Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

156

i loved these, then they broke
I was trying to take off the silicone cover thing and the whole thing broke

Posted by adidas10254 on February 6, 2005 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

157

I've ordered sony replacement buds size M from audiocubes. I use size M with my Apple In-ear.

So, johndenglers, do you think that these sonys are going to be to small or dont fit? How big is the difference?

Posted by KBB on February 8, 2005 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

158

I think some people are being a little harsh on these things. Mine fit perfectly in my ears, never falling out. I may just have wierd ears and maybe the guys who designed them did too but i reckon they rock. The sound quality is excellent if they fit in your ears correctly, though if they are not in right then u cant expect brilliant quality, they were not designed that way. Try them before u buy them, but if they fit in, they rule.

Posted by Levens on February 27, 2005 at 7:51 AM (PDT)

159

I have just received my in ear headphones ordered from the States (i'm in the UK), and they sound really weird and 'tinny'. I'm not sure if there is a fault with them or if that's how they are meant to sound - looking at these reviews it seems perhaps not as tinny as mine! Has anyone else had the same problem or does it seem like mine are faulty? And also if i need to exchange them, can i take them into a UK store if they were bought in the US?? Any help appreciated, thanks.

Posted by s5000 on March 5, 2005 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

160

I have the seinheiser mx 500 earphone with Griffin ear jams. They complement each other perfectly. The seinheiser earphones are very good with high to mid freq delivering crystal clear sound while the ear jams delivers flawless bass. I think its how you mix and match your earphones that matter when you want the song to sound like you want it to.

Posted by Vinod in Singapore on March 20, 2005 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

161

just bought some of these with my educational discount. they're worth every penny.

Posted by rules on March 26, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

162

Somebody please help I bought these and its been a year and the left speaker is much louder than the right email the solution to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) getting it checked by a pro tomorrow.

Posted by TheCritic in Mumbai,India. on April 4, 2005 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

163

I'm switching for the standard ipod headphones to in-ear type headphones . . . I went to my local Sony Store and they didn't have the EX71 in stock; just the EX51's. So, I bought a pair and returned them 5 min later. The reason being was that the way the cable was designed; the lower case y style cable. So, when at picked-up a pair of the Apple iPod In-Ear headphones and was pleased to see that they use the upper case Y style cable. So for those who get what I mean by Y and y could you tell me if the EX71 use Y style cable? Because if so I'll buy some and return the apple in-ear pair.

Posted by audible.com_listener on April 5, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

164

Just for the record (although this thread is old), I found that for price vs. performance, the best thing to do is buy the Apple in-ear buds, a set of the Shure E2 flex sleeves (the clear ones), and then super-glue the sleeves to the ear buds. They go in deep, they stay, and the sound is delicious. (The super glue is necessary because you don't want to do like I did and have one of the sleeves stuck in your ear for an entire subway ride, during which you are trying not to panic about looking like a chump in the emergency room. Panic was unnecessary: a straightened paper clip took it out quite nicely.)

Posted by Grant Barrett on April 6, 2005 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

165

I don't know how you can say they sound bad? Some of you even say they're worse than the stock buds! I admit they do sound horrible out of the box, but have you ever heard of "break-in"? If not, I suggest you play your headphones for 24hours straight at a volume that's slightly higher than you're accustomed to. After that, your headphones will be "broken-into" and hopefully they sound a lot better. This technique applies to ALL headphones and what I think happens is the speaker membrane loosens up...

Have fun!

Posted by milkpowder on April 7, 2005 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

166

Sounded like a good idea is right. Sound is fine IF you shove them all the way down the alimentary canal, I guess.
Uncomfortable with any size adapter, low volume compared to the stock new iPod mini earbuds. Painful to wear if you have any sinus problems. Actually painful to wear and lousy sound even if you don't.
Every Apple product I've bought has been good and worth the money.
Until I bought these in-ear thingees.
Pure junk

Posted by GaryJTN on May 3, 2005 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

167

i got a pir of these. what i did was i bought a pair of Griffin EarJam (i actually bought it to test with my stock bud, its cheap anyway) and take the sleeve from the earjam to fit in the apple in-ear phone. its a perfect match, the right size and fit just nice to the bud, and the comfort is waaaaay much better than the original apple in-ear sleeve. it doesnt slip out of my ear anymore.

