Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

121

sha'mown!

Posted by michael jackass on May 28, 2004 at 1:59 AM (PDT)

122

I got a pair of these and I think they sound good, better than the supplied plugs. The problem I found is that the feel like they're falling out of your ears all the time, I keep pushing them back in.

Posted by Tobytoogood on May 28, 2004 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

123

Initially, I had a big problem with the in-ear headphones...having only used the originals shipped with my iPod...but once I'd persisted with trying to position them correctly in my ears (using the small sized silicone covers)...I was very impressed with the increased quality of sound. Plenty of bass for me...

The trick was (I found) was to push them as far into my ear canals as comfortably possible...and swivel them backwards...worked perfectly!

When I first bought them and tried them... I didn't push them in far enough...and took them out in disgust...no bass...all treble...'horrible' in a nutshell...and they sat around for about a week before I decided to try again...after all, I was going to waste about £30! If your initial response was similar to mine... I can only suggest that you try again...it's worth it.

Posted by Ness on June 6, 2004 at 5:29 AM (PDT)

124

...by the way...I didn't have ANY problems with slippage..just for the record...

Posted by Ness on June 6, 2004 at 5:32 AM (PDT)

125

Terrible, don't waist your money!
Uncomfortable, choose which ever conical flange you want, they are all equally bad.

The bass response is lame, A / B these with the originals and the original ear buds win hands down,

Bad apple !

Posted by Dr Simon on June 21, 2004 at 1:40 PM (PDT)

126

I found the sound and fit fine, the bigger problem was complete loss of sound in the right bud. Apple were excellent and quickly replaced them, only for the exact same thing to happen again after around a month. Will be asking for a refund this time. White earphones don't go down too well on the safety side either, violent crime anyone?

Posted by rjwade in Leeds on July 9, 2004 at 12:51 AM (PDT)

127

Wish I'd read this review before buying the headphones.

I listened for two hours and then returned them to the store. They sound WORSE than the standard buds that came with the iPod.

Posted by will on August 4, 2004 at 1:41 PM (PDT)

128

i got my apple in ear phones and they are at least 5 times betta than the shippin phones . there is so much bad feedbak/ maybe pplz ears r different but theyre perfect 4 me

Posted by penguin on August 18, 2004 at 12:19 AM (PDT)

129

I'm kind of a headphone geek and these are pretty good for the price. While I am not a huge fan of in ear phones like the Ety ER•4S these definitely have their use. If inserted propertly, which is not difficult, they are a definite improvement over the stock phones. The bass is definitely attenuated but not to the extent as the Sony's which I found too pronounced at the high and low end. Almost almost all my tunes are AAC's at 192+ or Apple Lossless so I'm kind of particular. I still like my Grado 80's best but they do not work with any exterior noise. While I am not keen on the Ety's fit (these are more comfortable for my ears) I was waiting for the ER•6i to come out but now I'll be waiting even longer.

Bottom line - these are good all around headphones and a great deal for the money.

Posted by justarasta on August 19, 2004 at 4:58 PM (PDT)

130

i love high-end audio and consider myself an audiophile. i lost my original apple earbuds so i went out and purchased the apple in-ear buds. these are by far the worst sounding equipment i have ever heard. worse than the 5 dollar sony headphones my father uses. plus they were supremely uncomfortable and wouldn't stay in my ears despite trying all different size attatchments. dissappointing waste of $39.99.

Posted by Brian on August 21, 2004 at 10:29 PM (PDT)

131

I have to say before reading http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93655 I had no clue about how to get these things in my ears.

After doing the suggested tips from the apple knowledge base I'm in love with these things...

Posted by fletchnj on September 2, 2004 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

132

I'm not an audiophile, I just love my music and my iPod. I have the Sony EX71 but can't stand their design. I use them, but not when walking around. I got these Apple ones today and they sound great to me. Smallest attachment fits me best.
One of the best things I discovered on this site was the instructions on how to get a good fit with earbuds.

Posted by 2dogsrule on September 4, 2004 at 7:52 PM (PDT)

133

I bought a pair of these to go with my Dual-USB iBook. They go well with it visually (because, when you've got a computer this cool, you don't dare have headphones of a different style!), and while I'm no expert on sound they sound good to me. My two vague bits. smile

Posted by Jonathan Grynspan on September 8, 2004 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

134

I gotta say at first I really hated the Apple replacement headphones. THe original ear buds that came with the iPod were fine for me sound wise but, while working out they kept falling out of my ears. I have three pairs of other headphones that all sounded horrible. They range from in-ear headphones that came with a Sony CD Player I bought a few years ago. Also a pair Sony headphones (all are sony actually) that are behind the head over the ear and another pair that are Studio Monitors. They all sound horrid. I had saturation on all of them. If you get the replacement ear buds from Apple it takes some fiddling and some experimenting for fit and position. Once you mess with it enough you will not regret it. THey sound great, plenty of bass without being muddy. The major plus for me is when working out (lifting or running) they do not fall out of my ears every 2 seconds.

Posted by H8Red442 on September 8, 2004 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

135

I just bought the iBuds today after using the old fasion around the head headphones. Yes it semsquite criminal to treat an iPod to such abuse but i play basketball....hard and the original Ear Buds hard a hard time staying in while walking around so I finaly bought the iBuds.

The iBuds are FAR FAR superior to the wrap-around headphones and litteraly blow the Ear Buds out of the water. i have not tried the sony's but the iBuds work nearly flawlessly. They are a little hard to get a perfect fit at once but after playing with them for a few minutes you will get the hang of it. i suggest you try all three sizes several times in order to build up some ear wax on each set, this will help them stick better in your ear and seal in the bass. I prefer the smalest size so I can stick them deep into my ear for the best fit and sound redustion. But again find hwat works best for you. I also saw a post that suggestet setting the EQ to small speakers but i find that bass booster is again far superior because it not only boosts the bass but the overall volume.

Hope this helps.

Posted by Jimbo The African Circus Boy on September 11, 2004 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

136

On another note...I again have not sampled other buds but when these get a snug fit they keep it. Especcially the small pads, once they're in they stay there and channel the music rightinto your ear. I am no "audiophile" in my books, don't get me wrong I love music as much as anyone, my father's whole life was and still is music, mostly jazz,but thats how he made his living. Anyways music is not in my profession and unless it it you're no "audiophile." Set your EQ to bass boost to get rid of the tinny sound and stick the little buds in your ear and your set. Period.

Posted by Jimbo The African Circus Boy on September 11, 2004 at 6:47 PM (PDT)

137

asf

Posted by asf on September 12, 2004 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

138

recieved the headphones today, and they are nice. They got a nice sound quality but the do slip out once in a while ( like 10 times on a 30minute walk) and the bass isn't the best... but hey i guess they are not trying to top the ipod in its quality smile

Posted by darknox on September 15, 2004 at 5:45 AM (PDT)

139

I purchased these in ear headphones and three months later the adhesive that holds the small speaker in the cone has separated- ie it fell apart...a real disappointment for the $$$ Apple doesn't make it easy to get replacements either

Posted by rickH on September 16, 2004 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

140

I bought Apple's In-Ear Headphones over a month ago, and I can't tell you how comfortable they are, and the sound quality is very good. Basically, if the sound is bad, you probably don't have the phones in correctly. These are a great improvement with these than the factory ear phones. I always notice how the factory ear phones hang out of the users ears. And just about everyday, someone asks me about the in-ear buds. Most certainly a great purchase.

Posted by Dvontu on September 22, 2004 at 5:45 AM (PDT)

Page 7 of 10 pages « First  <  5 6 7 8 9 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.