Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

im glad i didnt buy these buds...they dont sound real appealing..

Posted by kdizzle in usa on January 19, 2004 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

2

once again apple chooses style over application. i have the 71s in white (with grey buds) and i think their style is better than these (the chrome-takeoff really matches). i would reccomend them anyday and my only issue with them is that their protector is not functional (but better than the apple one) and that the cord is in the L format rather than the Y. other than that, they absolutely rock.

Posted by timmy in Melbourne, Australia on January 20, 2004 at 12:09 AM (PDT)

3

I bought them to replace the orignals as they were misused by my dog.
I think this review is spot on about the fit. They do slip out. However, after a while they do stay in but may require occasional adjustment.
The sound is fine depending on the position in the ear. The bass response is actually quite good if you eventually develop the nack of positioning them.
Overall I was a little disappointed as they are fiddley.

Posted by Cker in Northern Ireland on January 20, 2004 at 12:27 AM (PDT)

4

I bought these headphones even though I own a pair of Sony EX71 in white. For me, it was about sound. I had hoped that the sound would be more to my ears liking as I find the EX71s to be VERY bright and tending towards sibilance on the s, sh and ch sounds.

The earphones do appear to lessen the sibilance problem significantly, however.. this advantage has to be completely outweighed by the fiddliness of the fit.

As the reviewer says.. due to the soft silicon plugs, they're very 'slippery' and it's hard to seat them properly in your ears. The EX71s are fiddly too.. but not to this extent! Because a good fit is hard to achieve, the bass isn't very strong either.

The Sony caps fit perfectly and it makes me wonder whether the Sony EX51 is in fact the same earphone as the Apple.. maybe i should have bought them!

In short.. great sound.. if you can make them fit!! But if you really want a better solution.. perhaps a pair of EX71 or EX51 (in white of course!) would be better.. plus they also come in the shorter 'round the neck' cord.. which is perfect for using with the remote!

Posted by camson in Melbourne, Australia on January 20, 2004 at 2:09 AM (PDT)

5

I do not have the same problem as others with the new Apple in-ear phones slipping out. And, I actually find them more comortable than the Sony's which I also own. Which pair sounds better? Hard for me to decide. Yes, the Sony has much more bass, but so much that it almost muddies the sound. The Apple's are much crisper and cleaner. However, I would be happier with a touch more bass. I think it comes down to the choice being a matter of preference.

Posted by robb on January 20, 2004 at 5:02 AM (PDT)

6

I'm using the Shure E2's which are about $85 and just blow me away by how great they sound. Much more accurate and you can actually hear the difference between a AAC and a regular CD.

Posted by Chomper on January 20, 2004 at 6:42 AM (PDT)

7

These in-ear buds are much better than the original buds than come with the iPod. I can tell a difference when I listen to my music, it sounds much clearer and cleaner. The only thing I don't like is that there is not much bass, unless you push the buds really far into your ear canal (which probably isn't good for you) so I just set the EQ to 'Small Speakers' and this makes it sound much better.

The fit is good, I have not experienced the buds falling out of my ears yet, they seem to stay in fairly well. The ear pieces are made out of silicone so they are a little slippery, but I think they will hold up to use very well. They do take a little work to get them in the right place and they block outside noise fairly well, but not completely.

Overall I would recommend these in-ear buds to anyone who is looking for a good quality replacement to the original buds.

Posted by mike on January 20, 2004 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

8

Yikes! Kind of a harsh review. I agree with mike on this one. I've been using the Apple in-ear buds and have no gripes. They're very comfortable, and I believe the sound quality is better than the Sony buds.

Posted by Atomic Bomb in Mid-Atlantic on January 20, 2004 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

9

I gotta say again, Futuresonics my fav of the pack. I went right out to get the new Apple in-ears and they just aren't in the same league. Give me my bass without the boom and I'm a happy camper

Posted by Jockomo on January 20, 2004 at 10:19 AM (PDT)

10

I was very excited to see the release of this item, but I agree with the review, they slip out of the ears. I did not notice an appreciative difference in the quality. In fact, I find them to be a bit more shrill. Even when setting the EQ for Bass Booster, it doesn't help much and adds some distortion.
Also, it may just be that I have a unique angle to my ear canal, but the phone sticks out and the wire loops out. I keep catching the wire and pulling the plug out of my ear if I adjust my scarf. It probably looks pretty silly, too. The other plugs used to hang straight down and stay close to my head.

I'd love to know where to get the Sony EX-71's in white.

