Apple Computer iPod mini: The Power User’s review | iLounge

Reviews

61

an aussie here, the ipod mini will probably be out in July..
is mac connection a reliable and safe place to get it from???

thanks

Posted by Sarah on April 3, 2004 at 9:42 PM (PDT)

62

an aussie here..
is mac connection a safe and reliable place to buy online for overseas people..
i know they ship overseas but are they good

Posted by Sarah on April 3, 2004 at 9:44 PM (PDT)

63

sorry double post!

Posted by Sarah on April 3, 2004 at 9:45 PM (PDT)

64

The idea of the mini iPod
is to carry SOME music with you,
NOT your FULL collection.
Use the computer to carry
your whole cololection
and easily change the songs on the iPod.

Posted by kevin on April 8, 2004 at 1:06 AM (PDT)

65

The idea of the mini iPod
is to carry SOME music with you,
NOT your FULL collection.
Use the computer to carry
your whole cololection
and easily change the songs on the iPod.

Posted by kk on April 8, 2004 at 1:08 AM (PDT)

66

Are Minis totally sold out in US? Cuz i cant find it anywhere...

Posted by dude on April 12, 2004 at 7:38 AM (PDT)

67

I don't care what y'all say, i love my new Ipod mini. take it round like my baby. Dumped a creative flash based player for it and probably best decision in my life. Love my Ipod mini.

It does tend to get stuck though once in a while

And for info: I use windows Xp and did not have to format my IPOD mini. it annoyingly does not play WMA

Posted by Gboyega on April 15, 2004 at 11:41 AM (PDT)

68

I don't care what y'all say, i love my new Ipod mini. take it round like my baby. Dumped a creative flash based player for it and probably best decision in my life. Love my Ipod mini.

It does tend to get stuck though once in a while

And for info: I use windows Xp and did not have to format my IPOD mini. it annoyingly does not play WMA

Posted by Gboyega on April 15, 2004 at 11:42 AM (PDT)

69

I have collected almost all of the iPod mini colors in my collection. i just need the green one and it will be complete! I have a mini for my room, one for my computer, one for my bathroom and one for going out. For my next one, I think I'll keep it in my locker at school...u'll never know when u'll want to listen to it!

I am the envy of all my friends...! You newbies can't really compare to me ... haha

Posted by Artie Fenchworth on April 19, 2004 at 4:23 AM (PDT)

70

'Trickle charging' all over your face.

Posted by Mr Bob Harris on April 20, 2004 at 12:44 PM (PDT)

71

WOOO
Everyone's got it all wrong. You can't please people sometimes. Look first of all the ipod mini has a smaller battery, but it uses less power, so the charge times and everything else are the same. The reason Apple has many different Ipod's is becuase they fit different needs. I personally only really like maybe 800 songs. I don't think anyone listens to 10,000 songs on a regular basis, but everyone is different. I applaud the Ipod mini, because it's beautiful, and plays music well. Sure it's a bit pricey, but it's made by Apple.

Posted by ben on April 25, 2004 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

72

What the hell?
Why would you want 5 ipod mini's.
What an idiot, how can we be noob's? You wasted money and got 5 ipod's. The whole point of them is so you can move them around you know like "portable." You might as well have gotten 5 boom boxes, because obvioulsy you wouldn't need to move them if you had them everywhere you go. Like on at you house, in your car, up you ### ect. ect.
I have never heard of such a ridiculous thing, you just waste money, which makes you a idiot. I like the Ipod mini's as the rest of you but i'm buying one so i can move it around and keep it in my pocket ect. ect. Not all the colors that is dumb, a collection? How do you collect a thing that's been out for like a week?

Posted by ben on April 25, 2004 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

73

I for one would rather have the current simple, clean interface of the iPod than a color 2"x1" screen for several reasons: first of all, I've got a color screen on my Sony Ericsson T610 cellphone which everyone complains is illegible in daylight (brightness/contrast issues).

So it'd have to be a TFT to look really nice, like the T630.

But why would you want to suck battery power to drive such a tiny screen to show you a thumbnail of album art when the device remains in your pocket 90% of the time? (Who walks around staring at their iPod screen??)

I'd rather have the thing work a couple hours longer, with a screen that *does the job perfectly* of allowing you to navigate your music library.

Not to mention cost. Everyone wants a color screen on their iPod, but nobody wants to pay a heftier price. Current 40GB 3G's are $499. Who's gonna pay $549 for a 2" color screen?

Posted by mnemonic on May 7, 2004 at 4:59 AM (PDT)

74

"I for one would rather have the current simple, clean interface of the iPod than a color 2"x1" screen for several reasons"

Think outside the box!

The iPod UI is reasonably efficient, but demands almost complete attention on the main screen. Thus the opportunities for a detached LCD remote (ala iRiver) are a restricted.

One defining feature of iPodders is how they often have to periodically remove the entire device and look at it face-on.

Another advance the iPod UI could use is voice prompts for the menus and for each playlist. I have been beta testing this on another mp3 player and it works really well and represents a major step forward in usability not just for everyone but especially for blind users.

Posted by UI Advances on May 7, 2004 at 6:03 AM (PDT)

75

Dennis:
You should buy a mini. They are smaller (duh) and you wouldn't need the extra 14 gigs of extra space if you bought a normal ipod. Plus, the mini is more stylish.
_OldManRiver_

Posted by OldManRiver on May 12, 2004 at 1:47 PM (PDT)

76

I can't deside

I want an ipod, but I can't choose between the mini or the 20G. I have held the 20 and it seems extreamly small (I do plan to run with it), but it looks gigantic in the pictures comparing it to the mini. I do not have too much music, no more then a couple hunderade songs, but I do not like the idea of eventualy filling up a mini and then needing to delete an old song every time I want to add a new one. I know that if I got one of the regular ipods, I would get the 20G instead of the 15G, for the reason that it comes with the port, case, and remote control, the three of which would add up to well over the $100 price differance between the two. How quickly does the mini fill up? Indead, every time I read a review I seem to change my mind on which one I want. Also, the review (which is very good and through, I must say) mentions something about the Apple convention at the end of June. Any idea how much the price of the 20G is expected to go down?

Thank you for your help whoever responds, it is most appreciated.

Posted by RudyB on May 19, 2004 at 3:34 PM (PDT)

77

hello, i was wondering, i have a collect of music on my computer, about 600 songs, and when i get iTunes will it go through my computer and find all of these songs for me? or will i have to do it manually? and also what happens to the WMA songs i have? do i just covert them on iTunes or what? i really appreciate your help.

Posted by laxman2211 on May 21, 2004 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

78

I currently have a music library of around 476,000 tracks in varying format on 7 pcs and 4 macs, I like the mini as it allows me to listen too my recent and most played songs thanks too Smart Playlists.

Posted by Joss on June 1, 2004 at 12:33 PM (PDT)

79

.....Anyway, It is EXTREAMLY HARD to get one here in Korea..... I really wanna buy one of these.....I wish i had a friend in U.S to send me some

Posted by Anthony on June 7, 2004 at 12:19 AM (PDT)

80

the mini is great! i wish it had a backlight on it tho, oh well, i like to listen to the beach boys! im 7.

Posted by jimjim on June 30, 2004 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.