Altec Lansing inMotion Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

61

Jeremy, wouldn't you rather have a remote for the inMotion rather than having to buy a seperate remote for the iPod. Then the line out could remain a line out. And we wouldn't have to buy *2* products!!

I've been reading this review and the iPal review and I'm wondering which to get. To me the differences are:
InMotion:
Better integration with the iPod
Better looking
Half the weight

iPal
Rechargeable batteries

There is a lot of discussion about the sound, but what I can't seem to find on either review is how loud these sets are. Do they have comparative volume or is one significantly louder than the other? I would like to use mine outside by the pool or at the beach while on holiday.



Posted by Law on July 1, 2004 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

62

i really really like these speakers. they are super portable and look very sleek. they have a very good sound for what they are. they really shouldn't be compared to the creature speakers but the sound is pretty close the only difference is that the inmotion don't have enough bass. but overall i would recomend these speakers, but only as portables. i'm saving up to get the creature speakers as well.

Posted by Michael a.k.a. just a dreamer on July 14, 2004 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

63

I've had the InMotion Speakers for about 6 months and for the size they sound great. The other day I noticed the right speaker wasn't working. After disassembling I could see that the wire to the speaker was frayed at the stress point where the unit hinges. I soldered it back and it works fine now but I'm not sure for how long.

It seems like Altec Lansing could put more flexible wire this part considering it needs to twist repeatedly. I'm curious if anyone else has had this problem.

Posted by Michael D. on July 20, 2004 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

64

I had the inMotion speakers for a few hours. They do exactly what they say, but since I already have a dock, the cool factor didn't justify the price FOR ME- YMMV.

I chose the Creative TravelSound instead. Yes, you have to pay extra for the AC adapter if you want it (stupid), but it's still a cheaper way to go - if you already have a dock.

I didn't compare them back-to-back, but they both sounded about how you'd expect - no complaints from either, and overall, pretty comparable.

The TravelSound does have a few advantages for me - the speaker angle is adjustable, the whole unit is smaller, and the iPod attaches with a cord rather than sitting right by the speakers.

Why is that a benefit? I'm lazy, and when I'm in a hotel room, I can have the speakers on the desk and have the iPod in the bed - almost like having a remote control. wink

Posted by ahe on July 22, 2004 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

65

Are there any issues when using these with a 4G new Ipod?

Posted by Ryan on July 28, 2004 at 4:17 PM (PDT)

66

Has anyone resolved the dock issues in XP that some people have had? I've had my speakers for a couple of months now and love them (as speakers) however I just started using it as a dock (trying to at least). Here's a summary of my situation:


1) 4G connects fine using either 1394 or USB2 cable directly

2) Inmotion dock w/1394 connection - no response from computer

3) Inmotion dock w/USB2 connection - computer recognizes something, but I get "USB device not recognized" message.

I have tried both hubbed connections and direct connect to the ports on the MB - I get the same results. I have read similar issues from other people - but never read anything about a resolution. Does anyone have any knowledge on the subject?

4G 20GB and Itunes 4.6 in XP.

Thanks.

Posted by Ogrex on August 7, 2004 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

67

My in motion speakers do not work well when operating on battery power. I'm using it with my ipod mini, and it works just fine when runing on DC power, but with the batteries the sound is constantly cutting in and out, even with brand new batteries. I took it back and had it replaced, but my new set is doing the exact same thing. Has anyone encountered the same problem, or am I just having really bad luck?

Posted by felix on August 8, 2004 at 10:13 AM (PDT)

68

I am having the same problem. The sound constantly cuts in and out when using the batteries.

However, I am pleased with the performance of the speakers when running off DC power. Overall, I am happy with the purchase.

Posted by gnagel on August 16, 2004 at 10:08 AM (PDT)

69

these are amazing, i just got them today, they are right near my bed, and i love them. They sound great, and extremely portable. I cant wait to take these to Portugal with me smile

Posted by kyle on August 18, 2004 at 5:26 PM (PDT)

70

Got my InMotion plugged into my laptop running Itunes...How do I get the speakers on the InMotion unit to work instead of laptop speakers?

Posted by Matt on August 27, 2004 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

71

Has anyone tried the inMotion iM3? It's a little smaller than the original, and it has a wireless remote (which I assume includes a volume control--one of the bigger shortcomings of the original). The remote is a nice addition, but I'm really interested in whether the iM3 sounds better than its predecessor.

Posted by whj on August 31, 2004 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

72

I don't have the InMotion yet. I would really like to get it but haven't seen where it can use AC power. Does anyone know if it can? If not, what small, compact, travel size speaker set is comparible to InMoion that uses batteries and/or AC power?

Posted by lwr on August 31, 2004 at 9:14 PM (PDT)

73

does this unit also work with the 4G iPod's?

Posted by feLiX on October 5, 2004 at 9:20 PM (PDT)

74

RYAN - i am having the same problem with the USB connection not being recognized when connecting the inmotion to my laptop through the ipod's proprietary connector. let me know if you find a solution.

Posted by Hamad Alhomaizi in kuwait on November 15, 2004 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

75

Is this compatible at all with Ipod photo because i noticed that it only says compatible with Ipod and Ipod mini. Does anybody have any idea? thanks

Posted by RJC in Dublin, Ireland on December 21, 2004 at 11:07 AM (PDT)

76

i just got it and it is wonderful

Posted by snowboogiethunder on December 27, 2004 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

77

So. . . did anyone figure out the deal with getting the iPod to synch? I have only been able to get the error message when I plug in the USB. I do not have a firewire port on my laptop with XP. Should I just get another speaker? Do i need a driver?

Posted by nicoledvm on January 3, 2005 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

78

I am interested in buying a pair of these speakers either the im1 or the im3. Is it a good buy for the beach and partys? or should i try some ipal speakers?

Posted by Todd Kaiser in California, USA on February 13, 2005 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

79

I own a 3G iPod and the inMotion speakers.. also have the same trouble synching my ipod using inmotion. Whenever i plug in the USB, i get an error message saying 'USB device not regocnized'.

Posted by Huan in MSIA on March 30, 2005 at 11:06 PM (PDT)

80

I bought these speakers about three months ago and think they are great. They do exactly what they suggest - let you take your music anywhere and look simply fantastic.

I agree that the sound is not fantastic out of them. I also have the JBL Creature Speakers which truly are the best thing since sliced bread. These give a better sound for indoors, plus allow the bass and treble adjustment.

However, for portability, ease of moving between rooms and taking outdoors, I think the inMotions are as good as you will find.

Posted by backdoor in Godalming, UK on April 4, 2005 at 2:57 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.