.

For me, the inMotion speaker dock is a three-for-one: 1) It's a data line to my Firewire port, when I want to update my iPod files; 2) it's a charging stand for my dockable iPod; 3) it also just *happens* to be an outstanding speaker system.

Is it the best set of speakers available? Maybe not -- but they are pretty impressive. Do I need bass and treble controls? Not if I use the Equalizer built into the iPod. Do I like the convenience of size over other alternatives, such as the JBL Monstrosity... uh... Creature? Above all, though, do I appreciate being able to charge my iPod, update my files, and listen to incredibly good sound, all in one unit? ABSOLUTELY!

Posted by Frank on January 27, 2004 at 12:48 PM (PDT)

28

I believe the scooby doo snacks should add white colored snack

Posted by urmom on January 27, 2004 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

29

jonnylighton

if you had a belkin battery pack then you could plug it into the back of it speakers to power the ipod just an idea.

Posted by BIGP in Texas on January 28, 2004 at 3:48 PM (PDT)

30

I'm thinking of getting the speakers to use for my yoga classes - relaxation music - but do all the comments re volume control mean i'd be unable to fade out the music remotely and do an abrupt switch off?

Posted by Rachel on February 7, 2004 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

31

Rachel: You could turn the iPod on and off remotely, but not the speakers. You could not adjust the volume remotely (hence our complaint above.)

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on February 8, 2004 at 12:54 AM (PDT)

32

Anyone own both/compare these to the Creative Travelsound?

If not, sonmeone should do a review ASAP.

Posted by Strykar in India on February 12, 2004 at 10:00 PM (PDT)

33

Paul,

I have owned the Sonys for quite a while and have never really been satisfied with them. Even with brand new batteries the sound distorts at modest volume settings. On a recent trip to the Apple Store in New York I heard the Altec Lansing kit being demo'd and was so impressed that I bought a set without hesitation.

Jeremy Horwitz's review is pretty much spot on but it's a shame that he uses JBL's setup as a reference since it is not a portable system in any sense. The Altecs were bound to sound inferior because they are not intended for the same kind of use but compared to the Sonys, they sound fantastic. My advice - definitely go ahead with your purchase but don't let your friend hear the the Altecs in action, he/she will be very disappointed....

Musadiq - I have used the Altecs in the States and in Europe and have experienced no problems with power supply.

Anyone in the UK interested in buying a set of the new Apple "in ear" headphones? They are better than the standard buds that the iPod ships with but I'm afraid they can't touch the Sony version so mine are up for grabs.

Posted by Biglad on February 17, 2004 at 5:18 AM (PDT)

34

I agreed with Frank that the InMotion should not be compared with the Creature.

like candidate should be Creative travel sound /Sony

However, Jeremy's review of the Monsters speaker just goes to prove he doesn't believe in fair play. Again he use the creature a reference.

Posted by ipodder on February 17, 2004 at 8:36 PM (PDT)

35

I am very happy with the InMotion unit. Mostly, I use it at work. I use it as a dock and charger and use the headphone jack to connect a three-piece computer speaker system that sounds really good and that I already had. I look forward to using the InMotion when traveliing.

It is a great combination of protablility, speakers, dock and charger.

Posted by Rusty on February 20, 2004 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

36

Hi

Is anyone using these speakers with their Win XP PCs? I'd like to buy these and have the option of using them with my PC too.

Thanks.

Posted by AR on February 21, 2004 at 5:42 PM (PDT)

37

Anyone know where to get them in Australia and how much?

Posted by Nuke666 on February 22, 2004 at 2:46 PM (PDT)

38

I love this little compact speaker set! It's sound is more than acceptable to me and I love the design. I would like to see a hard shell case come out to carry all your Ipod accessories. A case to carry your In Motion Speakers, Ipod, iTrip, power adapter, and car charger. You don't want to put the In Motion in the bag with the plug in adapter because it will rattle around and scratch the speakers. I more than recommend this item. Ken

Posted by Ken on February 22, 2004 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

39

Folks....Love my ipod and i'm looking for speakers to enhance my listening time once i'm home. I want to get the BEST speaker system possible...whether it be In Motion, Creature, Sony..i don't care, just want best quality.

What do-you-all suggest???

thanks for your input

larry

Posted by larry on February 23, 2004 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

40

Again, does anyone know about Australian vendors and prices?

Posted by Nuke666 on March 2, 2004 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.