Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

151

I read the reviews but I bought these yesterday anyway. Oh, they are the worst earphones I've ever owned, even worse than those I bought for $4.99 at the drugstore 15 years ago.

The fit was okay. I had to fiddle for a while because I read Apple's sit about how to get a good seal.

Where I have issues is the sound. Like "Blackpippa" everytime I moved, the wire leading to the iPod from the buds would brush against my shirt, giving me loud feedback. Not only that, but even when I moved my head from side to side, I would hear this "wooshing" sound. I listen to soft music while I study so yes, this would be a problem for me. I don't know about the tinny or metallic sound, or the lack of bass other reviews talk about -- I'm not that advanced. I just use my iPod when I work out or occasionally when I study and I just want something that sounds good.

I was disappointed because I kind of wanted the cool white headphones but I returned them this morning, and exchanged them for Sony's Bass Booster earbuds for $20.55. They're not so comfortable, but the sound is infinitively better.

Posted by Islareina in Missouri on January 14, 2005 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

152

i have now own both sets of headphones, and was amused to hear your suggestion of combing the apple earbuds wtih the sony rubber earpieces, as i have been using them like that for over 8 months. that way i get the aesthetics of the sleek white and they stay in my ear snugly. altough the sound quality of the sony's is slightly better than the apple's, there is no comparison as to which look better when using and listening on my 12" powerbook. another factor to keep in mind is the annoying (to me at least) element of the sony earphones which that setup with the left earbud on a short leash and that swooping wire under your chin to the right earbud. i fail to understand the logic of the uneven length, whereas apple's simple symmetry is as always, perfect.

Posted by thecasioconspiracy on January 22, 2005 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

153

I have a pair of apple earbuds, and just like everybody else says, they slip out of your ears like greased lightening.
But...
there is a 29 cent solution, instead of buying a new pair of headphones of sending them back. this is what you do: take a foam earplug, like the ones they used to give you on the plane. cut it in two halves, and flatten each half, and poke a hole in them with a pen. remove the silicon sleeves, and put the apple earbud through the hole in the earplug, and Voila! a low cost solution to the 'sliding out the ears' problem.

Posted by creative thinker on January 28, 2005 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

154

I bought these yesterday and they sound terrible, is there something wrong with my pair? And yes the fit isnt too hot, not happy!

Posted by applebum on February 4, 2005 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

155

For those of you wondering about replacing the stock silicone earbud caps with the Sony replacements that can be found at audiocubes.com...

First as for sizing, go up one or two sizes from the apple size that you usually use. If you use a Med. in the Apple replacements get the Large in Sony's.

Second, this makes the apple earphones perfect. They sound better than the Sony's very flat compared to the sony's. And, now they fit perfect, and are as or more comfortable than the Sony 71's. And they don't have the annoying too short, too long issue that the Sony 71's have.

Third, aesthetically they look the exact same when they are in your ears as they do with the apple silicone caps.

I have both the Sony's and the Apple's and finally, after mixing the two, I feel I have a perfect set of in-ear headphones...normal length cord, good fit, superb sound isolation, no more falling out, and still look the same.

Posted by johndengler on February 5, 2005 at 3:53 PM (PDT)

156

i loved these, then they broke
I was trying to take off the silicone cover thing and the whole thing broke

Posted by adidas10254 on February 6, 2005 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

157

I've ordered sony replacement buds size M from audiocubes. I use size M with my Apple In-ear.

So, johndenglers, do you think that these sonys are going to be to small or dont fit? How big is the difference?

Posted by KBB on February 8, 2005 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

158

I think some people are being a little harsh on these things. Mine fit perfectly in my ears, never falling out. I may just have wierd ears and maybe the guys who designed them did too but i reckon they rock. The sound quality is excellent if they fit in your ears correctly, though if they are not in right then u cant expect brilliant quality, they were not designed that way. Try them before u buy them, but if they fit in, they rule.

Posted by Levens on February 27, 2005 at 7:51 AM (PDT)

159

I have just received my in ear headphones ordered from the States (i'm in the UK), and they sound really weird and 'tinny'. I'm not sure if there is a fault with them or if that's how they are meant to sound - looking at these reviews it seems perhaps not as tinny as mine! Has anyone else had the same problem or does it seem like mine are faulty? And also if i need to exchange them, can i take them into a UK store if they were bought in the US?? Any help appreciated, thanks.

