Apple Computer iPod mini: The Power User’s review | iLounge

Reviews

41

Hi i was just wondering can i but the ipod mini (in pink) in the u.k.
i realy really really want one so please help i am willing to buy off the net to!!!
thanks
Kirsty

Posted by Kirsty Walker on February 26, 2004 at 4:19 AM (PDT)

42

"buttons is actually a flexing surface that - at least conceivably - could break with repeated use. We like the concept, and greatly prefer it to a touch-sensitive pad that relies on laptop touchpad-style "tapping" for button inputs, but it's not a step towards greater durability in the iPod's design. If anything, it's a perfect feature for a more disposable iPod with lower lifespan expectations, and in truth, that's just what the $250 mini is, relative to its older $500 30GB and 40GB brethren. "

Disposables?!!
So they are not only cute, they are also the most expensive disposables I know off.
Incredible what people will pay for a pretty face....

Posted by dura on February 26, 2004 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

43

I'm trying to decide what to buy.
I am a runner, and I want something to put my music on so that I can listen to it while running. The mini is hdd based, will that pose any problem?

Posted by Matt on February 26, 2004 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

44


Does it show the Album or does it not?

They could do a bit a screen optimisation on the iPod itself.
I'd rather getting rid of the useless things, namely from my 1G iPod:
"Now Playing"
"The elapsed time bar"
"The elapsed time text"

Keep: Title, Artist, Album
Add: Composer
Add as an option (scrolling?): Grouping.

I mean, since they added these fields in itunes, we should be able to see them in iPod (and browse them in *both* iPod and iTunes.

Posted by Charles on February 26, 2004 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

45

In my highschool (Denmark), half of the students have laptops, and when we are being given our, they tell us to recharge it for about 24 hours, so and stress the batteri and it will last longer. I'm quite sure the batteries in the ipod and in a laptop are the same. Dunno if this is any good, just passing on advice smile

Posted by mikkel morgen mark on February 27, 2004 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

46

mikkel morgen mark

Incorrect, laptop batteries and iPod batteries are completely different. Keeping it in the charger longer does nothing, as it stops charging once it hits 100%.

Posted by Jason on February 27, 2004 at 5:36 PM (PDT)

47

Should I gEt an Ipod Mini or Reg Ipod? I only have about 1 gig of music. please please someone post and let me know.

Posted by Dennis on February 28, 2004 at 7:00 PM (PDT)

48

I got my iPod mini for two days now,using it active one day and guess what, I LOVE IT.I changed from my 1G iPod because the 3G iPods didn't seemed to have to much improvements compared to,but this mini is great.When i unpacked it from its box and take it out of it,i didn't want to take it off my hand LOL XD. Maybe its right the pricing isn't very great with 249$ or in Germany later 299Euro,but its worth it :D.I plugged it into my PB and it works.Everyone who is considdering buying an iPod,go into an Apple Store an get an iPod mini in your hand and believe me,you'll gone love it !

Posted by Jamie on February 29, 2004 at 12:49 AM (PDT)

49

mikkel morgen mark you really are an idiot. You should go and read up on the way Li-on batteries work! Just because a Li-on battery is in an ipod doesn't mean its any different to the way a li-on battery works in a laptop!

Jesus, you really are an idiot. Ever heard of trickle charging?

Posted by Chris Buckley on February 29, 2004 at 2:54 AM (PDT)

50

Trickle Charging. HAHA. Sorry, some of us don't do hours and hours of research like you do. Maybe we don't have time to have ever heard of "trickle charging" Chris.

Posted by lmao on February 29, 2004 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

51

yo chris trickle charge your ###.The definition of Computer geek in the dictionary has a picture of you.nuff said

Posted by Monobrow on March 3, 2004 at 11:58 AM (PDT)

52

Hi, i have not got an ipod, but have been looking for one for years. Which ipod do you think is best?

Posted by harpster on March 5, 2004 at 10:03 PM (PDT)

53

I do not have an ipod, but have been looking for one for years. Which ipod is best?

Posted by harpster on March 5, 2004 at 10:05 PM (PDT)

54

hey does anybody know when its gonna be released in canada

Posted by brunt on March 6, 2004 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

55

Can I ask what voltage the power supply to charge it is? ie if its both 110/240 volts as a friend in the USA wants to bring me one to the UK and I dont know if the power supply is multi-voltage, thanks!

Posted by Dolphine on March 18, 2004 at 6:44 PM (PDT)

56

bah I'll stick with my 3G 20GB regular iPod...and "Thomas", I have that CD importing/playing problem also, use CDex, it's great.

Posted by RockPod on March 20, 2004 at 8:29 AM (PDT)

57

Runner:
You should probably get a mini. I have a silver one (which I love), and it feels much better while working out than the regular iPod. Maybe some of it is psychological, but I don't think so.

Dennis:
If you only have 1gig of music, and don't expect to get a LOT more that you must always have with you, get a mini. It has 4 gig of storage--why spend more for a larger iPod?

Posted by Mac User on March 20, 2004 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

58

hey peoples how are u all going i live in australia and they are being released here in about 5 days can't wait i want on eany bad features i should no??? if so could u please inform me thanx greatly also maybe a valid price???? thanx cya fellows have a good one!!!!

Posted by Reece on March 23, 2004 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

59

OMG!!!!!!
The worldwide availability has been push back from April to July...
I live in AU.....
I was about to go to the shop next week,but now....

Posted by Ray on March 26, 2004 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

60

Hey I, just wanna say, I just want a compact, cool looking, iPOD mini. I ordered one the other day and I won't get it until the end of next month. If the mini is soo frikin bad why the HELL are soo many people buying it!!!! We all just want stuff that looks cute and plays LOTS of songz!!!!

Posted by ACe on April 2, 2004 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.