Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

31

For those of you who have switched your 71s inserts onto the apple phones could you please tell me what size apple inserts worked best for you and then what size sony inserts worked best after the conversion. I use the small apple inserts and need to know what size sony inserts i need to order for the best fit.

Posted by gogoman on January 21, 2004 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

32

BTW: I had a good seal on these when they were in my ears. In fact they were sealed so well that I could feel them pulling on my sinuses. The sound still sucked.

Me, the EX71s that I just bought last night sound good, but I don't like the way they're built. They cord from the right ear goes around your chin and attaches to the left ear bud by your left cheek, and the connector there sits up next to your cheek. The cord without the extension isn't long enough, and when you put the extension on it's just more weight hanging off of your ears.

While I like the sound of the EX71 I wouldn't recommend them.

Posted by rdlink on January 21, 2004 at 11:46 AM (PDT)

33

I have Sony EX71 and Shure E3C. I bought the Apples too. The fit sucks! The shape of the earpieces, for most people, is just WRONG! They just fall out, just like the review says.

Its a shame, because the sound is actually quite good. (based on using them with the Sony earpieces). Someone should be fired for such a silly mistake!!!

Posted by parannoya on January 21, 2004 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

34

I have dug deep and paid out for the Bang & Olufsen earphones which are suspended over the ear and not only remove the irritating hiss from the original "buds" but are more comfortable over long periods and should fit everyone. Together, the sound, fit and look are really something. A lot of money but well worth it to you afficianados out there, give them a try!

Posted by Lord Snooty on January 21, 2004 at 1:26 PM (PDT)

35

I also have the Bang and Olufsen earphones. $ 160.00, but well worth it. A great pices of equipment, sound great and fit great!!!

Posted by Andy on January 21, 2004 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

36

like I said before, fit is different for everyone. I do think, however, that since so many people are complaining about seal/fit that there was some slip up somewhere with the human factors portion of the design. They look great but in order for them to be successul they have to fit the 95 percentile of human beings and ears are all different in so many different ways it's hard to get a magic solution. I like to listen to music but I'm not shelling out 160 bucks for B&O earphones. Good for the money, better things are out there but you pay for them out the nose. The only way you can really see if these things work for you is to try them and that goes for etymotics, sony and apple.

Posted by Q on January 21, 2004 at 3:53 PM (PDT)

37

I noticed that he said the apples sound sharp and thin. This is how my EX-71s sounded when I just got them... it's because they weren't broken in. Another thing is that you can order the earpieces from Sony, prolly in black to match the other earbuds. My suggestions is always keep two. The stock earbuds are great for when you are somewhere where people might be talking to you or trying to get your attention. You can actually have a conversation with someone or just know that they are trying to talk to you when you have those on. With ear-plugging ones, you can't really talk to someone, and someone will have to physically tap you to get your attention. Just thought I'd mention that.

Posted by Sam on January 21, 2004 at 5:24 PM (PDT)

38

I like the Apple earphones. Yes, they do sound a thinner than the Sony's (71s), which I also own (in white from MiniDisco.com). But, they do sound clear to me. The Sony's have so much bass that the sound is (as someone said earlier) muddied up a bit. As for fit, haven't had any slippage problems. They seem just a comfy to me as the Sony's. I've also owned the Shure e2's and was highly unimpressed. They are bulky, awkward to wear, and the sound was inferior to the Sony's which are also cheaper.

I have been curious about the FutureSonics, but to be honest, the looks throw me off. I know it's a petty issue. But... important to me. I did speak to someone at FS who even admitted that Sony's would probably have more bass. The FS are made to reduce ear fatigue. Regardless, I didn't buy them. Has anyone tested them versus the Sony's?

Posted by dean on January 21, 2004 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

39

I absolutely hate the ER-6 in-ears, they are way too tinny, no bass whatsoever. The Sony MX70s are the clear winner from what I've tried so far, but I still find them extremely uncomfortable; and don't get me started about their cord. Brutal. I love my original iPod earbuds. Easiest to take in and out, etc etc. I want to try the Apple ones, but I'm not a big fan of the in ear.