Posted by s5000 on March 5, 2005 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

160

I have the seinheiser mx 500 earphone with Griffin ear jams. They complement each other perfectly. The seinheiser earphones are very good with high to mid freq delivering crystal clear sound while the ear jams delivers flawless bass. I think its how you mix and match your earphones that matter when you want the song to sound like you want it to.

Posted by Vinod in Singapore on March 20, 2005 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

161

just bought some of these with my educational discount. they're worth every penny.

Posted by rules on March 26, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

162

Somebody please help I bought these and its been a year and the left speaker is much louder than the right email the solution to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) getting it checked by a pro tomorrow.

Posted by TheCritic in Mumbai,India. on April 4, 2005 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

163

I'm switching for the standard ipod headphones to in-ear type headphones . . . I went to my local Sony Store and they didn't have the EX71 in stock; just the EX51's. So, I bought a pair and returned them 5 min later. The reason being was that the way the cable was designed; the lower case y style cable. So, when at picked-up a pair of the Apple iPod In-Ear headphones and was pleased to see that they use the upper case Y style cable. So for those who get what I mean by Y and y could you tell me if the EX71 use Y style cable? Because if so I'll buy some and return the apple in-ear pair.

Posted by audible.com_listener on April 5, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

164

Just for the record (although this thread is old), I found that for price vs. performance, the best thing to do is buy the Apple in-ear buds, a set of the Shure E2 flex sleeves (the clear ones), and then super-glue the sleeves to the ear buds. They go in deep, they stay, and the sound is delicious. (The super glue is necessary because you don't want to do like I did and have one of the sleeves stuck in your ear for an entire subway ride, during which you are trying not to panic about looking like a chump in the emergency room. Panic was unnecessary: a straightened paper clip took it out quite nicely.)

Posted by Grant Barrett on April 6, 2005 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

165

I don't know how you can say they sound bad? Some of you even say they're worse than the stock buds! I admit they do sound horrible out of the box, but have you ever heard of "break-in"? If not, I suggest you play your headphones for 24hours straight at a volume that's slightly higher than you're accustomed to. After that, your headphones will be "broken-into" and hopefully they sound a lot better. This technique applies to ALL headphones and what I think happens is the speaker membrane loosens up...

Have fun!

Posted by milkpowder on April 7, 2005 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

166

Sounded like a good idea is right. Sound is fine IF you shove them all the way down the alimentary canal, I guess.
Uncomfortable with any size adapter, low volume compared to the stock new iPod mini earbuds. Painful to wear if you have any sinus problems. Actually painful to wear and lousy sound even if you don't.
Every Apple product I've bought has been good and worth the money.
Until I bought these in-ear thingees.
Pure junk

Posted by GaryJTN on May 3, 2005 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

167

i got a pir of these. what i did was i bought a pair of Griffin EarJam (i actually bought it to test with my stock bud, its cheap anyway) and take the sleeve from the earjam to fit in the apple in-ear phone. its a perfect match, the right size and fit just nice to the bud, and the comfort is waaaaay much better than the original apple in-ear sleeve. it doesnt slip out of my ear anymore.

Posted by john_ate in Bristol, UK on May 4, 2005 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

168

I bought a pair of these, and i'm very desapointed:(in the same day i went back to the store and change them for the sony's EX51LP and i also got some money back:]and this time i wont back to the shop, cause this ones made my day:)

Posted by tr├ęsjollie on May 16, 2005 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

169

is it normal for quality headphones to amplify the "shhh", "chhh", and "ckkkk" sounds? when i tried these headphones, the vocals sounded really harsh

Posted by jeffhwang on June 4, 2005 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

170

I agree with Grant Barrett. I have used both the Shure foam sleeves and the flex sleeves. At first I preferred the foam sleeves, but I like the flex sleeves as well. They both have a much better fit than the stock Apple in ear sleeves, with the foam being snugger, but perhaps uncomfortably snug. The sound quality is much better than stock. You can order the Shure sleeves here: http://www.shurestore.com/quietspot/quietspot_accessories.html#FOAM

Posted by tofferr on June 21, 2005 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

Page 8 of 10 pages « First  <  6 7 8 9 10 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.