Apple iPod In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

76

Hey Zax...where in Chicago did you try out the Shure e3c's? Thanks!

Posted by Casual73 on February 9, 2004 at 10:55 AM (PDT)

77

What is the length of the cord like? I find the cord of the buds that came with my iPod to be waaay too long - especially when using the remote.
I was thinking of getting some sony headphones because I know some models have a short cord and an extension cord connection thing.

As far as sound quality goes - it really depends on your hearing, your ears, and the format of your music files. What sounds good on your computer will not necessarily sound good through headphones. Play around with the EQ settings in iTunes, and on the iPod and see if that helps.

Posted by katharine on February 10, 2004 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

78

What is the length of the cord like? I find the cord of the buds that came with my iPod to be waaay too long - especially when using the remote.
I was thinking of getting some sony headphones because I know some models have a short cord and an extension cord connection thing.

As far as sound quality goes - it really depends on your hearing, your ears, and the format of your music files. What sounds good on your computer will not necessarily sound good through headphones. Play around with the EQ settings in iTunes, and on the iPod and see if that helps.

Posted by katharine on February 10, 2004 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

79

The Sony short cord is great for putting the iPod in a shirt pocket and having the cord go around the back of the neck works great. Keeps anything from dangling. I only use the extension cord at my desk or on a plane.

Posted by Bob Snow on February 11, 2004 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

80

OK....so earlier I was quite angry about the new In Ear headphones and I was almost going to bring them back. But after reading all the posts here, I thought I'd give them another try and here's my experience, at least to get the full sound from these things. Just pushing them in your ear is not quite enough. Re-positioning helps, but not always.

1) To put the left one in, use your left hand to put it in like you normally would.
Then reach for your ear with your left hand and pull your ear back. In much the same way as a doctor would pull your ear during an ear examination.
Then with your right index finger, push the bud a bit more inside your ear.
2) For the right ear, do the same thing, but then the other way around. Left becomes right and right becomes left.

The only drawback with this is that the earphones sit so good, that when you walk, you hear your footsteps in your ear and all the bass that comes with it......hahahaha, we wanted more bass right? But if you're in the train or bus or just sitting down somewhere, then it's just fine.

Well, hope this helps.

Posted by twum on February 11, 2004 at 10:45 PM (PDT)

81

Does anyone know about the Bang and Olufsen earphones ( I think it is the model A8)....they sounded great oin the store demo but they are very expensive..$160

Posted by Howard on February 16, 2004 at 5:34 AM (PDT)

82

Bought these (among others) but keep coming back to the original set. I wear them upside-down, facing forward and looped over my ears. Haven't found ANY small earphones that sound better when I use the Ipod set this way. Unfortunately, it's takes this type of maneuvering to get good sound.

Posted by Dre F. on February 16, 2004 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

83

I bought a pair of Etymotic ER-6s a couple of weeks ago and they do sound great. If you want big, completely unnatural bass with 'some' noise isolation then go for 'can' headphones and look like be a wanabe DJ. But if you want to sit on the subway/train/plane and actually hear recordings as they were originally intended, you can't go wrong with the ER-6s.

The noise isolation is excellent and the bass is tight and not boomy. Listening to Eminem on the subway, for example, and hearing every detail just gives his lyrics so much more energy. With normal earbuds you just don't hear this unless you're in a perfectly quiet environment, and even then it's not as good.

High quality in-ear earphones are the way forward my friends - they sound great, you cut background noise (much more than 'noise cancelling' earphones) and they fit in any pocket. But please note, I'm not putting these new Apple earphones in this category, as they don't actually go fully inside the ear canal.

BTW: the person who said they didn't get any bass from the ER-6s either didn't have a proper seal (VERY important), or is used to very unnatural, boomy bass. Think about it - do you think there was that much bass coming out of the reference speakers in the recording studio?

Posted by crofty on February 17, 2004 at 3:23 AM (PDT)

84

didn't someone make some headphone covers that go over the stock apple earphones and convert them to in-the-ear earphones? sounds like the best of both worlds.

Posted by Jeff on February 17, 2004 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

85

I hope the people complaining about suck sound from the Apple buds are taking the time to play with them -- I initially hated mine, but after I turned them upside down and then into my ear canals, I was extremely happy.

By the way, the Sony A44L's are good phones for jogging duties -- on a band over your head so they don't fall out. Pretty good sound, too, and only $25.

Posted by Piranhahaha on February 18, 2004 at 7:49 AM (PDT)

86

I purchased these headphones the day they came out. "Tinny" is an inaccurate description. These things are "crap". I actually like bass in my music. These phones sounds hollow and clearly were launched just to say that they in fact had in ear earbuds. I returned them and bought a pair of Sony studio headphones. I was really upset. First, the introduction of the 40GB just after I bought the 30GB, now this. I can't think of anymore ways to waste money...

