Dension ICE-Link Auto Integration Kit | iLounge

Reviews

1

the macworld photos include the new and unreleased icelink which had a dock which meant that lineout, remote and charging was all done from the bottom and there was a dock-style mobile mount for the car. it hasnt been released yet and i think one of the pics had a denison screen that could be installed that was supposed to show artist/track but wasnt because the unit wasnt working

Posted by timmy in Melbourne, Australia on January 20, 2004 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

2

which issue of macworld?

Posted by chinhster on January 21, 2004 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

3

The photos are on THIS site at the Macworld CONFERENCE, not in the magazine. On the front page you will see them beside the MWSF icon under "Macworld Photo Gallery - All Things iPod".

I really want info on this new ICELink and when it comes out I will finally have an audio solution for my iPod and car that is the best ever in the world.

Posted by agentko on January 21, 2004 at 7:25 AM (PDT)

4

I've got a simple enough question, I can't seem to get answered:

When using ICE-Link how do I browse playlists, artists, genre, albums, etc? I understand the next/prev song works while in a playlist. If I was playing all one artist, how would I switch to another artist or album or playlist? I'm not asking for a UI on the head unit (yet), but can I select a something to play with ICE-Link, or do I have to do that before getting in the car?

As an example, Phatbox (a car MP3 solution) let's you navigate playlists by using the next/prev disc buttons. How does ICE-Link solve this?

Posted by kbyrd on January 21, 2004 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

5

I don't think you can. I think you still have to use the iPod for everything else besides track navigation. Their website mentions only forward, back, pause, and play. I had hoped that you could navigate through playlists through disc advance too like the Phatbox but even the iPod doesn't do this.

That's why I'm just gonna wait until the new Alpine head units come out.

Posted by chinhster on January 21, 2004 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

6

Best review ever!

Posted by Steve on January 21, 2004 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

7

I still like my solution better UNLESS you don't have an AUX input -or- the very cool Alpine deck with built in iPod controls.

http://homepage.mac.com/jrcookster/public/PhotoAlbum4.html

Posted by jrcookster on January 21, 2004 at 11:05 AM (PDT)

8

How much does the end cost if u have it installed professionally and buy the ice- link?

Posted by Blah on January 21, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

9

Looks like total cost for an install like this is $250 to $300.

My car - Subaru Outback - is not supported by ICElink and they don't have plans to do so. They are (understandably) concentrating on car models likely to most appeal to iPod owners. I have had good experience with Alpine head units in the past so when it becomes available this is probably how I will go.

Posted by Pete LaV on January 21, 2004 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

10

I still maintain my original gripe: they sell separate versions for the different generations of ipods.

So you can *only* use one of these for your specific ipod...meaning when it comes time to upgrade to a new generation ipod, or...*GASP*...use something else as an input, you're out of luck.

That's why I think a device just offering any old aux input is the best, and i'll take it as a tradeoff to not being able to skip forward w/ my car controls (i mean, the ipod is sitting right there)

Posted by huggies on January 21, 2004 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

11

The Alpine AI unit featured at CES will integrate with any Alpine CD changer with the AI symbol. It will also put the track names and such up on the head display. Very cool. Will be released this summer.

Posted by Cossack on January 21, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

12

The Alpine unit is written up at
http://www.alpine-usa.com/html/press/010804_ipad.html

Posted by Cossack on January 21, 2004 at 12:57 PM (PDT)

13

Could this be mouned with a crade type thing so you can plug it into the line-out instead of the headphones?

Posted by Charlie on January 21, 2004 at 3:56 PM (PDT)

14

I did installation in my Honda Accord by myself and the solustion is only $50. I got a cable built by [url=http://www.pie.net]http://www.pie.net[/url] This cable on one end connects to my CD changer input in the head unit. The other end gives me two head phone jack. I got another cable from Radio Shack to connect my iPod. Here are the detailed instructions:

http://www2.et.byu.edu:8080/~jtb8/iPod/ipod_install.html

You may be able to find a cable for your car.

Njoy!

Posted by Jatin Sharma on January 23, 2004 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

15

Nicely done, Jatin. Your page of photos and instructions is excellent.

Posted by Pete LaV on January 23, 2004 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

16

Anyone have any pin-out schematics for the dock connector wire? I would like to try to use the dock cable to tap into power and nwire audio through it.

Posted by rdlink in Denver on January 23, 2004 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

17

ok cool. but i just got a cd player with a line in and one of those ipod cupholder things. the ipod has better controls than any stereo ive seen. so i think its a lot to pay for the steering controls in my caddy but thats just me

Posted by dresified on January 23, 2004 at 11:22 PM (PDT)

18

Is this item compatible for Mercedes-Benz?

Posted by salesia on January 25, 2004 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

19

Hm. I'm not sure -exactly- how the ICE Link hooks up to the iPod, but you could concievably use parts from the Sik IMP to get a dock based charging/line out. (The IMP has a cord that splits the dock connecter into a line out and a regular firewire port).

Posted by NightHawk The Sane in Rochester, NY on January 26, 2004 at 4:57 PM (PDT)

20

Anyone have a link to the pictures of the new icelink you guys mentioned at the top of the comments?

Posted by JohnnyBU on January 27, 2004 at 5:39 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.