Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

176

i'm guessing a broken wire or something... not sure though.

Posted by hunky_artist on September 27, 2005 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

177

Well, I'm THOROUGHLY disappointed. I purchased a pair of apple in-ears this afternoon. I got home and decided to hold off and do a bit more reading before opening the box and losing my 10%. After a lot of reading, I came to the simple conclusion that the only way to see what works will be to try them. So I opened the in-ears and they STINK (for me).

The left ear fits fine. The right ear I can't make fit with any of the different sizes. No, my right ear is not oddly deformed or otherwise notably different than my left. The slightest tug dislodges the earphones and makes these utterly useless for me.

I'm also extremely disappointed at the amount of sound that gets transferred up the wire as it moves. I don't see how these could be useful for anyone walking around town.

I guess my next try will be a pair of sony phones. Probably the 51 or 81's. I'm heavily debating the 81's with the clip over the ear because the added stability while wearing them is attractive, although I am worried about being able to put them in my pocket when not in use. I'm also worried about the durability issue that seems to be rampant with the sony earphones.

Another question: does anyone know of an ear bud style earphone (rather than an "in-ear") that has a smaller "bud" than the stock ipod headphones?

Posted by munckee on December 1, 2005 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

178

I'm using these headphones with the Sony EX71 tips and these are terrific! The sound quality is on a completely different level than the EX71s (even after the "silver mod" which improved their sound), with much greater texture to instruments, a nice punchy bass, and surprising amount of detail. The isolation is a bit worse than the EX71s however, though it's still there. All in all, I'd put these above the level of a PX100.

Given the isolation, small size, great sound quality, strong bass, good build, and stylish looks, I'd say these are the perfect portable headphones. The included tips from Apple are, as stated in the review, absolutely UNUSABLE! I really don't know what they were thinking. If you have some EX71 tips lying around or want to upgrade from the "metallic" and bloated sound of the EX71s, buy these. At $40 or less, they're a great value.

Posted by Kurashima on December 10, 2005 at 9:12 PM (PDT)

179

I used to use the Sony MDR-EX51LP but the cord is pretty f**ed up after I used it a couple of times in the gym. Some sweat got on the cord and it turned soft, thick and torn. But the sound is great and they fit and stay perfectly.

When I bought the nano, I decided to buy the Apple in ears too, because I got used to in-ear headphones. What a waste of money, they don't fit at all and yes, I tried different sizes and pushed them as far as I could. For the few seconds that they did stay, I could say the sound isn't that great, I can barely hear the bass, but that's probably because they didn't fit.

Realizing the price is the same as the Sony 51, I really made a mistake buying Apple's in-ear headphone. But considering other reviews, it's different for each person, some fit, some don't.

Posted by nanorookie on January 14, 2006 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

180

I am quite disappointed with this product. It's true that opening up the ear canal while inserting the buds creates a more stable seal and, interestingly, another review that I have read suggests inserting them upside down (i.e. with the cable entry point facing up) which seems to help a bit.

The bottom line? Griffin's Earthumps are a much better alternative for a much lower price.

Posted by alasta22 on March 11, 2006 at 11:45 PM (PDT)

181

I bought these to replace my week old EX71 which I did not get on with at all, would have bought these in the first place but for the comments on this review. IMHO the sound is better than the EX71 if you properly insert them in your ear, it's louder, the Sony sound flat and I prefer the brighter sound of these. They do not slip out of my ears but maybe that is because I'm used to wearing earplugs and don't mind pushing them in further. The other thing that makes it better ergonomically is the wires, the Sony EX71's have a ridiculous long lead with a plug in the middle that puts weight on the lead and uncomfortable.
Best headphones for the ipod in my opinion, but have yet to try Shure or Etymotics, but then again they are 4 or more times more expensive than these.

Posted by desmoboy on April 7, 2006 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

182

I have had these for a week now and have found a few improvements that can be made; first I used the Sony EX71 silicon tips, these create a better accoustic seal. Then I adjusted the EQ manually, using the accoustic EQ as the baseline to reduce the bass slightly. Hope this helps.

Posted by desmoboy on April 13, 2006 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

183

My iPod earphones just broke, so we were at Walmart, and my mom bought me these, because they were the only decent ones there. Suprisingly these things sound is amazing! Theyre not the most confortable things but I'd reccomend em. The big issue is gettign them in your ear just right,not to far in or out

Posted by Xalaxracer on June 14, 2006 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

184

here's my take... they sound GREAT, good balance... When you have a good fit... they fit fine for a little while then start easing out... when the "seal" is not good, neither is the sound... I'm going to save the Fry's reciept and try to find some sony EX81s, and see which I like better

Posted by tat2dphreak on August 11, 2006 at 1:29 PM (PDT)

185

I like a neutral "flat" sound to my music, so my first in-ear phones were UE super.fi 3's that sounded great (flat, detailed sound), had great isolation, looked goofy, and were fiddly to fit... but they broke (no sound, fluid leaking from left earphone) during a transcontinental flight after ~10 hours of use (and were later returned). During a layover, I picked up some Griffin Ear Jams so I could listen to my stock earbuds for the remaining time. The Jams provided little isolation, boosted bass, but in a muddy/Sony sort of way, and were not comfortable for more than an hour or two. I had planned to pick up some ER-6i's or Shures, but my wife got me the Apple in-ear phones for Xmas and I didn't have the heart to return them. I found the iLounge review is mostly correct about fit issues, but once I figured out how to wear them (much like fitting the super.fi 3's), they stayed in place, sounded nearly as detailed as the super.fi 3's and had more bass, but slightly less isolation. I tried the Griffin covers (that look identical to the Sony's) on the Apple unit and found that they put the driver in a different spot - to get the same bass, I had to jam them uncomfortably far into my ears. While still occasionally fiddly, I think the Apple in-ear phones sound great for the money and respond well to iPod EQ settings when their neutral sound gets too flat, so I'll defer spending more on Etymotics or Shures. I hear that using the foams from Shure EC2s is the ultimate mod for these.

Posted by ckilner on February 6, 2007 at 10:31 AM (PDT)

186

Sound is good but could never really get them to stay in, makes me want to rip the wire in half and throw them. Glad they were a x-mas gift and didn't pay for them

Posted by melvis72 on February 7, 2007 at 9:57 PM (PDT)

Page 9 of 10 pages « First  <  7 8 9 10 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.