Dension ICE-Link Auto Integration Kit | iLounge

Reviews

21

I think it would be cool if someone built a head unit that had a slot on it you could dock the iPod into, like putting a cassette into a tape deck, No wires or other mess involved, just plug and play. Now THAT I would buy in an instant.

Posted by doug on January 28, 2004 at 1:20 PM (PDT)

22

Nice review. Mobile iPodders might be interested in an alternative to the iceLink. I bought the Blitzsafe auxiliary audio input interface. Like the iceLink, it attaches to the cd changer cable. The Blitzsafe gives you an auxiliary input that can be used with an iPod or sat radio or anything else. It does not give you the forward/reverse control from the head unit, but beyond the cool factor I don't think that's all that useful (what I really want is to navigate menus). Combined with the Belkin power adapter, which plugs into the dock port & gives a line out, I get better sound and most of the functionality at about half the price of the iceLink. Might not be for everyone, but it's worth considering.

Posted by Comfort on January 29, 2004 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

23

I have a Panasonic DF583U head unit. It has a CD Changer input RCA cable and also a cd changer control connector. I tried attaching my ipod strait to the RCA input, but for some reason it didn't work. Any thoughts or any help as to identifying a different cable solution would be much appreciated.

Posted by podlikewhaa on February 2, 2004 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

24

UK Ford Mondeo
ICE-LINK to 2 mins to install
Sound quality is 500% better than my ITRIP

Best bit of kit I have bought for ages

Posted by Twp on February 5, 2004 at 11:45 PM (PDT)

25

I am DYING to try out the icelink, but cannot find anyone who ships to South Africa.

What next???

Posted by Yaniv on February 15, 2004 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

26

does anyone know when the new ice link shown above will be available. it looks much slicker than the current one.

Posted by mark skene on February 17, 2004 at 4:05 AM (PDT)

27

Man, I'm going to kill some one playing with this damn thing and driving. I need to come up with a good cheap mount for my vehicle.

Posted by big_willy on February 17, 2004 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

28

Take a look at my iPod installation in my 330ci. Had the ashtray removed and fabricated a molding around the dock. The dock is hooked up to the Alpine head unit's AUX.

http://www.dl330ci.com/my330ci.aspx

Posted by davidliv on February 23, 2004 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

29

any word on when this new iceLink will ship? I realy want it for my new MINI Cooper S

Posted by Randolph Lee on March 19, 2004 at 4:47 AM (PDT)

30

i emailed the uk distributors of the ice-link and they said that the new version will be available in the first half of april........

Posted by mark skene on March 22, 2004 at 3:15 AM (PDT)

31

I spoke with Dension US today and they indicated that the new ice-link units will be available by the middle of April. Cost will only be going up about $10 and will include everything from integrated cradle to the RCA cables.

Posted by Corey on March 26, 2004 at 11:16 AM (PDT)

32

I have an older Subaru legacy with a sony CD player which has an RCA input (r/w) which i supposed to be used for connecting a Mini-Disc player - it also has a CD changer input...
I was hoping I would be able to connect my 3G ipod directly through the RCA but the head is not picking up anything...
did Sony make this input ONLY for MiniDiscs? and must I buy a PIE adapter?
any help appreciated!

Posted by scrantonian in Philadelphia on March 30, 2004 at 5:48 AM (PDT)

33

Here's what you've been waiting for;

ICE-Link MKII

Posted by Simon on April 16, 2004 at 2:24 PM (PDT)

34

IceLink - didn't work in my car which was listed on their site. Waiting 30 days for refund - not on shipping either way - their mailing address is MailBoxes ETC - type place, in not great part of Long Beach CA

Posted by Max on April 19, 2004 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

35

This sounds like a good product, but right now Best Buy is running a deal in my town where a car stereo installation is free. I plan on getting one this weekend with a line in on the front. The stereo is more likely to be compatible if I buy a new car in a few years. The stereo controls on the steering wheel working with the iPod would be nice, but I plan to have my remote handy anyway.

Besides, in a year or so, someone will come out with a car stereo that has an iPod dock built in. Now that would be sweet.

Posted by JFK99 on April 29, 2004 at 7:10 PM (PDT)

36

Anyone who is interested in getting this product for their Benz should go on to http://www.densionusa.com/ and add their email address to the waiting list. The more interest by Benz owners will increase the chances that the product will be out ASAP for our fiber optic radios.

Posted by S Alesia on May 3, 2004 at 7:32 AM (PDT)

37

This all sounds good, but I really want to navigate through my ipod on my navigation screen. When is technology going to catch up. It seems so obvious.

Posted by D. Nickson on May 22, 2004 at 1:33 PM (PDT)

38

I recently purchased a Dension ICE>Link for my 2003 Lexus is300. Prior to purchasing the unit I received two completely different accounts as to whether the thing would even WORK in my specific vehicle. Tech support said it wouldn't work, and the salesman (surprise!) said the "new" version "definitely" would work. When it eventually arrived in two separate shipments over a week apart, it in fact did NOT work (a $100 experiment). Upon calling my salesman, I was informed that they wouldn't pay for it's shipment back even though they were in fact in error. They have generously offered to refund my money however... I can't say that I'd recommend dealing with this company. Try going directly to "Soundgate" who according to MY installer, makes a significantly better product that DOES work.

Customer service is dead...

Posted by Elliott de Luca on June 8, 2004 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

39

I have a BMW330Ci and using this and loving this. I've gone thru two FM transmitters then finally set with this product. I never liked the sound transmitting thru FM. however, this will give you a clearity of CD (comparable to!).
Oh, One bad(not that bad a little annoying) thing I found with this product is that the display on the head unit of my car will only show up to 3 tracks. It repeats from 01-02-03-01-02-03-.....
I called the tech person at Dension and he said that this is normal. His comment was that ipod has 1000s of songs so it cannot display all that.

I understand what he says.. But, I found this very annoying. For all the music files I have in my ipod are sorted to saperate Playlists. ^^ even if you do not create seperate playlists, you could play music by the albums. I do not know which track I am listening to. I need to look at the Ipod and find out.
Other than this, this is the best thing if you want to listen to clear ipod music in your car.
So recommend this product if & only if you do not mind 123123123 thingee.. hahaha

TK

reply to above thread, yes I think it will work if you can find Soundgate that fits your car. Soundgate that supports kenwood cdplayer input.

Posted by T.K. on June 14, 2004 at 3:00 PM (PDT)

40

I am waiting for a response from Dension to see if this will work with my car radio.. my 2002 Maxima's Bose has an integral 6 CD-changer and I don't think it can support an external connection.

But Dension's FAQ says: (see last sentence)

PROBLEM
Can I keep my CD changer and have both the ICE-Link and the changer connected to my car?

SOLUTION
No, unfortunately you have to disconnect the original CD changer from your car, because the ICE-Link is using the same cables to make the connection between the iPod and your radio. However, if you have an in-dash CD player in your radio, that will still work on your stereo.


The other company, 'Soundgate' seems to ONLY work with the CD changer connection, so I don't think I can use that one either. Bummer.

PV

Posted by Voodoo on June 18, 2004 at 12:19 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.