Posted by LaNev on January 20, 2004 at 10:40 AM (PDT)

11

I've tried most of the high quality headphones and nothing, in my experience, compares to the Etymotic ER4s at $330. The ER6 is about a third the price ($99 on the PalmOne site under accessories) and sounds nearly as good. It works better than the Bose at reducing noise and has incredible sound. It really is the most economical solution around because it may just be the last earphones you buy they are so good.

Posted by gordon on January 20, 2004 at 10:40 AM (PDT)

12

Gordon's exactly right! The ER-6's from Eymotic Research are great, and the ER-4's superb. It is striking to me that Apple doesn't give you a credit towards better ear-buds like the ER's. Their, i.e. Apple's logic seems to be to build a killer device, the Ipod, have you spend hours loading all your music into your computer, more time figuring out iTunes or MusicMatch, paying for Audible books, and then selling junkiy earbuds that take away from rather than enhance the experience. The Etymotic ear buds are really even superior to the Bose noise cancelling headphones in my book because the deliver a superior result, no weight, no batteries and no need to drag along another case. While this may sound like heresy on an iPod site, I have been using mine with my Treo 600 and they work great on it too!

Posted by Buzz on January 20, 2004 at 10:53 AM (PDT)

13

Slightly off-topic, but -- does anyone know how/where to get replacement caps for the Sony EX70's? The "small" size fits me perfectly, but one of them fell off one day after getting caught on something (didn't realize it till later). Ever since then, I've been using the mediums, and they just don't fit me as well.

And/or, would anyone be interested in swapping a (used) set of mediums or (unused) set of large plugs, for some small size plugs? That way you'd have a backup set in case you lose yours like I did smile.

Posted by notyou in Phoenix, AZ / USA on January 20, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

14

sony ex70 replacement earbuds:
http://www.audiocubes.com/index.php?cPath=22_83&osCsid=cbe99f91ea8ae60dcf1ad0214f071ef1

Posted by tariq on January 20, 2004 at 12:17 PM (PDT)

15

Sony sells replacement plugs at $6.95 EACH. According to their web site, they are not in stock.
$6.95 sounds like a fair price for a full set of 6. Anybody know an alternate source?

Posted by Jeff on January 20, 2004 at 12:17 PM (PDT)

16

Being out of stock on a key part of a current product, is one more reason to deal with someone like Etymotic, i.e. they have people who answer the phone. Try that with Sony sometime!

Posted by Buzz on January 20, 2004 at 12:57 PM (PDT)

17

So I'm looking at the Sony MDR-EX71SL Fontopia Earphone which is what I assume everyone is talking about when they say "EX71". So is that to you, in white, the best earphones you could buy for the similar price of a pair of Apple's In-ear Headphones? It looks nice and I've heard good things about it. How about the Pioneer SE-CL30 Encapsulated Earphones in white?

I'm trying to find in-ear headphones that are well fitting, looks similar to the iPod headphones, great sound, and similar price to the Apple headphones.

I've got crazy ears that don't hold in the original iPod earbud phones, and from what I hear from this review, it looks like I'm not going anywhere near the iPod in-ear headphones either!

Someone please help!!

Posted by Me on January 20, 2004 at 1:16 PM (PDT)

18

So I'm looking at the Sony MDR-EX71SL Fontopia Earphone which is what I assume everyone is talking about when they say "EX71". So is that to you, in white, the best earphones you could buy for the similar price of a pair of Apple's In-ear Headphones? It looks nice and I've heard good things about it. How about the Pioneer SE-CL30 Encapsulated Earphones in white?

I'm trying to find in-ear headphones that are well fitting, looks similar to the iPod headphones, great sound, and similar price to the Apple headphones.

I've got crazy ears that don't hold in the original iPod earbud phones, and from what I hear from this review, it looks like I'm not going anywhere near the iPod in-ear headphones either!

Someone please help!!

Posted by Me on January 20, 2004 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

19

I prefer sound of the Apples but the fit of the Sonys. May swap the rubber bits.

Posted by Jackson in London on January 20, 2004 at 2:26 PM (PDT)

20

These headphones suck and all you who are trying to stick up for Apple, ESPECIALLY the reviewer, need to stop being pussies. Who the #### TRIES to like something that sucks, just cause they think they should? And that part about buying TWO headphones and switching the pads so you still have the "Apple styling" made me want to stick AIDS needles in my eyes and #### broken glass.

...and #### Madonna

Posted by BOSS on January 20, 2004 at 2:48 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 10 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.