Posted by john_ate in Bristol, UK on May 4, 2005 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

168

I bought a pair of these, and i'm very desapointed:(in the same day i went back to the store and change them for the sony's EX51LP and i also got some money back:]and this time i wont back to the shop, cause this ones made my day:)

Posted by tr├ęsjollie on May 16, 2005 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

169

is it normal for quality headphones to amplify the "shhh", "chhh", and "ckkkk" sounds? when i tried these headphones, the vocals sounded really harsh

Posted by jeffhwang on June 4, 2005 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

170

I agree with Grant Barrett. I have used both the Shure foam sleeves and the flex sleeves. At first I preferred the foam sleeves, but I like the flex sleeves as well. They both have a much better fit than the stock Apple in ear sleeves, with the foam being snugger, but perhaps uncomfortably snug. The sound quality is much better than stock. You can order the Shure sleeves here: http://www.shurestore.com/quietspot/quietspot_accessories.html#FOAM

Posted by tofferr on June 21, 2005 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

171

I was really dissapointed with these. They are bright to the point of being ear splitting, don't stay in the ears, and lack bass power. You can always go to the settings on your pod and select the bass enhancer, but it only goes so far.

Posted by tangogirlatl on June 24, 2005 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

172

Boss' post is unpopular and poorly worded but brings up a good point: why does the reviewer try so hard to like an obviously inferior product? I don't understand the "B" rating at all - that's the same grade this site gives to the Shure e3cs! If the phones don't stay in one's ears, they are useless. How they sound is irrelevant if you can't keep them in long enough to hear anything. The mix-and-match idea is clever in thory but logically, just spend the $ on Shure or Etymotics.

I generally trust the reviews on this site, but blind devotion to Apple products makes me question validity. This particular review is decent but hardly supports the B rating. Celebrate Apple's brilliance when deserved and be honest when they fail.

Posted by firecracker on September 2, 2005 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

173

I'm quite an Audiophile usually.... hifi separates... expensive speakers and separates CD players etc.

As I only use my iPod with headphones in the gym (car and home system most of the time) With all the working out and backround noise (gym's own music blaring out etc) I never really needed any higher quality ones than the basic ones that came with the Ipod. (although i did know that better ones existed, obviously)

When I first put these in... I was disgusted... the sound was thin... there was NO bass.... they kept sliding out... no matter what I did.... so I was going to take them back.

Thankfully... mu desire to have some sound-blocking 'phones made me have another try... and this time something was different. They stayed in my ears a little better... not perfect.. but better.

Afte using them just 4 times, they stayed in my ears all the time. The bass still wasnt as strong as I'd been used to... but I figured I could live with that in the gym.

Then I read through all these posts here, and apples own 'how to put them in' page.

wow... WHAT a difference. By using the 'pull your ear out slightly when putting in' method... added to the fact that they lose the silicon 'shine' on the soft parts after about 4 uses... these things are now simply amazing.

The stay in... PERFECTLY..... they block the outside sound... PERFECTLY.

and the sound.... for the price? absolutely fantastic.

The midrange is clearer than previously... the top end is possibly slightly elevated... but i do mean just slightly. And the bass.... wow.. the bass

the 'muddy' bass from other headphones has gone, replaced with that satisfying sub-bass that you are more 'aware of' .. than you hear. bass drums thud... classical music has that 'live' feel with powerful low end driving the music...

i'm SO glad I tried these again... I'd have paid double for the sound, comfort and fit now.

Thanks apple.... my iPod sounds twice as good now wink

Posted by hunky_artist on September 13, 2005 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

174

I just bought a pair of these about a week ago at a local Target. They worked great, but the now I've lost the audio in the right earbud. The left one is normal, but it's extremely quiet in the left one. Any tips? Has this happened to anyone else?

Posted by Kaylin on September 26, 2005 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

175

EDIT: Whoops. The left one is normal, but it's extremely quiet in the RIGHT one. lol.

Posted by Kaylin on September 26, 2005 at 3:10 PM (PDT)

Page 8 of 10 pages « First  <  6 7 8 9 10 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.