Posted by Andrew on January 21, 2004 at 8:53 PM (PDT)

40

APPLE=BAD MICE AND EARPHONES
I'm an audio buff and love quality sound. Unfortunately, these new "plugs" are the worst I ever purchased! Do not buy them since they easily fall out of your ears and have horrible, tinny and anoying sound quality. Thumbs down to Apple for making such crap - I love Apple, but cmon....

Posted by Mike Cefaratti on January 22, 2004 at 8:11 AM (PDT)

41

Some Sony MDR-G72 phones will help a little in your quest to get decent sound from an iPod.

Posted by Gary Wright on January 22, 2004 at 7:39 PM (PDT)

42

Hey, I just got a new 3g ipod, but i don't really like the headphones. after a while they kind of hurt my ears. I don't normally like the feeling of in-ear headphones, but most of the ones i get are pretty cheap(around 15-20 bucks). Does anyone else get this problem. If i get a more expensive pair do you think it will help. I like how convenient in-ears are, just not the comfort.
Thanks.

Posted by Brian Pierce on January 23, 2004 at 9:21 AM (PDT)

43

Get some Sennheiser MX500's. They are only 18.00 and sound better than all this stuff. So what if they aren't in-ear. They get awesome bass response. Available at NewEgg, Amazon, and Buy.com.

Posted by Zach on January 23, 2004 at 10:14 AM (PDT)

44

I just got my Apple in-ears and they sounds so much better than the shipping 'phones..I'm hearing instruments that i never knew existed in my music. They fit perfectly in my ears, insert easily and don't fall out, solid seal, suction and all..Amzing to me, i'm no complete audiophile but i appreciate good sound. So I would highly recommend these buds.

Posted by Jonathan Coffman on January 23, 2004 at 12:40 PM (PDT)

45

Thank you Mike Cefaratti!! Up until I read your post I thought I was watching the digital-age version of the Emperor's New Clothes. How can so many people claim good sound out of these pieces of crap?!!

The iPod rocks, and the sound on the factory earphones is pretty good. But the $40 earbuds really do suck. Tinny is the word I was looking for. They fit my ears pretty good, though. Just terrible sound.

Tried the Sony EX71s, too, and while they sound good they are terrible ergonomically. I bit the bullet and bought the ER-6s from Etymotics. We'll see if they're worth $99.

Posted by rdlink on January 23, 2004 at 2:57 PM (PDT)

46

for what it's worth... i haven't had any problems with the apple in ear headphones "slipping" out. the medium size is a perfect fit for me and they stay snug in my ears. on top of that they're very comfortable. the silicone seems to make a perfect fit.

obviously people have different shaped ears. some people will find them to fit great. other won't. that doesn't mean they're bad headphones.

ear wax does seem to build up on them though and that is kinda gross.

my only complaint about them is the sound is a bit too crisp. but that might be a general ipod complaint and not so specific to the earphones.

Posted by Travis on January 23, 2004 at 5:36 PM (PDT)

47

Why spend hundreds of dollars on Etymotics or Shure when you are listening to .mp3 or .m4a? If you load your music on as .aiff then go for it. Otherwise stick to the Sony buds. Cheap, reasonable fit, reasonable sound.

Posted by Edge on January 23, 2004 at 9:11 PM (PDT)

48

Yo, this is a shout out to Dj kelly and his apprentice Otis Spunkmeyer. Have fun in da pillar crib wid da work you doin..... peace and love ya'll.

Posted by Josh Bryant on January 24, 2004 at 2:50 AM (PDT)

49

ridlink, the Sony's go around the back of your neck not the front. LoL. ya ergonomics...

Posted by Alex on January 24, 2004 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

50

OK, Alex, yet another reason to justify getting rid of them. Good ol' Sony. I can always count on them for a "better" idea.

Posted by rdlink in Denver on January 24, 2004 at 4:52 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 10 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.