Posted by byrd on February 18, 2004 at 12:05 PM (PDT)

87

Got my iPod got home put songs on there then put the earphones that came with the ipod in my ears one word: Ewwww, they hurt like hell Not evryone ears are the same size and I'm glad they got these news ones. Only broblem they are too much.

Posted by FabuTee in Bronx, NY on February 19, 2004 at 7:05 PM (PDT)

88

after reading the comments on the headphone reviews it would do some service to the readers of this site to investigate some dedicated headphones sites.

for a cost effective experiment with in-canal phones check out the mods on the Koss Plugs at:
headwize
http://headwize.com/index.htm

interesting forums regarding headphonphilia:
headfi
http://www5.head-fi.org/forums/

interseting addition to your stock earbuds:
slicsound bud covers
http://www.store.yahoo.com/slicsound-order/slicsound1.html

Posted by foot on February 20, 2004 at 1:55 PM (PDT)

89

I got these headphones one day because I grabbed my Ipod, and not my headphones. I was all excited when I saw them, got them, and then....dissapointment. They were terrible. The sound is really bad, all highs, no treble. You need to set your Ipod settings to Treble low, and they pop out of your ears. I returned them the next day. Too bad I had to pay the Apple store a $3.50 open box fee...what a waste. But, I ended up getting a pair of the original headphones with the remote. Much better.

Posted by Taryn Vernon on February 21, 2004 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

90

*IF* you can get them to fit with a good seal, I think these have a nice smooth sound. Not too bright, not too bassy. And you hardly feel them in your ears.
Not sure if I want to be pulling on my ears in public all the time to adjust the fit, though. Seems like the seal doesn't last, but is that the same deal as the EX71's?

Posted by elricky on February 21, 2004 at 10:08 PM (PDT)

91

After listening to two songs on my new iPod mini with the apple in-ear headphones I packed them up and returned them. Very tinny sound and low bass response. The standard ipod headphones sounded 100% better. I thought i was paying an extra $40 for upgraded sound quality...not.

Posted by T Brogan on February 23, 2004 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

92

Just opened these up and popped them in with the iPod playing. Comparing to the stock headphones only. Here are my impressions:
1. Sound is MUCH more clear and crisp, but almost tinny and metallic-like compared to stock. Like someone said before, I am hearing things on some songs I didn't know was there.
-Sound overall seems to be quieter than stock as well. I have to turn up the volume to actually get the same amount of sound compared to the stock.
2. Bass on the other hand is a little weak, it's there, but it's definitely on the weak side. I'm not too worried about the bass because if I want bass, I'll jump in my car or listen at home on the system.
3. Fitment for myself, right out of the box with the medium sized slips, was a perfect fit. Again, as discussed before, everyone's ears are different, so it's just trial and error.
4. Outside noice is drastically reduced compared to stock, but not completely gone, which is good, because I like to be aware of my surroundings (I walk around DC for school/classes). I'll have to wait to see what they sound like when I am on an airplane or riding the metrorail.

For $35 (student discount) I think these are a decent deal. Not the best deal, but enough to suffice for the avg. listener like myself. If I had $160 laying around, I might have gotten the B&0 A8's (for bling factor) but to be honest, the two sound pretty much the same. I have not tried the Shure's or Sony's so I don't much of a comparison, but for those with stock earphones looking to upgrade to these, I hope this helped some.

Happy listening!

Posted by Preppy on February 24, 2004 at 5:21 PM (PDT)

93

More people would be satisfied with their Apple In-Ear Headphones if they knew how to wear them properly. To get the right fit, you have to use two hands to insert each earpiece. The one hand holds the earpiece, and the other hand reaches over your head to grab the top of your ear and pull up slightly. This crucial second step is what allows the earpiece to get a good grip just inside the ear when you let go. I'm surprised Apple didn't include a diagram demonstrating proper fitting. I was at first skeptical (this is the first time I've paid over $10 for headphones) and I was especially wary because I have never worn "earbuds" that didn't make my ears hurt. These In-Ear Headphones are well-worth the money spent, if only for the little sliding bit that keeps the wire from snagging. I also really enjoy the way it keeps out ambient sounds in the office. I've also been surprised to hear things I never noticed before in music I listen to all the time.

Posted by Mike on February 24, 2004 at 5:37 PM (PDT)

94

I haven't got any in-ear phones, but rom the comments so far it sounds like people generally have different kinds of ears. Its just uncool to say no-one or everyone should get them just coz of your opinion,.

I still use apples original buds, and they are fine for me except for noisy environments, so i am considering getting a pair of the apple in-ear buds, mostly because I prefer apples company philosophy to sonys, though the etymotics are tempting.

Posted by flonejek on February 25, 2004 at 11:16 PM (PDT)

95

I have the Sony's but they are not quite as loud as the original ipods earbuds. Can anyone say if Apple's in ear buds are louder than the Sony 71s?

Posted by mowens on March 1, 2004 at 5:00 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 10 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.